List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft

Only positive i see with Petrie is we wont draft English. Petrie, Vardy, Giles, Lycett & Mcinnes ( as a rookie) is surely enough cover for next year?

I actually read it the opposite. If we miss out on English we'd be more likely to pick up a Cameron type later on in the draft, who would be ready to play straight away if necessary.

If we pick up English, he'd be unlikely to be ready to play for a year (or more likely a couple). Petrie provides cover for the year till NN is back and English develops.

I don't agree with it btw, just the way I'm reading it.

Gotta say I'm not really seeing anything too special about him. Masten junior.

That is one of the most ridiculous things you have posted in quite some time.

Gallucci is fast, a line breaker, with good foot skills who kicks goals and accumulates a fair bit of footy.

Masten is a plodder, gets tackled more than any other player in the AFL and can't kick a goal if he's more than 25m away from goal.

They are nothing alike. Gullucci has hurt factor and Masten hurts Eagles supporters eyes as they watch him play.

"He thrives on pressure" - Hopefully that quote rings true if we draft him, we certainly need this kind of character.

Obviously this is a bit of a puff piece but I wouldn't be disappointed with him. He breaks lines and, importantly, kicks goals. We desperately need more of this from the midfield, as only Shuey does these things consistently. JG also sounds like he could have an impact straight away as a small/half forward.

The more I see and read about Gallucci the more I can see why the club is interested.

I did like hearing he did martial arts growing up. He has a very good leap and can take a grab, break away from packs with pace, kicks well and scores goals.

The negativity on here about the kid is to be honest strange.

It would be nice if he was bigger though.

Then again I would be surprised if we went for a tall forward with our first pick.

Heard a month ago on Sports radio 91.3fm that Petrie would be an Eagle ....i thought the commentator was grandstanding but I reckon Petrie is going to be an Eagle .

FWIW he seems a good man and will be a good for our young squad ....Ron Andrews nephew is Drew Petrie so a bit of toughness around the group could help .

That is one of the most ridiculous things you have posted in quite some time.

Gallucci is fast, a line breaker, with good foot skills who kicks goals and accumulates a fair bit of footy.

Masten is a plodder, gets tackled more than any other player in the AFL and can't kick a goal if he's more than 25m away from goal.

They are nothing alike. Gullucci has hurt factor and Masten hurts Eagles supporters eyes as they watch him play.
How do you think Masten was described when he was about to be drafted? Here's a sample:

Rovers tend not to go too early but Masten is simply too good to pass on. Might not be as sharp as Murphy or as dynamic as McLean but deserves to be in that same sort of early pick company. Pace is OK, wins huge amounts of the ball in tight, uses it well and brings teammates into the game. Can flat-out play and clubs will regret getting too clever and letting him slide.
Masten has now won 55 disposals in two matches, after racking up 29 touches against Vic Country in yet another outstanding performance. A highly touted prospect come November, his run through the middle was again on show for the Sandgropers.

Masten runs opponents off their feet. His athletic background comes to the fore and he just grinds away. He finished up with massive possessions. He worked closely with his teammate Palmer in the stoppages and it was interesting to see Masten working in tendem with Palmer, who was getting tagged. He tried to give his teammate a free run at the footy.

This one is hilarious
Masto is the ball magnet that was Haselby but with real pace. 15.8 beep test, excellent hands and a work ethic that makes him the gut runner that this club of softies needs.

Chris Masten – 180cm, 78kg – East Fremantle. A genuine in and under rover who can run all day and is very good at getting his team mates into the game. His skills are very good and creative on both sides of his body and knows how to block for his mates in the middle. He isn’t a jet as far as pace goes but his vision and composure make up for that. Finds plenty of the footy and is very good at the stoppages and clearances. He has had a pretty consistent year playing mainly in the seniors for East Fremantle in the WAFL. Had an excellent under 18 championship series where he was captain of WA and really delivered on field with his work rate and one precenters. Played really consistent footy over four quarters in all three champ matches. Work rate is very good. Doesn’t mind going forward and kicking a goal

I'll say it again, Masten Junior

How do you think Masten was described when he was about to be drafted? Here's a sample:

Rovers tend not to go too early but Masten is simply too good to pass on. Might not be as sharp as Murphy or as dynamic as McLean but deserves to be in that same sort of early pick company. Pace is OK, wins huge amounts of the ball in tight, uses it well and brings teammates into the game. Can flat-out play and clubs will regret getting too clever and letting him slide.
Masten has now won 55 disposals in two matches, after racking up 29 touches against Vic Country in yet another outstanding performance. A highly touted prospect come November, his run through the middle was again on show for the Sandgropers.

