List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft

"We need Petrie as a backup ruck!"
"Why, we've got Lycett, Giles and Vardy for next season. McGovern too"
"Yeah but what happens if they get injured, Petrie is there as backup"
"But he's not even a ruckman FFS"
"Yeah but he's going to more be playing that 2nd ruck/forward role"

So what... the ****... is the point? We're drafting a backup backup ruckman who can't ruck and is going to be playing forward? Plus he's older than Keyser.

The whole idea is absolute trash and should have been shut down months ago.

If we pick up Petrie, and we actually need him to play, then our season is down the shitter anyway.

Also, some people here rate Rookie spots to highly. It's very rare that someone comes of the rookie list and contributes.
I reckon it's about the same likelihood as third rounders in the ND.

I think the way we use the rookie draft makes it seem so rare to find anyone of much value because we often waste it on other teams discards and injury prone players

If we pick up Petrie, and we actually need him to play, then our season is down the shitter anyway.

Also, some people here rate Rookie spots to highly. It's very rare that someone comes of the rookie list and contributes.
Agree that the strike rate of decent players through the rookie draft is low which is why clubs need to churn through players to get a look at as many as possible over time rather than waste spots on washed up players

Assuming we do the unthinkable and take both petrie and McInnes are rookie list will be :

Petrie - 34 year old veteran well past his use by date
McInnes - still only 23 but has been on the list for 5 years and has shown no noticeable sign of development. Retained solely because he had a contract
Tunbridge - has played 10 games over 4 years on the list. Poster child for hope over reality
Snadden - about to enter his 2nd year on the rookie list as he tries to cement a spot
Mystery pick - possibly our only live pick in one of the strongest rookie drafts for years

Success stories from the rookie draft are rare but we aren't giving ourselves the best chance of unearthing the next one

Agree that the strike rate of decent players through the rookie draft is low which is why clubs need to churn through players to get a look at as many as possible over time rather than waste spots on washed up players

Assuming we do the unthinkable and take both petrie and McInnes are rookie list will be :

McInnes - still only 23 but has been on the list for 5 years and has shown no noticeable sign of development. Retained solely because he had a contract
Tunbridge - has played 10 games over 4 years on the list. Poster child for hope over reality
Snadden - about to enter his 2nd year on the rookie list as he tries to cement a spot
Mystery pick - possibly our only live pick in one of the strongest rookie drafts for years

Success stories from the rookie draft are rare but we aren't giving ourselves the best chance of unearthing the next one
The we hope like crazy that Brisbane (actually anyone is fine) take McInnes off our hands.
Given the above, my dream rookie would be:

Tall project - like Goddard or Olango (assume McInnes gone and no Petrie)
Best available - Sprouse and hope GWS feel they have enough talls so go another de Boer
Midfield - Banfield or Bunker or Bolton (ready to go)

Only have to look at the two grand finalists this year to see how good rookies can be.

Dahlhaus
Picken
Johanissen
Papley
J Lloyd
N Smith
Rampe
Jong
Biggs
Tom Campbell
Naismith (NSW zone)
Jack (academy?)

Only have to look at the two grand finalists this year to see how good rookies can be.

Dahlhaus
Picken
Johanissen
K Jack (father son?)
Papley
J Lloyd
N Smith
Rampe
Jong?
Kieren Jack was something to do with NSW zones iirc so not a true rookie as such. Not sure though if he would have only been a rookie though anyway which may have been the case

Don't think there's a f/s rule for kids who's old man played rugby league but I'm sure the AFL are working on it if it helps their golden child in western Sydney

I think our rookie list should be

Petrie or McInnes - one of them is needed up forward more than anything if JK goes down to straighten us up.
Snadden - have no idea, but if he's shown somethign then another year

Tunners - drop him already, he's never going to make it

That would mean 2 spots are filled, leaving 3 to fill.

I'm coming around to accepting Petrie on the list and if McInnes is going else where my guess is to Nth Melb or Hawks ..
If it is as straight forward as you say of McInnes out and Petrie in, then it is more palatable, not tasty but in the scheme of things OK

I think our rookie list should be

Petrie or McInnes - one of them is needed up forward more than anything if JK goes down to straighten us up.
Snadden - have no idea, but if he's shown somethign then another year

Tunners - drop him already, he's never going to make it

That would mean 2 spots are filled, leaving 3 to fill.
Liam Ryan,bailey banfield and one of olango or goddard

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

West-Coast%E2%80%99s-Fraser-McInnes-likely-done-for-the-season.jpg

so many haters

West-Coast%E2%80%99s-Fraser-McInnes-likely-done-for-the-season.jpg

so many haters
I understand why we are going to rookie list him due to his contract situation

I don't understand why if he's still on the list we take Petrie

At least there's some small hope that McInnes can recapture and build on the form he showed in 2015 when Darling was injured. He regressed badly in 2016 though

Dahlhaus
Picken
Johanissen
K Jack (father son?)
Papley
J Lloyd
N Smith
Rampe
Jong?

Exactly, and how many of them were recycled off other lists? Only Rampe, who was rated at the Swans and Dogs poached him.

We are fixated on taking players off other lists who were highly rated at some point but proven to be duds. Or retaining players from our list who have shown nothing and turn out to be duds.

At least there's some small hope that McInnes can recapture and build on the form he showed in 2015 when Darling was injured. He regressed badly in 2016 though
Whatever happens there's absolutely no reason to have both of them on our list

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

If it is as straight forward as you say of McInnes out and Petrie in, then it is more palatable, not tasty but in the scheme of things OK

Just more hopeful than anything , going on the rumour McInnes may be picked and put my 2cents worth in but it sounds logical that Rawlings knows something and is super keen to add Petrie or is he just guaranteeing a mate a future after footy with a coaching gig ?

Anyway I'm Super happy with our inclusions to the squad that I'm willing to support their love affair with getting Petrie even if McInnes stays though ..

Exactly, and how many of them were recycled off other lists? Only Rampe, who was rated at the Swans and Dogs poached him.

We are fixated on taking players off other lists who were highly rated at some point but proven to be duds. Or retaining players from our list who have shown nothing and turn out to be duds.
Seems like we rookie more for depth than trying to develop a hidden gem.

Taking Petrie to the rookie list is an awful idea regardless of Fraser.

Fraser has got a guaranteed 1 year at least to try and sort his shit out. I fear he just doesn't have the mongrel required to succeed but also believe the club have botched his development.

I'm not really au fait with journalistic terminology. Is a fange the same as a shitload?

Disagree on Tunbridge and McInnes. Thought McInnes offered a reasonable forward target in the few games he played in 2015. Tunbridge has shown ability but his career so far has been ruined by injury. Not the fashionable views but they are mine. McInnes has been hampered by serious injuries also.

List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft