2015 QFA South

That's cos there isnt a whole bunch of players masquerading as the league's biggest fans in this thread. I have seen a few QFA games this year, and looking like a very good, highly competitive year !!
Only seen a few preseason cup games and one official game so far, but certainly looks like a number of teams are very competitive. Look forward to seeing more games as work permits. Unfortunately working most Saturdays till July. So hopefully someone at the game will let me know how it all looks.

Some big blowouts at weekend

would have to agree with you Peanut that it is highly competitive - probably as competitive as I have seen this league in the last 4 years overall.

Which was the reason I suppose BOC for the change in structure as well. Not sure if there will be some tinkering, not unlike the tinkering with the Colts structure this year which will bring 16 teams into an 8 / 8 comp next year or just as one. Personally I think it is great not having to go to the GC any more (from the SC) and I think most guys do too but there is always a balance bn wanting a good comp and travel. Maybe if you had 12-14 teams that all play each other once and then the 2nd match is vs sides from your "region". Not 100% fair but no less fair than what happens at AFL level right now... And the best 2 teams will still play off in the GF. If any comps need to be regionalised it is the QAFA A and B I would have thought where there is no money going around.

Any thoughts on the south QLD side announced yesterday? I know some blokes don't make themselves available but surely better options out there across north & south than some of the springwood fill ins.
Still early days year 2 with the teams concept but going forward they have to at least attempt to put some more effort in with the selection.
2016 side at this rate will have a clubs canteen ladies cat at full forward

Any thoughts on the south QLD side announced yesterday? I know some blokes don't make themselves available but surely better options out there across north & south than some of the springwood fill ins.
Still early days year 2 with the teams concept but going forward they have to at least attempt to put some more effort in with the selection.
3 Guys from Mayne 4 Guys from Caloundra didn't they just pump them by 100pts ? Haven't Mayne just won 25 straight games ?

I keep reading over it and can't see how this is the best 40 available. Some fantastic footballers on the list but plenty missing also.

Vasterink from Springwood has played 1 or 2 senior games since 2013 GF?

Am hoping players like Matt Eagles, Jake Thomlinson, Regan Salter, Boeh Davies, Josh Norman, Luke Faulkner, Mitch Enright etc have made themselves unavailable for selection.

My personal opinion:

I think its a nomination process. The Coaches can nominate who they feel like and then selectors go out and watch the games. If you are nominated then you have the chance to decline or accept i guess.

where is the team list ?

Interesting game betwwen Yeronga and Springwood . The devils started quickly with 6 goals in first quarter, but the Springwood boys rallied well and were never beaten in a quarter again. Too Strong Too Fast. Yeronga only managed another 2 goals for the game. Not as big a loss as I had expected , but still need to work out what went right in first quarter and what went wrong after that.

Cant believe the score in Kenmore gain... Unbelievable...

Coaches nominate players, then the AFLQ guys pick from those nominations.

Given Luke Faulkner kicked 150 goals last year, I reckon he would have been picked if nominated.

yeah our boys could be in for a long day this Saturday!! is he back for good QAFL - surely you have a mate who knows his dad who spoke to his son that once met someone at AFLQ who may know something :p

north comp related but good win by Maroochy to break the mayne streak - shows all teams are beaten and puts some life back in that comp.

Well done to the Kings with a win over Springwood to go top and remain undefeated. A few boys still out of their senior side too.

Both QFA Comps have lit up in the past 2 weeks all of a sudden

Where has Plummer been previous to last week?

my understanding is that he broke his hand in a preseason game and is just coming back - played with it taped still - the right one for all of those playing at home!

congrats to Kenmore who have finally taken over the club rooms there - granted we were devastated that the tab and bar wasn't up and running, but good to see they will now have the ability to make some coin out of playing there.

Good win by the Kings - withstood a pretty decent challenge late from what I heard to fall over the line.

de winter looks a very handy the bears have picked up from tassie.

the 5s starting to take shape in both grades with it appearing that any of those teams capable of beating each other on the day.

Oh I wouldn't be comfortable calling any side favourites atm. Kenmore by a goal over the Pumas and the Devils and kings play a draw is a pretty even top 4. I wouldn't be writing Burleigh off either as their guns know what finals footy is all about.
With the wash out in round 4, Kenmore are yet to have the bye so are effectively a game in front of everyone. They have the bye twice in 3 weeks coming up.

Anyone at the Kings Devils game? If aflq score tracker is correct it looks like 10 minutes between last score and final siren - would imagine would have been some desperate footy played in that period of time!!

Oh I wouldn't be comfortable calling any side favourites atm. Kenmore by a goal over the Pumas and the Devils and kings play a draw is a pretty even top 4. I wouldn't be writing Burleigh off either as their guns know what finals footy is all about.
With the wash out in round 4, Kenmore are yet to have the bye so are effectively a game in front of everyone. They have the bye twice in 3 weeks coming up.

Anyone at the Kings Devils game? If aflq score tracker is correct it looks like 10 minutes between last score and final siren - would imagine would have been some desperate footy played in that period of time!!
Agree, top 4 wide open with Springwood seemingly coming back to the field this year. The Coomera/ Robina game this week should be a cracker with the Coomera boys starting to feel more at home at this level now. One more win should see them cement a place in div 2 for next year if there is going to be promotion/ relegation for 2016.

2015 QFA South