Masten runs opponents off their feet. His athletic background comes to the fore and he just grinds away. He finished up with massive possessions. He worked closely with his teammate Palmer in the stoppages and it was interesting to see Masten working in tendem with Palmer, who was getting tagged. He tried to give his teammate a free run at the footy.

This one is hilarious
Masto is the ball magnet that was Haselby but with real pace. 15.8 beep test, excellent hands and a work ethic that makes him the gut runner that this club of softies needs.

Chris Masten – 180cm, 78kg – East Fremantle. A genuine in and under rover who can run all day and is very good at getting his team mates into the game. His skills are very good and creative on both sides of his body and knows how to block for his mates in the middle. He isn’t a jet as far as pace goes but his vision and composure make up for that. Finds plenty of the footy and is very good at the stoppages and clearances. He has had a pretty consistent year playing mainly in the seniors for East Fremantle in the WAFL. Had an excellent under 18 championship series where he was captain of WA and really delivered on field with his work rate and one precenters. Played really consistent footy over four quarters in all three champ matches. Work rate is very good. Doesn’t mind going forward and kicking a goal

I'll say it again, Masten Junior
Pace ok
Wins ball in tight
Runs opponents off their feet
Played real consistent footy
Work rate is good
He grinds away
Isn't a jet in terms of pace

That's sounds vanilla and nothing like Gellucci to me...

Pace ok
Wins ball in tight
Runs opponents off their feet
Played real consistent footy
Work rate is good
He grinds away
Isn't a jet in terms of pace

That's sounds vanilla and nothing like Gellucci to me...
Good skills, wins plenty of the ball, doesn't mind going forward and kicking a goal. Apart from the pace & line breaking that's how Obeanie described Gallucci

Yeah but you can pick two out of three attributes and about 80% of players drafted in the last decade fit that description.

Everyone calm the **** down, Scrimshaw will save us on friday night.

Gadouche smells.

He's one i dont want, dont see the midfield potential with him.
I saw it with Bont didn't see it with Tom Lamb and dont see it with Scrimshaw
He seems more outside and avoids the tough stuff.
Lovely kick and nice mover in traffic, honestly reminds me of Vojo Rainbow.
He's one i think will be a bust.
Thank god GC are into him big time.

Recent history has not been favourable with indigenous talent heading out of WA. 2 Garletts (Suns and Hawks), Pickett (GWS although he is with Carlton so not back home), Bennell (Suns), Yarran (Blues/Tigers) - a trail of great talent coming from WA and not delivering as promised.

I wonder if that will do anything to dampen enthusiasm for us with local talent?

If what I hear is right, Bolton responded at some interviews that he is unsure how he will go interstate and there are a couple of clubs a little concerned. Don't think it will have enough of an impact to make SPS available at 12 nor SPP available at 34 but you never know.

I think that was clubs like brisbane and port heard he was more confident about vic based clubs
Would prefer to stay in WA though

Freo are in a great spot at pick 7 should be some good choices available ..

With Lurch 34 and Griffin and Clarke both being shite Freo would be dumb not to get English.

So pretty much expect them to not draft him.

He's one i dont want, dont see the midfield potential with him.
I saw it with Bont didn't see it with Tom Lamb and dont see it with Scrimshaw
He seems more outside and avoids the tough stuff.
Lovely kick and nice mover in traffic, honestly reminds me of Vojo Rainbow.
He's one i think will be a bust.
Thank god GC are into him big time.
What do you think of Gallucci RE?

i would love him as a mid 20's to 30 pick.
Good speed takes the game on is very attacking, doesn't have a great defensive side to his game.
Can take a good mark, outside winger and HFF, dont see him as a inside option.
Kicking was much better last year than this year, it fell away this year.
He's exciting type, would rather a crumbing small forward than a outside mid like him.
Doesn't really fit our needs though.

i would love him as a mid 20's to 30 pick.
Good speed takes the game on is very attacking, doesn't have a great defensive side to his game.
Can take a good mark, outside winger and HFF, dont see him as a inside option.
Kicking was much better last year than this year, it fell away this year.
He's exciting type, would rather a crumbing small forward than a outside mid like him.
Doesn't really fit our needs though.
Thanks mate, your input is always appreciated.

As well as

Exceptionally quick
Best leap, ever
Good hands up forward
Elite at breaking away from stoppages
Impact the contest on the outside

5 things Masten was never talked up as being able to do

List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft