2015 QAFA (B) Central

Score updates?
We got done by the Eagles in a close one, they nearly kicked their way out of it, but some good finishing late got them over the line.
Good bunch of blokes, played in good spirits and plenty of beers to go around.

Two Goals Thommo! Well done mate.

I can understand the big losses Springfield had last year, but that surely must mean the cats didn't have a full team.

Nah, we were practically fielding our masters team with a few 17's to fill in and a few who have not played in years. It was a once off though. A lot of our boys in the DF so Anzac Day was a shitty day to have a game for us.

Burton going to Zillmere and if a few of their
Anyone know what happened to ex Robina/Coomera goalkicker J.Murray, who played for the Redbacks last year ?

Kicked 11 for them yesterday, so I guess he is back at the Redbacks!

Two Goals Thommo! Well done mate.

Nah, only kicked the one. Must be an error.

Zillmere were solid. Kept us under pressure, and despite having a similar age profile, were clearly fitter than us and it showed. While the score suggests they kicked poorly, it wasnt that bad, we rushed plenty of behinds too.

Matty Smith isn't getting any smaller, nor is Danny Dickfos. Burto solidified their midfield and they area good side. Plenty of improvement in both teams left I would suggest.

First loss I've played in since early 2013, was a weird feeling!

Thats a pretty strong Zillmere side on paper, if they can add Zeidler and Waters to it - they will be hard to beat. They will also be older than most masters sides!

Must have been tough without your big tall collihole. Getting paid the big bucks to play isn't he??
Thats the story going around and no fees for the rest of the new guys, the only way the cats could get them on board.just curious my sources tell me the best young talent the cats had have all gone to the eagles why would this be

Thats a pretty strong Zillmere side on paper, if they can add Zeidler and Waters to it - they will be hard to beat. They will also be older than most masters sides!

I don't reckon Waters will join the party, but if he does, and Zeidler stays on the park, Zillmere would be well and truly premiership favourites. Waters added a huge amount of leadership and structure in 2013 - directing teammates and constantly setting up play in a way I haven't seen from anyone else in this comp.

Not to mention Duce who was a huge part of Kedron's third finish in the QFA. Even their lesser known players who played against Kedron in round 2 were very handy footballers. #6 if i recall correctly was very handy for them.

We had a few missing, as I'm sure Zillmere did also. We picked the best 22 available, and were beaten.

Bad form to then talk about who didn't play.

To be completely honest, our new blokes played bloody well anyway. 2 guys new to the game this year kicked goals, one from a tight angle and the other nailed a tory ;) (though he was 25 out, so not sure why he went the tory!?)

We had a few missing, as I'm sure Zillmere did also. We picked the best 22 available, and were beaten.

To be completely honest, our new blokes played bloody well anyway. 2 guys new to the game this year kicked goals, one from a tight angle and the other nailed a tory ;) (though he was 25 out, so not sure why he went the tory!?)

For the sheer glory of it!!!

He can certainly play, thats for sure!

By my reckoning, he would still be under 40 - so no excuses!

Were Woodsmen at full strength?

Very good call about 40. That's the turning point in this comp, though there's a few who soldier on past it.
Re: Waters... I played with him in the 90s - I reckon he would be just on the other side. Doesn't seem it though.

Drafted in 95, I reckon he is 4 or 5 years younger than Danny. So he'd be around the mark.

Harder for running players to push past 40 though, big blokes don't get smaller when they get older.

Nah, we were practically fielding our masters team with a few 17's to fill in and a few who have not played in years. It was a once off though. A lot of our boys in the DF so Anzac Day was a shitty day to have a game for us.
oh excuses we dont see any excuses on here by other teams who get smashed i would imagine the eagles thirds would have been highly embarrassed the other week after being belted by sandgate but no not a word from them let alone an excuse. Im thinking when the cats play the eagles what a game it will be,cats by 8 goals whats every body else think? Big Zeidler is a gun will add heaps to the zillmere team with his experience im not sure why the cats havnt chased him and pay him instead of big collihole

To be completely honest, our new blokes played bloody well anyway. 2 guys new to the game this year kicked goals, one from a tight angle and the other nailed a tory ;) (though he was 25 out, so not sure why he went the tory!?)[/QUOTE]

Very questionable choice but 6 points none the less! Was a tight contest and a real arm wrestle all night with all players basically walking in the dying minutes. Look forward to the return leg.

2015 QAFA (B) Central