2015 Round 1 Line up

bigboysdontcry

Be interesting to see how side looks on paper with the list changes with currenty have.

B: Picken Roughead Morris

HB: Murphy Talia Wood

C: Macrae Wallis Johannisen

HF: Bontempeli Crameri Dahlhaus

FF: Stringer Boyd Hunter

Followers: Minson
Libba
Hrovat

Inter: Campbell
Stevens
Fletcher-Roberts
Grant

Our Forward like now looks so strong- 4/5 X Factor players.....very dangerous....Our Backline needs more depth.......No Spot for Matty Boyd....

B: Roberts Roughead Picken
HB: Murphy Morris Wood
R: Minson Wallis Liberatore
C: Stevens M.Boyd Macrae
HF: Dahlhaus Crameri Bontempelli
F: Stringer T.Boyd Hunter
I: Hrovat Jong Johannisen Biggs

E: Campbell Darley Dickson

Morris Roughead Picken
Biggs Talia/Roberts/Austin? Murphy

Bontempelli Liberatore Macrae

Crameri Stringer Hrovat
Dahlhaus Boyd Dickson

Minson Boyd Wallis

Stevens Wood Johannisen
Honeychurch/Hunter

EMG: Campbell Hunter/Honeychurch Grant
Roughead to relief ruck, with Morris playing tall when Minson's off and Wood adopting Morris' role. Smith to take Boyd's spot when he comes back. Campbell to take Minson's spot by the end of the year (here's hoping).

Others: Jong, Grant, Darley, Fuller, Cordy, Prudden, Pearce.

Ridiculously slow but young and talented.

HB: Murphy Talia Wood

C: JJ Wallis Bontempelli

HF: Crameri T Boyd Dahlhaus

F: Hunter Stringer Dickson

R: Minson Libba Macrae

I/C: Stevens Biggs Hrovat M Boyd

B: Morris Talia Wood
HB: Murphy Roberts Biggs
C: JJ Wallis Macrae
HF: Dalhaus Boyd Hunter
FF: Crameri Stringer Roughead
R: Minson Libba Bontempelli
I/C: Stevens, Hrovat, Honey, Draftee (quick mid)

Roughead to assist in the ruck and rotate back and forward depending on where he is needed. If we are getting dominated by a big tall, either put him one on one, or put him loose in front of him to chop out the incoming ball.

If solid in defence, play him forward and have him providing a decoy for Boyd and Stringer.

I've probably forgotten someone important.

B: Morris Talia Wood
HB: Murphy Roberts Biggs
C: JJ Wallis Macrae
HF: Dalhaus Boyd Hunter
FF: Crameri Stringer Roughead
R: Minson Libba Bontempelli
I/C: Stevens, Hrovat, Honey, Draftee (quick mid)

Roughead to assist in the ruck and rotate back and forward depending on where he is needed. If we are getting dominated by a big tall, either put him one on one, or put him loose in front of him to chop out the incoming ball.

If solid in defence, play him forward and have him providing a decoy for Boyd and Stringer.

Picken?

Wood - Roughead - Morris
Biggs - Roberts - Murphy
Macrae - Wallis - Bontempelli
Dahlhaus - Crameri - Hunter
Stringer - Boyd - Honeychurch
Minson - Boyd - Liberatore

Stevens - JJ - Hrovat - Picken

Biggs could slot straight onto the half back flank. I also think Sid will really come on and play lots of senior footy, he took his chances at AFL level last season despite a few obstacles.

I like Stringer closer to goal, and I think Boyd plays out of the square leading up. He's big, strong and smart enough to play CHF, though. Crameri can afford to roam around and play more naturally. While many could argue that Dickson plays ahead of Hunter/Honeychurch as a forward, I like the versatility and forward pressure that the other two bring to the table (and seeing Boyd and Honeychurch reunited will just be the best damn thing ever).

I've got Picken and JJ on the bench because I think there's any number of roles that they could fill for us, at totally opposite ends of the spectrum. Picken can defend anywhere on the ground and we might need JJ's potency out of defense or up forward.

I think Campbell's ready too. Hopefully we can say the same for Talia soon. If he and Sid can burst out of the blocks, I'll breathe a huge sigh of relief.

It'll be interesting to see how Zaine Cordy develops, too. The club seriously rates him and sees him progressing through a variety of defensive roles, so we might see him earlier than we'd expect.

It's great that Dale Morris is still around and hopefully will be for a few more seasons. Zaine can follow Morris around and learn as much as he can from the great man in the next few seasons and then hopefully be his successor.

Chain one arm to Moz and the other to Murph. Imagine someone with the lockdown ability of Moz and the attacking flair of Murphy - holy shit

Picken - Roughead - Morris

Fletcher - Talia - Murphy

Johannison - Macrae - Bontempelli

Dalhouse - Crameri - Stringer

Hunter - T Boyd - Honeychurch

Minson - Wallis - Liberatore

M Boyd - Hrovat - Jong - Campbell​

I'm keen to see Honeychurch get more time on the ball, maybe even start in the centre square. He is relentless in his attack and never gives up, could be a centre square animal.

I think from memory one of Bonti or Macrae picked him as his tip to have a break out year next year.

Love it. Moz doesn't have talent to burn like some of the names on our list but you'd be hard pressed to find a bloke who has gotten more out of himself.

