BothJye Bolton vs Jake Barrett?

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
BothJye Bolton vs Jake Barrett?
And build some midfield depth. Competition for spots there could see Yeo & Masten with some consistency.Both
In what way?I heard the Eagles interviewed Zac Fisher. Didn't go that well apparently.
In what way?
Sign him upWent out the night before the interview. Eagles rocked up in the morning and he was passed out.
Sounds like a perfect fit for FreoSign him up
Went out the night before the interview. Eagles rocked up in the morning and he was passed out.
Pick 13 - West Coast. Sam Powell - Pepper. 186 cm 83 kg. East Perth.
I have been keeping a close eye on "The Shaker" for some time now and he keeps impressing me.
First and foremost he is a footballers footballer, he has a hunger for the contest and revels in the one on one challenges of winning the hard ball. He loves the physicality of the game and in fact seeks it out.
He possesses a few old fashion traits that I still value highly in assessing talent and the most important of them is that he hates losing. His efforts in the East Perth Colts Grand Final against the highly fancied Claremont side were inspirational as he went about willing his team on at every step, even in the face of overwhelming odds , simply put he lead by example, gathering 22 possessions , 7 tackles and hitting the score board with 4 goals 1 point. He never gave up.... he never does.
As far as his suitability for West Coast : He brings to the list several traits that we are in need of.
His intensity and ability to hit the contest at speed with velocity is one of them as is his ability to run and carry, The Shaker spreads the field and he is a genuine 70 meter player. Some of his running dashes are reminiscent of Peter Matera in full flight. He is also an inside / outside player and his tackle counts are high.
He has some points of difference that are also appealing.
Agility.
Speed.
Endurance.
Raw Agression.
Great athlete. Check out his Combine results.
Even better footballer.
There are also some other part to his make up that impress me as as West Coast supporter.
He bleeds Blue and Yellow and barracks for the Eagles.
Zero go home factor he would be an Eagle for life.
He does have positional versatility as he can play half forward, through the midfield and half back.
Sure he does have his flaws and his kicking on the run needs some more work. Having said that his kicking in 2016 has been much improved over his 2015 production.
Much of his kicking shortcomings are more to do with composure as he often has a tendency to rush his kicks, thats partly due to his bull at a gate approach. He needs to use his blistering pace in measured amounts and after he has gained separation on the run he needs to take a few steps to steady before he kicks. Thats something that can be both taught and learnt.
There is another aspect of The Shakers development that has scored well with me.
I loved that he has had good production in the Colts and WA teams over two seasons.
I have mentioned this in previous years and I will do so again. The kids who go back to their local WAFL and SANFL sides and play at at higher level and hold their own tend to make it at the AFL level.
Sam after the championships played a few Colts games and then got up graded to the East Perth Reserves for three games after which he was elevated to the League for the last five games of the regular season where he didn't look out of place. In fact he looked very comfortable at that grade.
He then in the finals played in the Colts and the benefit of having played at a higher level was evident as he took his finals games in the Colts to a higher level.
There is a lot of improvement in this kid.
That to me is indicative of a someone with a high ceiling and a passion to learn his craft.
His progression over the last two seasons cant be ignored and in fact demands some respect.
He has his detractors who point out with regular monotony the fact that he is not an elite kick, however the detractors rarely comment on what he does exceedingly well. He has a real point of difference.
When you concentrate on what he does well and don't become so preoccupied with what he needs to work on, then its pretty hard to not be excited by what he could become.
Who does he remind me of: Dustin Martin comes to mind .
Others I considered were : Florant and to a lesser extent Venables .
Also I was tempted to bid on Harrison Perryman who I am a real fan of, but I knew that GWS would match that bid.
In the end the Home Grown Talent was simply to hard to pass up on.
Thunderstruck your up mate.
I heard the Eagles interviewed Zac Fisher. Didn't go that well apparently.
Where is he projected to go?Nice try.......as your Club is pretty keen on him.
Sounds like a ploy to get him to drop.I heard the Eagles interviewed Zac Fisher. Didn't go that well apparently.
