Opinion 2015 Leadership Group Predictions?

I don't see a 31 year old being made captain. It's Fyfe's, he was elevated into the leadership group for a reason.

I don't really disagree to be honest. Fyfe still a little young and reactionary, just look at Brisbane and Rockliff, perhaps a little too much too soon.

Another year of maturity and responsibility will only do Fyfe good. I think it is your clear disdain for Mundy that intrigues me most, I don't think many would begrudge Mundy a year or two at the helm.

If not for Mundy our GF loss would have been Sydney-like embarrassing, not the respectable margin it ended up.

I am happy to re-assess Fyfe as captain come 2016, but please, a little more respect for the barra.

Yeah, that one quarter effort from Mundy in 2013 was sweet.
You don't watch too many games, more of a highlights man?

No, I don't rate Mundy as captain material, and definitely not on the back of a single quarter's worth of effort in a grand final. Certainly not over Fyfe who is easily the better player and more capable on field leader.

As for whether Fyfe is too young, at the end of this year he will only be one year younger than Pavlich was when he was made captain.

You don't need to be named in the "leadership group", to be a leader.

The way Rossco coaches, I reckon he expects every player to be a leader, no passengers.

On a side note, a bit miffed that Mr Dawson is not in the leadership group !!!!. His heroics allows Spurr & Elvis to look good .......

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...r-pav-after-loss-in-west-20140817-1056o9.html

Pav and Mundy the standouts, Fyfe spent the arvo trying to find his head.

I'm as big on Nat as everybody else, but Mundy is a lot more captain material at this stage then Fyfey. Stoked it's Pav for 2015, it will probably be Fyfe come 2016 just because the media and clearly the club marketing co are pushing for it, and as I said, another year and he will probably be good to go.

Re Mundy, you're entitled to your opinion, but outlandish statements like he has only played one good quarter of footy in two years is just troll bullshit.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...r-pav-after-loss-in-west-20140817-1056o9.html

Pav and Mundy the standouts, Fyfe spent the arvo trying to find his head.

I'm as big on Nat as everybody else, but Mundy is a lot more captain material at this stage then Fyfey. Stoked it's Pav for 2015, it will probably be Fyfe come 2016 just because the media and clearly the club marketing co are pushing for it, and as I said, another year and he will probably be good to go.

Re Mundy, you're entitled to your opinion, but outlandish statements like he has only played one good quarter of footy in two years is just troll bullshit.

I think you've misinterpreted Clogged's point there. His suggestion was that Mundy played only one good quarter in the 2013 GF. Which is quite accurate, and less than you'd expect for a leader.

Perhaps, although I would dispute he only put in one decent GF quarter, he was by far our best mid by a country mile. Saw it live and he was the only one beating his man and handling the pressure with any type of composure early, and then dragged the team along on his shoulders in the third.

Aside from Fyfe's early blemishes in the first he was the equal of Mundy. Mundy did nothing in the first two quarters to get the side going. Lyon targeted him at half time (and Hill) to lift. That's not something a coach tells a guy who is playing at his best.

But aside from that, what has Mundy achieved in his career to make him the equal of Fyfe?

With Mundy being six years older, Fyfe has two Doig medals to Mundy's one, from 2010 (now five years ago). Fyfe has been one of the top three players in the team since 2011, Mundy only achieved that in 2010, the year Fyfe debuted. Fyfe is the only Fremantle player to place highly in the Brownlow. Fyfe is the only Fremantle player to place highly in the AFLCA award. Fyfe is the only player at Fremantle to have won the AFLPA MVP. Fyfe has one All Australian to Mundy's none.

What does Mundy have over Fyfe other than age? Strip out the accolades and look at how they perform within games and from game to game - how many times has Mundy in his 200+ game career won the game via his own will vs Fyfe in his sub 100 game career? Who has on repeated occasions demonstrated the stronger will to win?

It's an easy answer. Fyfe is the better player and better leader than Mundy. It would be a backwards step to hand the captaincy from Pavlich to Mundy. It would be the equivalent if not an improvement to go from Pav to Fyfe.

Pav says the club captain doesn't have to be the best player. "The best leader should be the best captain. The person that models the values and behaviours in the best way..." (today's West)

Whacking opposition players and getting suspended doesn't seem to display the values and behaviours he's talking about, so Fyfie has a way to go yet.

Mundy's time has passed now. If Fyfie stays squeaky clean this year, he might be in with a shot, but I'd still be concerned that he's taking it on a year too early.

Aside from Fyfe's early blemishes in the first he was the equal of Mundy. Mundy did nothing in the first two quarters to get the side going. Lyon targeted him at half time (and Hill) to lift. That's not something a coach tells a guy who is playing at his best.

But aside from that, what has Mundy achieved in his career to make him the equal of Fyfe?

With Mundy being six years older, Fyfe has two Doig medals to Mundy's one, from 2010 (now five years ago). Fyfe has been one of the top three players in the team since 2011, Mundy only achieved that in 2010, the year Fyfe debuted. Fyfe is the only Fremantle player to place highly in the Brownlow. Fyfe is the only Fremantle player to place highly in the AFLCA award. Fyfe is the only player at Fremantle to have won the AFLPA MVP. Fyfe has one All Australian to Mundy's none.

What does Mundy have over Fyfe other than age? Strip out the accolades and look at how they perform within games and from game to game - how many times has Mundy in his 200+ game career won the game via his own will vs Fyfe in his sub 100 game career? Who has on repeated occasions demonstrated the stronger will to win?

It's an easy answer. Fyfe is the better player and better leader than Mundy. It would be a backwards step to hand the captaincy from Pavlich to Mundy. It would be the equivalent if not an improvement to go from Pav to Fyfe.

Is Fyfe a better player? Definitely, but Mundy is still a great player. Fyfe is the best player in the comp.

Is Fyfe a better leader? I'm not so sure just yet. Mundy keeps getting selected in the leadership group by the player vote so clearly has the playing groups respect. Fyfe has only just been picked. Let's see how Fyfe goes now he has to be a leader off the field as well. He will most likely be a great leader, but time will tell.