2015 QAFA (B) Central

They would need to improve consistency.

Undefeated in 2013, didn't play finals in 2014.

Will be one of the favourites to win it this year with all the names they've produced since losing to Kedron in Round 2.

Anyone think Zillmere will get promoted to higher div in the near future?
It takes more than just playing good footy. Its more money more helpers more players. The eagles deserve to play a higher comp but its not easy to maintain if your not ready. I hope they do. They are a great club with a long history.

I know all aspects are looked at, on and off field etc, just wondering where they are at. They got a decent ground and facilities so that is a plus for them but lot more to do. I guess having Aspley and Sandgate nearby has it pro's and con's getting interest on and off field.

Anyone think Zillmere will get promoted to higher div in the near future?

I played all my junior football and my very first senior game at Zillmere. Highlight of my season last year, other than playing in the grand final was the night we played Zillmere at Zillmere. Returning to the ground after a very long absence was a big deal for me, even if it was on a Friday night and playing for the opposition.
Would love to see Zillmere reemerge as a powerhouse club but sadly think the ship might have already sailed on that dream. The financial issues they faced broke their backs and allowed other very close clubs, like Aspley and Sandgate to get the jump on them. Lot of clubs in a close proximity there make recruiting players and running a club a tough business. Love to see the club doing well though so go the Eagles!!

They would need to improve consistency.

Undefeated in 2013, didn't play finals in 2014.

Will be one of the favourites to win it this year with all the names they've produced since losing to Kedron in Round 2.
Correct, and considering the players that zillemere have received since round 2 are majority old heads, i don't see them contributing more than a season.

I played all my junior football and my very first senior game at Zillmere. Highlight of my season last year, other than playing in the grand final was the night we played Zillmere at Zillmere. Returning to the ground after a very long absence was a big deal for me, even if it was on a Friday night and playing for the opposition.
Would love to see Zillmere reemerge as a powerhouse club but sadly think the ship might have already sailed on that dream. The financial issues they faced broke their backs and allowed other very close clubs, like Aspley and Sandgate to get the jump on them. Lot of clubs in a close proximity there make recruiting players and running a club a tough business. Love to see the club doing well though so go the Eagles!!

I'm in the same boat as you Macman. Played there for many years, juniors and seniors, and heading back to the O was pretty weird but fun. Except for the getting flogged part! Safe to say that I enjoyed the open spaces much more 15 years ago when I was a touch umm.. fresher.

I also played for Kedron as a very young kid and always love going back there too. Natural amphitheatre - has to be the best place to watch suburban footy in SEQ. Sandgate has a similar vibe but the ground is too vast and the hill not as high.

The biggest thing about the grounds that I miss from those days is (weirdly) the fences. There was a time when all those grounds had great local advertising around the whole ground. Obviously you need punters to bother with advertising, but the grounds all look a little more generic now without it.

The surfaces across the comp are so much better these days though... Maybe that's because footy gets called off a bit more readily which is a shame in other ways. O'Callaghan Park used to just be a total quagmire on the clubhouse wing with a bit of rain. Kedron often had a very patchy coverage.

As for the Eagles chances of progressing - the one thing we have seen in Queensland footy over the last 30+ years is constant change. And Zillmere people are very passionate about the club, despite the heartbreaking financial messes over the years. The facility is still good. I don't think the proximity of other clubs is a major issue to getting back to being a two team club. Beyond that though, it's probably about the pokies, and doing that well might be very hard indeed.

I'm in the same boat as you Macman. Played there for many years, juniors and seniors, and heading back to the O was pretty weird but fun. Except for the getting flogged part! Safe to say that I enjoyed the open spaces much more 15 years ago when I was a touch umm.. fresher.

I also played for Kedron as a very young kid and always love going back there too. Natural amphitheatre - has to be the best place to watch suburban footy in SEQ. Sandgate has a similar vibe but the ground is too vast and the hill not as high.

The biggest thing about the grounds that I miss from those days is (weirdly) the fences. There was a time when all those grounds had great local advertising around the whole ground. Obviously you need punters to bother with advertising, but the grounds all look a little more generic now without it.

