Analysis 2016 AFL club membership tally.

Here's the official numbers, we have dropped 0.53% this season and Hawthorn has over taken us.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-08-25/hawks-overtake-pies-to-top-membership-ladder

Total Members
Club
2016 2015 Variation
75,351 72,924 +3.33%
Collingwood 74,643 75,037 -0.53%
Richmond 72,278 70,809 +2.07%
West Coast 65,188 60,221 +8.25%
Essendon 57,494 60,818 -5.47%
Sydney Swans 56,523 48,836 +15.74%
Adelaide 54,307 52,920 +2.62%
Port Adelaide 53,743 54,057 -0.58%
Fremantle 51,889 51,433 +0.89%
Geelong 50,571 44,312 +14.12%
Carlton 50,130 47,305 +5.97%
North Melbourne 45,014 41,012 +9.76%
Western Bulldogs 39,459 35,222 +12.03%
Melbourne 39,146 35,953 +8.88%
St Kilda 38,009 32,746 +16.07%
Brisbane Lions 23,286 25,408 -8.35%
Greater Western Sydney 15,312 13,480 +13.59%
Gold Coast 12,854 13,643 -5.78%
TOTALS 875,197 836,136 +4.67%

Not surprising given they have won 3 flags in a row and have half the state of Tassie on board now.

A revenue ladder would be interesting too, reckon we've dropped down that one also.

I thought I saw an article the other day that said we had over 75k?
The official AFL collection date is July 31st so we probably have gone over 75k just by giving away free memberships with every jumper bought in store now.

interesting numbers overall. Hardly surprising that the Hawks have overtaken us to be fair.

What is surprising to me, is the fact that we've only dropped by 0.53% in total. I would've bet money that we'd dropped more members than that considering this is our third year in a row of not making finals.

Imagine if we had a period of sustained success like the Hawks? We'd fair dinkum rocket through the 100k mark for memberships.

But alas, Collingwood and sustained success (premierships) don't go hand in hand. You have to go back many many generations before sustained success was a common thing for Collingwood.

The official AFL collection date is July 31st so we probably have gone over 75k just by giving away free memberships with every jumper bought in store now.

I think I saw the figures posted here and we had higher membership than the Hawks.

Edit: it was an image from the paper and posted in this thread: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/club-membership-tally-2016.1120219/page-5.

This below likely to be more up to date.

278895_b3da925705e4cbf7c0fcdeeb671be32d.jpg

11th December 2013

Gary Pert
"We are on track to break our target of 100,000 members."

Really Gary, really? Seems we are going backwards if anything seeing as we had over 80k in 2013.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Anyone had a look at the membership packages that the Hawks offer? Family memberships are very competitive and attractive in pricing; no doubt it would boost/inflate the membership tally.

I think they are amazing figures for us. To have sustained that number is extraordinary. Sure, they are boosted by freebies, three-gamers, etc, but doesn't that apply to every club? Whether we continue at this rate remains to be seen, and the drop off in crowd attendances is another matter. But still a great result for the club.

End of the day its just 75k pissed off supporters who wasted their money

11th December 2013
Gary Pert
Really Gary, really? Seems we are going backwards if anything seeing as we had over 80k in 2013.

Mattys123 please don't use B word around here.........saying we have gone b(ackwards) is not correct just ask Perty!

I remember people here were saying that our membership was down 25,000 from last year.Were they just making those figures up to make a point about how bad things were?
No. The club hadn't updated figures since December. So the tally stayed at 55,000. Leading people to beleive that the numbers had indeed dropped.

I remember people here were saying that our membership was down 25,000 from last year.Were they just making those figures up to make a point about how bad things were?
They may have been using equations, see the name Buckley and give it value - 25,000

11th December 2013

Gary Pert

We will drop by at least 3k next year IMO, a lot of supporters dont want to see another year of Buckley.

Membership in general is a little (note: little) over rated.
How many are three games membership.
How do we count AFL or MCC membership.
Who has best ongoing attendance etc etc.
It's important but in all seriousness we supporters are given a sell job anyway.
Buy a membership to save your club, buy a membership to support your club, buy this for blah blah blah.
Brutally it's all very well, come finals and a Grand Final, oops sorry supporter Mr Corporate self important busy boy gets first preference.
And how many Give away promotions and competitions are there with GF tickets?
Are we suggesting SEN, Ch 7, any Melbourne media is going to talk less about the GF if there is no contest tickets?
And then there is non competing clubs having a breakfast of cornflakes and over cooked bacon at 1500 or whatever with GF ticket(s) thrown in.

We will drop by at least 3k next year IMO, a lot of supporters dont want to see another year of Buckley.
Or in your estimation 3000 don't want to see a year of buckley

The figure really surprises me, would love to have a break-up of categories.
In so far as attendance goes, I think ladder position is one reason but for me the twilight games hasn't helped especially on Sundays with children.
Whoever thought of twilight games on Sunday probably suggested to Ryan lochte that maybe he was robbed in Rio.

Signed up hawk members

image.jpeg

Id rather see the number of full memberships and not these other bs 3 day s**t etc that get included
I hear you but for somebody like me the living 270 ks away the 3 match membership works well. I can;t justify buying a full membership, but can quite happily buy a 3 game one. EVen with a 3 game membership, I'll struggle to take full advantage. EVery club is the same. DOllar value in memberships is the most accurate tally

I don't believe the figure to be honest. Would be a cover up for sure to protect Nathan. Our crowd attendances have been poor this year. I'm not buying it