2015 Media Thread

its weird. I've been mostly boycotting footy media (other than here). I enjoy the game so much more when I'm not worrying about what some bunch of people who don't love my team like I do think of us. Today I didn't listen to or watch anything before the game, walked in with no expectations. After the game me and my mate walked back to his house in Nedlands through Kings Park and talked a bit about it. We weren't super thrilled with how we played but enjoyed the game and obviously were happy to get the win.
After I left his house I turned ABC on in the car and Parkin on ABC spent about 5 minutes absolutely ripping into Freo and Lyon about how awful we were and how unlucky brave Sydney were not to get the win. At one point he went off on a weird tangent talking about how Lyon hasn't made many friends along the way and how his press conference was 10 minutes of absolutely nothing that told us nothing.
It was quite bizarre!
Not going to watch or read any media tomorrow about the game or give a flying fk what anyone else thinks about us. Takes most of the stress out of it for me.

I didn't hear the commentary on ABC and certainly don't agree with what sounds like totally unprofessional behaviour especially by two commentators who have a real bias.

Having said all that, Freos win was the least impressive of the weekend by a fair margin. Eagles win was surprising and very brave after terrible skills in the first quarter, Adelaide's win was totally bruise free but very entertaining to the eye.

Freo should have won that game easily with a powerful performance, but once again we just got over the line. The frustrating part in the second half of the year is that we play high class football for 1-2 quarters of the game and then just try to hold out for the win.

Really happy to have won, really hope to get McPharlin back who is vital but we are nowhere near our 2013 level, something needs to click and click now!!!

its weird. I've been mostly boycotting footy media (other than here). I enjoy the game so much more when I'm not worrying about what some bunch of people who don't love my team like I do think of us. Today I didn't listen to or watch anything before the game, walked in with no expectations. After the game me and my mate walked back to his house in Nedlands through Kings Park and talked a bit about it. We weren't super thrilled with how we played but enjoyed the game and obviously were happy to get the win.
After I left his house I turned ABC on in the car and Parkin on ABC spent about 5 minutes absolutely ripping into Freo and Lyon about how awful we were and how unlucky brave Sydney were not to get the win. At one point he went off on a weird tangent talking about how Lyon hasn't made many friends along the way and how his press conference was 10 minutes of absolutely nothing that told us nothing.
It was quite bizarre!
Not going to watch or read any media tomorrow about the game or give a flying fk what anyone else thinks about us. Takes most of the stress out of it for me.

The way I see it, someone should have called talkback and said - if Sydney was so brave and wonderful they should have won the ****ing game.

I'm so sick of all the shit going around about us "just getting over the line" and beating a "better team." If they were the better team, they would have won the game, PERIOD.

It was quite bizarre!

I'm glad that I'm not the only one who is boycotting the media...sick to death of their carry on. Caught five minutes of ABC in the gym this morning and Nathan Bourke was banging on about the fact that Freo in the grand final would make it an awful spectacle. Reminds me a bit of the anti Sydney carry on in 2005 about their flooding.

Such a strange feeling coming out of the ground yesterday...so much negativity, almost as though we are all resigned to the fact we aren't good enough to win the flag already!

I'm glad that I'm not the only one who is boycotting the media...sick to death of their carry on. Caught five minutes of ABC in the gym this morning and Nathan Bourke was banging on about the fact that Freo in the grand final would make it an awful spectacle. Reminds me a bit of the anti Sydney carry on in 2005 about their flooding.

Such a strange feeling coming out of the ground yesterday...so much negativity, almost as though we are all resigned to the fact we aren't good enough to win the flag already!

I am normally an optimist and will continue to hope that we click but we are simply a long way off the performances of 2013 and need to change things up if we are going to get to the gf let alone win it.
Ballas back was a step in the right direction, hopefully McPharlin back next game (vital IMO) and Taberner's recent form might just get us back in it.

I have tried to avoid commenting on this, but I don't want to do a couple of things at work...sooo...under the catch-all of responding to the media issues...

1) Anyone "disappointed" (media or otherwise) that Goodes was booed by a Perth crowd needs to get their reality checked. There was nothing surer in this life than Goodes getting booed. Was it a Freo thing? No. Is it an Eagles plot? No. Just good old-fashioned WA racism. Ever go to 1-Day cricket at the WACA when India/Sri Lanka are playing? WOW. I once reported some flogs wearing Aussie flags...its not racist if you are wearing team colours...for some of the most horrendous racial slurs I ever heard out loud. (BTW this was back maybe 10 years ago before SMS hotlines etc). Had to report them to the African security guard nearby who didn't want to touch it with a 10-foot pole...who could blame him? Those delightful late-teens would have either gone at him or run off to the next section. I still regret not saying something myself, but I am not blessed with a boxers physique. Implicit approval through silence unfortunately.

2) That being said, on the other side of the coin please let me know if you find somewhere without racism...that sounds like a nice place. Even Canada has plenty...they just feel worse about it.

3) It's been said...but bad set-shot kicking for goal is bad football. We made our mistakes in play, so they look worse. They made their mistakes kicking for goal and somehow that's not their fault? If you lose when you win the inside-50s then you sucked. Plain and simple...whether you messed up the kick into the 50, or the shot itself...you sucked. Did we play well? Not really, we made a lot of mistakes that should never happen...so some accountability is desperately needed in that regard...Did Sydney play better? Hell no. They lost the game. Moral victory? I don't even understand how that applies to sport...is it like an honourable loss? Because from experience as Dockers member for over a decade...there's no such thing. We won, they didn't until someone proves otherwise.

4) A lot of the commentary just shows what is obvious...there is a void where there should be intelligent/intellectual football media in this country...where is our Zach Lowe? The highlight of my week is listening to Bluey McKenna on Saturday mornings show me time and time again why he failed as a coach. Hilarious stuff, but zero insight from a guy who played the game at the highest level and bloody well coached. Just relax, reactionary click-bait is the name of the game here...role with it and do your part of the transaction...click.

5) At the end of the day, should we win a premiership no one will give a toss about booing Goodes, playing ugly football (remember, it's not ugly football...it's Bloods football...that makes it ok...if you win), resting/tanking, or anything else. Ask a Yankees or Patriots fan how they feel about winning and people throwing around asterisk's...NO ONE CARES. Sam Mitchell literally sniped Fyfe out of the second half of the season...but he is a "competitor" and a champion...because he wins. Hodge...well damn....what a stand up bloke...he never meant to try and snap Wingards neck, smack that North bloke in the face, drive drunk, etc...because he wins...if he played in a bad team his whole career I PROMISE that no one walks around defending the bloke. Should it be about the process, the journey?...should we consider the moral relativity of the ends versus the means? Maybe...but it's not and we don't. That's just what your parents tell you when they realise you aren't the smartest/fastest/most skilled in the class.

So...that happened. Was going to delete, but that was a lot of typing...seems a shame not to make everyone read it...and as the media have shown us - doesn't matter what you say as long as you think it will annoy someone.

I have tried to avoid commenting on this, but I don't want to do a couple of things at work...sooo...under the catch-all of responding to the media issues...

1) Anyone "disappointed" (media or otherwise) that Goodes was booed by a Perth crowd needs to get their reality checked. There was nothing surer in this life than Goodes getting booed. Was it a Freo thing? No. Is it an Eagles plot? No. Just good old-fashioned WA racism. Ever go to 1-Day cricket at the WACA when India/Sri Lanka are playing? WOW. I once reported some flogs wearing Aussie flags...its not racist if you are wearing team colours...for some of the most horrendous racial slurs I ever heard out loud. (BTW this was back maybe 10 years ago before SMS hotlines etc). Had to report them to the African security guard nearby who didn't want to touch it with a 10-foot pole...who could blame him? Those delightful late-teens would have either gone at him or run off to the next section. I still regret not saying something myself, but I am not blessed with a boxers physique. Implicit approval through silence unfortunately.

2) That being said, on the other side of the coin please let me know if you find somewhere without racism...that sounds like a nice place. Even Canada has plenty...they just feel worse about it.

3) It's been said...but bad set-shot kicking for goal is bad football. We made our mistakes in play, so they look worse. They made their mistakes kicking for goal and somehow that's not their fault? If you lose when you win the inside-50s then you sucked. Plain and simple...whether you messed up the kick into the 50, or the shot itself...you sucked. Did we play well? Not really, we made a lot of mistakes that should never happen...so some accountability is desperately needed in that regard...Did Sydney play better? Hell no. They lost the game. Moral victory? I don't even understand how that applies to sport...is it like an honourable loss? Because from experience as Dockers member for over a decade...there's no such thing. We won, they didn't until someone proves otherwise.

4) A lot of the commentary just shows what is obvious...there is a void where there should be intelligent/intellectual football media in this country...where is our Zach Lowe? The highlight of my week is listening to Bluey McKenna on Saturday mornings show me time and time again why he failed as a coach. Hilarious stuff, but zero insight from a guy who played the game at the highest level and bloody well coached. Just relax, reactionary click-bait is the name of the game here...role with it and do your part of the transaction...click.

5) At the end of the day, should we win a premiership no one will give a toss about booing Goodes, playing ugly football (remember, it's not ugly football...it's Bloods football...that makes it ok...if you win), resting/tanking, or anything else. Ask a Yankees or Patriots fan how they feel about winning and people throwing around asterisk's...NO ONE CARES. Sam Mitchell literally sniped Fyfe out of the second half of the season...but he is a "competitor" and a champion...because he wins. Hodge...well damn....what a stand up bloke...he never meant to try and snap Wingards neck, smack that North bloke in the face, drive drunk, etc...because he wins...if he played in a bad team his whole career I PROMISE that no one walks around defending the bloke. Should it be about the process, the journey?...should we consider the moral relativity of the ends versus the means? Maybe...but it's not and we don't. That's just what your parents tell you when they realise you aren't the smartest/fastest/most skilled in the class.

So...that happened. Was going to delete, but that was a lot of typing...seems a shame not to make everyone read it...and as the media have shown us - doesn't matter what you say as long as you think it will annoy someone.
Perfect post.

Loved the Zach Lowe reference - couldn't agree more/.

Great post.

I turned on the radio in the car halfway through Parkin's raving and it actually took me a while to realise he was talking about Freo.

The way he was carrying on I thought I'd missed the post-match stuff and he'd moved on to doing a post-season autopsy for one of the bottom 4 teams... not describing a team who'd just won through to a prelim.

Jimmy Clement's bias also shows he has an axe to grind with Freo .Perhaps being shown the door for his lack of effort and dare I say being called out for the dropping of his head in tough game situations by Drum and the club has something to do with it.It was obvious he didnt want to be at the club but that was no excuse for the way he played.

Sydney receive 50% more free kicks (21-14), lots of decisions that could go to us don't (how Sandi's mark in the goal square in the last quarter wasn't called beggars belief), yet the AFL website's 'Whistle Blowers' segment discusses a free kick that we did get. Seems legit.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-09-15/umps-admit-tigers-wronged-by-decision-in-dying-minutes
Sandi's mark would've only been conceded/brought up if we lost by under a goal. As it didn't affect the end result the AFL have no reason to acknowledge or try and save face.

Valid point I guess about winners vs losers. Although Luke Ball said something pretty similar about dodgy decisions not affecting results in their analysis of the Shane Edwards tackle on Ben Cunnington in the last quarter of the Tigers/Roos game, which was their cause celebre. Maybe if Ross called the umpire a f***ing moron in the presser it'd get in...

Ross saying we didn't get the rub of the green is code for that: )

Jimmy Clement's bias also shows he has an axe to grind with Freo .Perhaps being shown the door for his lack of effort and dare I say being called out for the dropping of his head in tough game situations by Drum and the club has something to do with it.It was obvious he didnt want to be at the club but that was no excuse for the way he played.

