2015 QAFA (B) Central

Yep, allocation of finals venues seems to be a joke again this year. What a surprise hey?

Although what can we expect when they allow a 3 team club to consolidate into one team and drop back two divisions after being denied their application to drop back one division? The same team couldn't host Friday night games except when it got to finals and all of a sudden the lights were magically good enough to play under, but were really the same shit that everyone had to play under the previous year.

If Kedron has to play Zillmere at O'Callaghan Park in the GF then it's all just swings and roundabouts. Kedron has had it's fair rub of the green this year, no need to throw the toys out of the cot.

Woodsmen are entitled to a good old fashioned hissy-fit though, cause they have clearly been stitched up.

When does all the speculation about whether the games are going to be cancelled due to rain start? They've forecast rain all week, surely a few of those tired old chestnuts about how Queensland cancel at the first sign of rain should start filtering in to this thread again shortly?
Mate went though eairler in the year why we had to go back. It was numbers pure and simple.
We requested to play home games on Saturday. Simply for financial reasons to keep club alive.
We took a punt on the lights and passed by the skin of our teeth. Of course we would take a home final who wouldn't.
What the issue is being told one thing and aflq doing the opposite with no consultation.
Woodsman done over completely.
Have evey right to host game this week.
Zillmere have got to get there yet.
If they do thats three finals at home and finished fourth. Not right when woodsman don't get one.
So I hope this clears a few things up for you.
We at kedron had to work hard on and off the field just to get a team and stay alive this year.
Don't be too quick to judge when you don't really know how things went down.
All clubs go through this once in a while and I'm just happy we made it through the year.
With only 28 players left on our list there was no way we could ever field two sides this year.
Forfeiting games and being out of the competition for two years was never an option.
I'll still tip woodsman over zillmere on any ground.

I'll be registering my distaste for the decision, but taking it no further than that.

There is no point getting in a fight with AFLQ, as despite being a stakeholder it's not a fair battle and they hold all the aces. We are just another little source of revenue that can be ignored, although now Morningside are putting in a team for next season this league may get just a little bit of respecr from head office.

If Zillmere are considered the most suitable venue (coincidentally managed by AFLQ I just discovered ) then so be it. Just would have been nice for more open communication and consultation with the stakeholders it affects.

I've been politely told that Zillmere have been locked in to host GF and Prelim for weeks. Fair enough, but why wasn't this announced when the decision was 'locked in' and perhaps a couple of backup options in case Zillmere are a competing club? All normal practice I would have hoped?

We expect to play at Zillmere this week, and its pleasing to know that everyone apart from the decision makers themselves undetstand just how poor that decision is.

We also expect to occupy the home dressing rooms as the higher placed club in a final.

I spent all weekend watching footy, so until now I hadn't realised the folks at AFLQ had once again confirmed themselves as a haven for incompetent staff that make a local council office look efficient. What a complete cluster **** of an organisation just treating everyone like idiots, rather than the actual stakeholders who pay their wages. It's common knowledge and a mantra repeated by AFLQ employees ad nauseum that prelims and GF's have to be at neutral venues. If you do decide for some reason to ignore this rule, surely the benefit should go to the highest placed team who get first right of refusal?

Back to the footy....

What a weekend, I watched the Kedron vs Woodies game, then caught Kenmore Ressies and Seniors vs Springwood, and then enjoyed Broadbeach taking down the silvertailed Panthers.

Woodies vs Kedron was an interesting game. Once again, the older heads that aren't all that fit came out and dominated the first 1.5 quarters, but couldn't put a score on the board. I saw both Thommo 42 and Mihalpolous miss very easy set shots, and the Woodsmen small forwards gave them absolutely nothing despite it being a nice wet night for them to get plenty of ground ball. The umpiring was absolutely disgraceful, not bias to either side in any fashion - but just regularly guessing, making incorrect decisions and worst of all, having the hottest holding the ball calls I've ever seen, especially considering it was a wet night. I saw both Woodsmen and Kedron blokes penalised for a fumble!

Fitzgibbon was being well held, but went into the middle in the 2nd half and changed the game. Most of the Kedron goals were scrappers from sustained pressure, but with Fitzgibbon on the ball playing like it was a dry night, they just kept pumping it forward and eventually the wall had to burst. Woodsmen forward line was too tall, and both Moore and Forbes simply don't work hard enough and really only provide stationary targets.

Until Fitzgibbon went into the middle, the Woodsmen had been fairly dominant around stoppages, with Yorston and Powell found out a bit in tougher conditions - not prepared to put their heads over it at all, while #1 for Woodsmen and Mihalpoplous and McEvoy (where was he in the first quarter?) showed their hard edged experience. However, the Kedron half back line was setting up the game for them and their 2 wingers absolutely killed their respective opponents and when the game opened up a bit, Kedron just constantly outnumbered them at the spill of the ball and were prepared to work harder for longer.

Kedron would have to be very strong favourites now, but you get the sense that the Woodsmen weren't all that switched on and have a bit left in the tank. Perhaps the old blokes only have one last hurrah in them and don't want to waste it yet!

The key for Woodsmen or Zillmere against Kedron is making sure they put a score on the board when they have the upper hand early. The talent in those 2 teams allows them to get the upper hand, before the Kedron youth and fitness kicks in. I'd suggest they need a 4 to 5 goal lead, not just a 1 or 2 goal lead. Had the Woodsmen kicked straight early in the 2nd, they could have been out by 5 goals and it really cost them in the end. Gotta put scoreboard pressure on.

You'd have to be happy forcing Fitzgibbon out of the forwardline, as it did seem to dry up their scoring options a bit going forward - but gee he was good in the middle too!

And the logic for this rule QAFL that you are aware of?? If WCE and Freo can host prelims, reckon its ok for local clubs in SEQ to do the same....
Just makes no sense whatsoever. I can't see how any person could say this is not fair, especially if you are in a 10+ team comp. Finishing 2nd surely has to have some advantage for a footy club. Its not a bad effort... Same as finishing 1st - if you lose the 2nd semi you should be allowed a 2nd crack at home imo.

And the logic for this rule QAFL that you are aware of?? If WCE and Freo can host prelims, reckon its ok for local clubs in SEQ to do the same....
Just makes no sense whatsoever. I can't see how any person could say this is not fair, especially if you are in a 10+ team comp. Finishing 2nd surely has to have some advantage for a footy club. Its not a bad effort... Same as finishing 1st - if you lose the 2nd semi you should be allowed a 2nd crack at home imo.

No, it doesn't make a great deal of sense - but a neutral prelim venue has sort of been accepted as the norm for quite some time now.

However, should a neutral venue not be available or suitable. The obvious step is to then start with the highest placed team as the preferred host and work your way towards a solution from there.

I see there is chat about finals venues in the QAFL thread as well now, clubs from Chelmer not getting much love!

My understanding was that they pencil in preliminary and grand final venues based on who tendered for the rights, then if those venues end up not being neutral they then look to find a back-up? I.e. Zillmere may have been picked as the best venue for both games out of the clubs that tendered for them, then if/when Zillmere lock their spot in for either of those games they are then shifted to other neutral venues. Not sure if that's what is happening here but it would make sense that the whole process is all done on the first day back in the office (today). Agree with you all though, if that doesn't happen then it's all a bit strange. Here's hoping that common sense prevails.

I've been notified that it will be moved to Kedron.
Which on paper is a bit of a compromise, but still in Zillmere's backyard and the field is in terrible nick and apologies to outandabout, but it's flipping dark!
I can't exactly complain about it now I've already complained, so we will just accept it and move on. Although our home lights are twice as bright, our field is in better condition and we have the best rooms in QLD footy!

I've been notified that it will be moved to Kedron.
Which on paper is a bit of a compromise, but still in Zillmere's backyard and the field is in terrible nick and apologies to outandabout, but it's ruddy dark!
I can't exactly complain about it now I've already complained, so we will just accept it and move on. Although our home lights are twice as bright, our field is in better condition and we have the best rooms in QLD footy!
No need to apologize mate. Your right on all counts. I'm as surprised as you and that's out of left field. All we can do is give you the home rooms and see if we can line up some chicken mate.

Check mate AFLQ, haha.

Option A: play at your opponents home ground.

complain

Option B: play in the dark at a ground near to your opponents home ground (former home ground for some of them!)

You've just been out manouvered Thommo!

Of which all could be avoided if the policy wasn't so B&W and common sense prevailed that a home prelim is what any club should receive for finishing 1 or 2. No tendering, no bs. Keep it simple. Grand Finals can be tendered for but is there any disadvantage for instance if you had 4 grounds proposed for GF's and depending on how the numbers fall, it could be a QAFA A GF played at Moreton Bay? A QFA Nth GF played at Grange? I don't know, just reckon there is too much over thinking. It matters little in a GF if you have never played on that oval before, as long as it is a good ground with good facilities and both sides are in the same boat...

What happens next week if Zillmere make it through to the GF? Can't move it to Kedron then. Will we all being going through this torment again?

2015 QAFA (B) Central