2015 Media Thread

I guess so, they were full of praise for Freo
They were, I wasn't paying too much attention, but didn't those 'experts lol' say something like:

King - Walters is probably the best tackler in the leauge
Maclure - mentioned something about how our small forwards are dominating
Maclure - this is freos best chance, they've been around for a while now. They got 'smashed' against the hawks

King is a bit of a Noddy but I reckon he at least actually bothers to watch all the round's games properly every weekend. Maclure is good for a bit of a laugh but I'd be surprised if he has even seen half of our games or any other teams apart from Carlton for that matter.

They were, I wasn't paying too much attention, but didn't those 'experts lol' say something like:

King - Walters is probably the best tackler in the leauge
Maclure - mentioned something about how our small forwards are dominating
Maclure - this is freos best chance, they've been around for a while now. They got 'smashed' against the hawks

That was more about our goal kicking, the got smashed bit.
Two best small forwards in the game.

McLure is more measured than Kingy who is now a Ross Lyon devotee. For his part, I think Ross has probably engaged Kingy in recent meetings; an indication he has time for sensible footy people which is a positive.

I would suggest David King has personally apologised to Ross for the Rossteoporosis remark. ( IMO though I think things like that bounce straight off Ross ).

I feel like we always get airtime on AFL 360. Obviously Richmond and Carlton are big news generally but we get fair more airtime than most of the other interstate sides. Obviously with the shows format, they can only cover 4 to 6 sides in any particular episode so it is difficult to cater to everyone but I feel like we would be in the top half of clubs in terms of airtime. And nearly always positive.

King is a bit of a Noddy but I reckon he at least actually bothers to watch all the round's games properly every weekend.
Yeah I agree with that. I think his analysis isn't great but he's one of the few in the TV media who at least takes time to research and prepare for his job. So many of the rest are just unprofessional half wits.

I thought 360 last night was pretty good overall. I recoiled when Maclure said we 'got smashed' in the 2013 GF, but then he was full of praise for Freo for pretty much the first time this year that I've seen. A few weeks ago he was "It's only April / May and don't forget they're old."

I was thinking about our coverage on 360 compared to other clubs - I think we do pretty well especially compared to other interstate teams. Of course the big 4/5 Victorian clubs will dominate the agenda, especially with the current situation at Essendon, Richmond and Carlton.

Yeah I agree with that. I think his analysis isn't great but he's one of the few in the TV media who at least takes time to research and prepare for his job. So many of the rest are just unprofessional half wits.

It has also helped that Ross has accommodated him recently with at least two interview sessions. One in the coaches' box, would not happen often.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-05-15/2009s-time-to-shine

"
But the granddaddy of the whole 2009 draft class is Fyfe.

He has taken the competition by storm and it's not hard to see why he's the clear-cut Brownlow Medal favourite when you take a look at the impact he has made in 2015.

The Docker is third in the AFL for disposals, second in contested possessions, eighth for clearances, fourth for centre clearances, eighth for inside 50s, third for intercept marks and second for score involvements.

Fyfe has also taken 15 contested marks for the season. To put that in perspective, no other midfielder has taken more than five contested marks. "

monster.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-05-15/2009s-time-to-shine

"
But the granddaddy of the whole 2009 draft class is Fyfe.

He has taken the competition by storm and it's not hard to see why he's the clear-cut Brownlow Medal favourite when you take a look at the impact he has made in 2015.

The Docker is third in the AFL for disposals, second in contested possessions, eighth for clearances, fourth for centre clearances, eighth for inside 50s, third for intercept marks and second for score involvements.

Fyfe has also taken 15 contested marks for the season. To put that in perspective, no other midfielder has taken more than five contested marks. "

monster.
No other player has taken more contested marks than Fyfe.

Anyone see the Footy Fix on 7 Mate last night?

They had Simon Tunbridge from the Eagles on there and they asked him who his favourite player is.

He said that he was a massive Freo fan growing up and that his hero was Matthew Pavlich. He said that he wrote a love letter to Pav one day and even got a reply back from him.

Well done for being so honest Simon, they certainly wouldn't have aired that on Weagle Vision.

Anyone see the Footy Fix on 7 Mate last night?

They had Simon Tunbridge from the Eagles on there and they asked him who his favourite player is.

He said that he was a massive Freo fan growing up and that his hero was Matthew Pavlich. He said that he wrote a love letter to Pav one day and even got a reply back from him.

Well done for being so honest Simon, they certainly wouldn't have aired that on Weagle Vision.

Is his nickname Stan?;)

2015 Media Thread