Clement is a class act, on and off the field. The way he was singled out and humiliated by Drum is maybe not really public knowledge ... But it was a disgrace and reflects how pathetic Drum was. If he still has an axe to grind with Freo, it's a shame, but understandable. And he wasn't shown the door, more like he left. Which he had every right to do, based on Drum's treatment.

Clement never wanted to be at Freo and played accordingly.

Sydney receive 50% more free kicks (21-14), lots of decisions that could go to us don't (how Sandi's mark in the goal square in the last quarter wasn't called beggars belief), yet the AFL website's 'Whistle Blowers' segment discusses a free kick that we did get. Seems legit.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-09-15/umps-admit-tigers-wronged-by-decision-in-dying-minutes
That whistleblowers show seems to leave me with less confidence in the umpires.
It is supposed to clear up contentious decisions, yet I see them generally just agree with what the public want to hear, instead of explaining the actual laws of the game. For example, their first decision they discuss involved the tackle by Richmond's Edwards on North's Cunnington where Hayden Kennedy responds that it was holding the ball and they would have liked that decision to be paid. But from what I can clearly see on the replay, Cunnington had no prior opportunity. He had less than 2 seconds and was tackled in the act of kicking. If Cunnington had no prior, then Law 15.2.4 states "... field umpire shall allow play to continue when ... d) a Player, whilst in the act of Kicking or Handballing, is swung offbalance and does not make contact with the football by either foot or hand, unless the Player has had a prior opportunity to Correctly Dispose of the football, in which case Law 15.2.3 (a) shall apply ...". So if Hayden Kennedy is trying to tell us that he believes Cunnington had prior opportunity in that amount of time, then I find that astonishing and concerning. Luke Ball's comments only further confuse a viewers understanding of the Laws.

In regards to the Sheridan Free Kick, one of the few where we were lucky to get that, it should have been play on.

That whistleblowers show seems to leave me with less confidence in the umpires.
It is supposed to clear up contentious decisions, yet I see them generally just agree with what the public want to hear, instead of explaining the actual laws of the game. For example, their first decision they discuss involved the tackle by Richmond's Edwards on North's Cunnington where Hayden Kennedy responds that it was holding the ball and they would have liked that decision to be paid. But from what I can clearly see on the replay, Cunnington had no prior opportunity. He had less than 2 seconds and was tackled in the act of kicking. If Cunnington had no prior, then Law 15.2.4 states "... field umpire shall allow play to continue when ... d) a Player, whilst in the act of Kicking or Handballing, is swung offbalance and does not make contact with the football by either foot or hand, unless the Player has had a prior opportunity to Correctly Dispose of the football, in which case Law 15.2.3 (a) shall apply ...". So if Hayden Kennedy is trying to tell us that he believes Cunnington had prior opportunity in that amount of time, then I find that astonishing and concerning. Luke Ball's comments only further confuse a viewers understanding of the Laws.

In regards to the Sheridan Free Kick, one of the few where we were lucky to get that, it should have been play on.

Which replay are you watching? :drunk:

He took 3 steps and was tackled...how much prior do you want?

Which replay are you watching? :drunk:

He took 3 steps and was tackled...how much prior do you want?
I have just timed it (several times) from the point he takes possession of the football, to the point he drops the ball to kick it, and I get 0.7 seconds. I would suggest the time between him taking possession of the ball and being in the act of kicking was even less than 0.7 seconds.

Hayden Kennedy even said as you can see there wasn't a hell of a lot of time.
His 3 very small quick steps were required to kick the ball on his right foot.

So how much time do you think prior opportunity should be?
Can you quantify it?
Because even if you think 3 steps is enough, then I see many, many incidents every match where a player is tackled for longer and more steps and the umpires do not call holding the ball on the basis there was no prior. Players frequently do almost 360 degrees in a tackle and then handpass away and that most definitely takes longer than 0.7 seconds.

2015 Media Thread