Where is he projected to go?
He's still a big unit tho. whats he 188cm 84kgs?, i guess thats what you would call a big bodied mid and he probably grow a few cm's. I saw a picture of him last preseason standing next to wellingham at training and he looked big than wellers.Good question.
Carlton have shown interest at 25.
Thats a tad early for me.
He sits in the middle to late second round IMO.
Depending on who else is available at our pick he is not with out a chance for us.
This is the time of year when character checks and past coaches screening info are sought out by recruiting Dept's .
Here is the thing if he was 5 cm taller and 6 kg heavier then he would be sitting at the top of the second.... maybe late in the first.
Thats the dilemma do you recruit just on size or talent..... becomes a harder decision the smaller they are.
Good call and good enough for me to pass should there be someone better available... especially in the deep draft!!!Good question.
Carlton have shown interest at 25.
Thats a tad early for me.
He sits in the middle to late second round IMO.
Depending on who else is available at our pick he is not with out a chance for us.
This is the time of year when character checks and past coaches screening info are sought out by recruiting Dept's .
Here is the thing if he was 5 cm taller and 6 kg heavier then he would be sitting at the top of the second.... maybe late in the first.
Thats the dilemma do you recruit just on size or talent..... becomes a harder decision the smaller they are.
There's a segment on tomorrow night on either channel 7 news or today tonight on the pepper shaker FYI
If your are talking about fisher he's a midget 175cm and be lucky to be 80 kgHe's still a big unit tho. whats he 188cm 84kgs?, i guess thats what you would call a big bodied mid and he probably grow a few cm's. I saw a picture of him last preseason standing next to wellingham at training and he looked big than wellers.
Looked like bikham yoga to me if so. That's pretty impressive pre draft preparation. SPP really wants to make his mark on footy will be an absolute gun in the makingYeah its something about him doing Yoga or some shit.
He's still a big unit tho. whats he 188cm 84kgs?, i guess thats what you would call a big bodied mid and he probably grow a few cm's. I saw a picture of him last preseason standing next to wellingham at training and he looked big than wellers.
oops, thought he was talking bout SPP. In that case i agree with monocle. I have a feeling he could be a another neale. Theres plenty of guys around his size doing well. The fact that he is such a good contested ball winner and good run and carry player is a positive for me. Could be a nice gem around our second.If your are talking about fisher he's a midget 175cm and be lucky to be 80 kg
i thought you were talking about spp. My mistake.Hardly ........ Fisher is 175 cm and 61 kg .
avishka5 provided he didn't run I think even you have him covered.![]()
Neale would be the pipe dream. Neale was 79kg entering draft year always has being a absolute nugget. Fisher has some serious 45 mins to gain to be able to physically compete IMO. Not writing him off like him a lot and certainly has production I just don't trust our development team to get the best out of himoops, thought he was talking bout SPP. In that case i agree with monocle. I have a feeling he could be a another neale. Theres plenty of guys around his size doing well. The fact that he is such a good contested ball winner and good run and carry player is a positive for me. Could be a nice gem around our second.
True but i think Fisher has already shown he can play against bigger bodied. Im not expecting him to play in his first or second year.Neale would be the pipe dream. Neale was 79kg entering draft year always has being a absolute nugget. Fisher has some serious 45 mins to gain to be able to physically compete IMO. Not writing him off like him a lot and certainly has production I just don't trust our development team to get the best out of him
tbh i want him to be a bit of a flog and hated by opposition. Shuey is probably the only one that gets opposition hate but thats not for his aggression.Looked like bikham yoga to me if so. That's pretty impressive pre draft preparation. SPP really wants to make his mark on footy will be an absolute gun in the making
SPP defo has campaigner about him don't worry about that.True but i think Fisher has already shown he can play against bigger bodied. Im not expecting him to play in his first or second year.
tbh i want him to be a bit of a flog and hated by opposition. Shuey is probably the only one that gets opposition hate but thats not for his aggression.