List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft

Didn't know the difference was so small.

Maybe we are banking on all rookies being able to play all year (as has been speculated).

Either way, I still want 5.
I had to look it up and like you I didn't realise the gap was so small. Keep in mind also that if a rookie listed player is elevated his pay rate goes up to that of a draftee for as long as he's on the senior list

Here's the other thing with Petrie- does anyone believe he's going to move to the other side of the country for ~$70k a year which is the base rate of pay for a draftee

We're already committed to carrying McInnes why are we throwing more money away on a washed up veteran

It really is illogical

If WCE draft Petrie Rawlings needs a good kick up the backside for making a mockery of the Eagles ..

No - it's on all of them including Simpson. Petrie is not a decision that would be made independently by Rawlings but the footy dept as a group

It'll be a collective uppercut they need to give themselves

No - it's on all of them including Simpson. Petrie is not a decision that would be made independently by Rawlings but the footy dept as a group

It'll be a collective uppercut they need to give themselves

Yeah your right all of those North loving scumbags at the club now ..

What 18/19 year old talents are we going to pick this year and not give at least 2 years to develop? The only scenario I could think of for a 1 year commitment is a Jy Bolton type and test him out for just a year since his body is AFL ready.

I had to look it up and like you I didn't realise the gap was so small. Keep in mind also that if a rookie listed player is elevated his pay rate goes up to that of a draftee for as long as he's on the senior list

Here's the other thing with Petrie- does anyone believe he's going to move to the other side of the country for ~$70k a year which is the base rate of pay for a draftee

We're already committed to carrying McInnes why are we throwing more money away on a washed up veteran

It really is illogical

My mate in Melbourne saw Petrie running earlier in the week. I got sad thinking that he could be doing work to be ready for our preseason.

From Brett Anderson's phantom draft..

69. Geelong

Oscar JUNKER
Ht: 190.7cm | Wt: 83.9kg | Hybrid Defender | Western Jets

Must be taking the p155

Since and including Ben's draft year, the following have been picked up at 12:

Charlie Curnow
Corey Ellis
Ben Lennon
Kristian Jaksch
Sam Docherty
Lucas Cook
Kane Lucas

Docherty looks able to surpass Cunnington's contributions. Lennon is a chance to earn a career on a HFF. Corey Ellis has a great leg, some run and little else. Too early to call on Curnow, I can understand why some would be hopeful.

Acknowledging that folk picked after these positions were eligible for selection loco, I don't think there's a precedent for expecting a far grander result than Cunnington, who is a strong contested presence and tackler, not an abominable user and is one of the most physically balanced players in the comp. You're welcome to want someone better and I'm not spruiking complacency, but I think circumspection is something to be wielded when considering the nature of selecting seventeen-year-olds in the draft.
Yes but this year's draft runs a lot deeper

It does, but not in regards to top-end talent. If anything, that lends to us having a greater range of options at our pick (something I feel we, and those trying to predict the signings, sense). This could mean we can really craft some precision as to what type of player/attributes we get, or it could mean that the pick is more or a lottery, with there being every chance (more so than typically) that a player picked at 35 is as successful as one taken with our own selection.

From Brett Anderson's phantom draft..

69. Geelong

Oscar JUNKER
Ht: 190.7cm | Wt: 83.9kg | Hybrid Defender | Western Jets

Must be taking the p155
?

That's a pretty underwhelming video tbh. Not much there to get excited about

Yeah ... I was going to ask if we were expected to be impressed by any of that! Maybe it was released to put some clubs "off the scent"?

This is another way in which i judge draft prospects and in some ways why i prefer WA and SA prospects. They are given the opportunity earlier to step up against men. If a junior with great talent gets bullied around a bit or thrown off the line of the ball etc then thats fine. If his skills turn to shite at the step up then that is a symptom of something much worse and i greatly mark players down for it.

Maybe we're going 4 draftees + Petrie as a DFA? There's one more DFA period if I'm not wrong.
Not sure if it is still the case but all players drafted in the main draft get a minimum 2 year contract. Sigining Petrie as a DFA or rookie means we can limit it to a 1 year contract.

For what it's worth I am fine with Petrie on a one year contract. Rucks stocks could be slim with Naitanui out and questions on the fitness of Lycett and Vardy. I don't mind having someone with senior experience who can play ruck. Also covers an injury to Kennedy. One year contract gets him out when Naitanui comes back and hopefully a younger drafted ruck has a years experience under his belt.

Not sure if it is still the case but all players drafted in the main draft get a minimum 2 year contract. Sigining Petrie as a DFA or rookie means we can limit it to a 1 year contract.

For what it's worth I am fine with Petrie on a one year contract. Rucks stocks could be slim with Naitanui out and questions on the fitness of Lycett and Vardy. I don't mind having someone with senior experience who can play ruck. Also covers an injury to Kennedy. One year contract gets him out when Naitanui comes back and hopefully a younger drafted ruck has a years experience under his belt.
Plus he can always sleepover on Simmo's couch so the cost of relocating him would be minimal.