The surfaces across the comp are so much better these days though... Maybe that's because footy gets called off a bit more readily which is a shame in other ways. O'Callaghan Park used to just be a total quagmire on the clubhouse wing with a bit of rain. Kedron often had a very patchy coverage.

As for the Eagles chances of progressing - the one thing we have seen in Queensland footy over the last 30+ years is constant change. And Zillmere people are very passionate about the club, despite the heartbreaking financial messes over the years. The facility is still good. I don't think the proximity of other clubs is a major issue to getting back to being a two team club. Beyond that though, it's probably about the pokies, and doing that well might be very hard indeed.
Do they have the required numbers? Need two sides to go up a division don't they ?

Anyone tried the ladder predictor?

This is what I came up with. The draw is a bit uneven, given who plays who twice - Woodsmen probably have the easiest draw. I reckon there are 7 potential finalists for 6 spots, and anyone could win it.

QAFAB.jpg

I'm quite sure at the moment they have little intentions moving up a division. Tiger G was just asking for some opinions! But yes, they will need depth
You are correct sir just after thoughts maybe who knows what happens in 10 or 15 years down the track. I grew in the olds when Windsor Zillmere had great rivalries against a number of clubs eg Mayne.
My point is they are very proud club with a proud history, I think they will rise again one day. Look at Mayne in general as a club they scrapped themselves off the bottom the barrel worked hard found success entered a 3rd's side in this comp they are developing well on and off field to the point where there is good word they are going to get offered again to play in the QAFL.
I see little reason why Zillmere can't one day you know baby steps.

This is what I came up with. The draw is a bit uneven, given who plays who twice - Woodsmen probably have the easiest draw. I reckon there are 7 potential finalists for 6 spots, and anyone could win it.

View attachment 133467

Interesting. I think they're might be few on here (and those who read without posting) who may be surprised at this but I don't think the Woodsmen will finish top....... nor will they lose only one game all season. They do have a player or 2 to come into the side, but as Thommo's suggested..... it's about giving all paid up players a run. That'll mean they wont field the best side each week.

But I agree it's too close a comp to have a clear cut winner. Any of the top 6 or 7 have a shot.

Like the Jimboomba prediction though. They will surprise all season. Too experienced to discount.

View attachment 133467

My attempt...

JBZBkDN.jpg

Interesting. I think they're might be few on here (and those who read without posting) who may be surprised at this but I don't think the Woodsmen will finish top....... nor will they lose only one game all season. They do have a player or 2 to come into the side, but as Thommo's suggested..... it's about giving all paid up players a run. That'll mean they wont field the best side each week.

But I agree it's too close a comp to have a clear cut winner. Any of the top 6 or 7 have a shot.

Like the Jimboomba prediction though. They will surprise all season. Too experienced to discount.

Well the plan would be not to lose any more games, but yes it won't be an 'at all costs' mentality.

You are correct sir just after thoughts maybe who knows what happens in 10 or 15 years down the track. I grew in the olds when Windsor Zillmere had great rivalries against a number of clubs eg Mayne.
My point is they are very proud club with a proud history, I think they will rise again one day. Look at Mayne in general as a club they scrapped themselves off the bottom the barrel worked hard found success entered a 3rd's side in this comp they are developing well on and off field to the point where there is good word they are going to get offered again to play in the QAFL.
I see little reason why Zillmere can't one day you know baby steps.
Yeah mate will be good to see these local clubs that have been around for ages, like Kedron, Mayne and of course Zillmere improve. Great history and culture can go along way!

Some interesting games this weekend:
Match of the round would have to be Kedron vs UQ. Tipping Kedron to get up in that one.
Ferny Grove vs Sandgate could be an interesting one as well. Might tip an upset here with the Grove boys to get up.
Collingwood Park vs Yeronga might one to watch also. Would think Yeronga should win but not so settled on that result.
Coorparoo; Zillmere; Woodsmen and Jimboomba all easy wins by big margins

What does everyone else think?
Good luck to everyone and hope you all enjoy your footy

Went down to Sherwood to check out the game of the week, Woodies v Cats..! What a flogging it was. I thought Jimboomba were dirty when they are loosing.. Ipswich hey, just must be in the blood.

2015 QAFA (B) Central