2015 Media Thread

Will do. The AFL should give me a job

You have had some stupid replies to your post...... some people can't look past the media driven spew and just regurgitate what they hear and read from the "experts" without any real knowledge.

Yeah... that's one of the problems with posting comments anywhere. There's always that lowest common denominator

Helping you out a bit but there seems to be a lot of hate towards Ross Lyon. A lot more than I thought anyway.

So apparently our game against Melbourne is a wool themed match -

Spearheading the wool campaign is former shearer, West Australian country boy and Fremantle Dockers’ star player Nat Fyfe, who will today launch the AFL-marketed retro wool jumpers made in the colours and stripes of the 12 original VFL clubs.

On Sunday, Fyfe will run out on to the MCG with Fremantle in the special wool-themed match against traditionalists Melbourne, most likely lined up against former shearer and Yorke Peninsula farm boy Bernie Vince, who sheared a sheep on the MCG’s hallowed turf yesterday as the wool campaign kicked off.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...g-roots-in-style/story-fnca0u4y-1227329067204

Which explains -

Melbourne+Demons+Media+Opportunity+ybQR-WTg64Cl.jpg

You can also order a merino guensey here -

http://shop.afl.com.au/fremantle-dockers-2015-woollen-guernsey-pre-sale-88600.phtml

Ha ha, that's cool. Reminds me of a kid I saw last year who had an original Fitzroy woollen jumper as worn by the VFL side in the late 70's/early 80's. Had a bit of a chat to him and his dad, found out it was his dads. We had a bit of a yarn (pardon the pun) about it all - recalling wearing them as a young kid, slightly oversized to begin with as I was always a small kid in school, and how those things went on a really wet day - from a nice, warm woolly feeling at the start of play to wet soppy, stretched out and weighing 5kg heavier by the end of a game, slopping around my thighs ... ah the memories

Actually lets give real figures:
20 players have played all 4 games for an average of 137 career games
1 player has played 3 games for 16 career games
1 player has played 2 games for 108 career games
3 players have played 1 game for an average of 44 career games

That's a total of 25 players for an average of 120 career games
Ballantyne?

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...g-roots-in-style/story-fnca0u4y-1227329067204

Which explains -

Melbourne+Demons+Media+Opportunity+ybQR-WTg64Cl.jpg

Our jersey looks awesome - they all do actually. I'm surprised the freo hierarchy allowed it/signed off on it considering their push for brand recognition of the new (not that new now) jersey and trying to distance themselves from the past.

WTF is a jersey? :p

always known it as a guernsey or Jumper.

Jersey and Guernsey are both islands in the English Channel ;)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jersey

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guernsey

History
Jersey, in the Channel Islands, was famous for its knitting trade in medieval times, and because of that original fame, the name jersey is still applied to many forms of knitted fabric, round or flat. The traditional jersey, and traditional guernsey, are dyed a navy blue colour, using a dye that does not require stripping the wool of its natural oil, rendering these sweaters surprisingly water resistant. The wool used in guernseys is often passed through oil in order to render it doubly water-resistant.[citation needed]

I would imagine Guernsey has the same history, which is why Jumpers can be called Jersey's or Guernsey's :)

Our jersey looks awesome - they all do actually. I'm surprised the freo hierarchy allowed it/signed off on it considering their push for brand recognition of the new (not that new now) jersey and trying to distance themselves from the past.

Plus that old one looks like the 'old' old one. The bad memories instantly regurgitated one. The ben allen barely played one.

I used to wear the old away (green) socks to footy training. Copped so much for being a free supporter. Heaps of saints fans then, heaps of weagle fans and a splattering of cats fans.

In comparison to the current jumper, I can't stand the old one. Reminds me of everything I didn't like about the old Freo.

I still have one of the more modern old ones. But I am so pleased we moved on from it. It is miles better now.

I still love the original (i think) heritage jumper. Black shorts - white top with red v's - get we cant use that and love what we had but that was my favourite at the time.

Wait, we're not wearing that jumper in the match on Sunday are we?

Otherwise I might have to change my tip to Melbourne.

I hope not... i have mostly succeeded in suppressing many of the memories associated with that jumper.

We would get ahead by 50 odd and lose with an unknown small forward kicking a bag against us.

No chance. Melbourne will be wearing their navy with red yoke jumper. We play in any form of purple against that and its a nightmare for supporters. We will be in white. As an aside the new Melbourne white jumper is a top shelf alternative strip.

Yeah nah - no matter how much better the team is these days, the anchor is the Freo jumper for me...the chevrons have always struck me as too plain and boring. To each their own, though...

FWIW - Our best 22 imo with WC replacements in brackets.

Johnson Dawson (McKenzie) Spurr (Hurn)

Ibbotson McPharlin Sutcliffe
Hill Fyfe DPearce
Walters Taberner (Kennedy) Mayne (Darling)
Clarke (NicNat) Pavlich Ballantyne
Sandilands Barlow Mundy
Neale, Duffield (McGovern), Mzungu (Lecras), Suban (Shuey)

Selwood & Gaff would be pretty close too, I've tried to do like for like where practical but I reckon most clubs would have a handful of players to walk into another team, it's hard to judge, but I think 8 is about right. I think it's arrogant (but fun) to pretend only Kennedy would walk into our line up, we have a few role players which could be upgraded, WCE's problem seems to be midfield quality (only Shuey I think would come in) but their forward line, ruck & defence is actually not bad on paper.

2015 Media Thread