Hopefully his work ethic and sense of humour are passed down to the younger boys. He's a ripper.

B: Wood Roughead Morris
HB: Biggs Talia Murphy
C: Hrovat Libba Stevens
HF: Bonts Roberts Crameri
F: Stringer Boyd Dahl
Foll: Minson Wallis Macrae
Int: Boyd Picken JJ SUB: Hunter
Emg: Campbell Jong Darley

Probably a bit different to most but I think we need to play another pure KPP up forward and for them to pinch hit in the Ruck and I think Roberts adds more flexibility than Campbell I see Campbell as a number one Ruck who can rest forward opposed to a Roberts who can play back and forward and I believe can pinch hit in the ruck also allows Stringer and Crameri to get the 3rd and 4th defenders. If we move forward next year by the end of the season Boyd would be replaced by a Jong or similar.

Will the Roughead experiment continue with a new coach?

HB: Darley Talia Roberts
C: Macrae Stevens Johannessen
HF: Crameri T.Boyd Murphy
F: Dahlhaus Stringer Bontempelli
Foll: Minson Libba Wallis
Int: Hrovat Wood Hunter Jong

Roughy to give Will a chop out in the ruck and Roberts/Rough to also swing forward. Murph to swing to half back at times, Dahl, Bont, Stringer to spend time in the midfield while Stevens, Hunter and Hrovat play forward.

This has crossed my mind. I'll be very interested to see what they do with him. I also wonder where Roughy prefers to play?

I'd say he just did the team first thing and forced himself to embrace the role.

Wood - Roberts - Morris
Biggs - Talia - Murphy
Macrae - Wallis - Bontempelli
Dahlhaus - Crameri - Stevens
Stringer - T. Boyd - Honeychurch
Minson - M. Boyd - Liberatore

Roughead - Hrovat - JJ - Picken

EMG. Campbell/Darley/Hunter

I want Grant in there too!

But honestly, would not be surprised if Roughead is used as a swingman with Roberts. I'm always bad at these things.

Edit: Beaten to it!

Will the Roughead experiment continue with a new coach?
I reckon it depends on the coach. Somebody like Tudor might back himself to iron out the flaws in Rough as a defender; somebody like Ratten may be more traditional and swing him back into the forward line. Another coach may even see him as a full-time ruckman. Roughead's going to be one of the most interesting players to follow next year I think; anything could happen under a new coach.

I think he can be in the team as a genuine swing man and depending on match ups either play forward or back. It also ensure Minson doesn't burn out in the ruck as Rough could realistically do up to 50/50 rucking.

Means Roberts and Talia need to be in the team though.

Big reshuffling of positions here in my squad including a number of players being moved from back to forward and a surprise mid.

FB: Picken, Roberts, Morris
HB: Biggs, Talia, Wood
C: JJ, Macrae, Crameri
HF: Murphy, Roughead, Dahlhaus
FF: T.Boyd, Stringer, Hunter
R: Minson. Wallis, Libba
Int: Bontempelli, Stevens, Hrovat
Sub: Jong

Think T.Boyd's inclusion is going to give Campbell some big issues trying to get into the side as we need a more mobile Ruck/2nd forward so Roughy moves from back to forward. Roughy also moves away from the backline because he is somewhat of a liability when the opposition gets quick entry as often enough he is unable to keep up with athletic tall forwards but he can be shifted back if we are very much undersized. Campbell also is going to try and have to push Minson out of the side.

Both Roberts and Talia now get a chance to solidify a starting spot inside the defensive 50 but it also gives us 3 big tall and strong KPF's in Stringer, T. Boyd and Roughead who using his mobility can play at CHF. Stringer/Bontempelli moves to CHF when Roughy gives will a chop out. No more playing just the one ruckman.

Crameri as we all know has a large tank, has great speed and he doesn't mind pushing up the ground. Why not use these attributes as well as his experience and size to push into a more permanent midfielder where he on instances can swap with Bontempelli and fill a forward role as well.

As for the deep forward structure Stringer still maintains his starting spot at FF and he becomes the leading (Fevola type) target who is the number 1 target when we have clean and quick delivery inside 50. On the lead there is no one better. This is where T.Boyd comes in handy as he slots in behind and he is the bailout long goal square option. He is to start slightly deeper than Stringer as to not get in his way on the lead but Jake is to draw his opponent out of the square so that T.Boyd can get 1 on 1 opportunities which will make him a star. Roughy is the lead up CHF, I think he has the size athleticism and marking ability to be that bail out kick on the wings we need, particularly as T.Boyd doesn't have the cardio yet and he is more dangerous closer to goal. Roughy should have a look at T.Lynch (GC) and watch how hard he works and take some notes. Following the oppostion KPF's for the past 3 years should give roughy a solid understanding of where to lead to and what defenders hate.

FB: Morris, Roughead, Picken
HB: Wood, Talia, Murphy
C: Macrae, Boyd, Bontempelli
HF: Stevens, Crameri, Hrovat
FF: Stringer, Boyd, Dahlhaus
R: Minson, Wallis, Liberatore
INT: Grant, Hunter, Johannisen
EMG: Campbell, Dickson, Darley
SUB: Jong

Looking to be a pretty exciting team.