List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft

Thoughts on Todd Marshall for our first pick?
Mentioned by a couple of mock drafts as a pick for us.
Has a few posters knocking him for lack of output especially in finals for the TAC.
Highlight reel on AFL looks pretty good. Not a beast but tall , mobile, good below knees, but apparently poor endurance.
Lots of good qualities and the bad all appear fixable.
Fits in with Rawlings comments re looking for a tall in the draft.
Mods please ban this guy :)

It's strange, even though we seem to have absolutely no indication from the club on who we are taking, that the closer we get to the draft it becomes less and less likely that we will pick SPP up.
I would hazard a guess that recruiters don't rate his skills highly. Hopefully he slides to our second.

Dylan Clarke 187 cm 85 kg is a tough inside extractor who runs all day racking up big numbers he is a slightly different player to his brother Ryan.
He averaged 24 possessions in the Champs half of which were contested.
He is a footballers footballer that keeps running all day and competes when the ball is in dispute.
If you want some one to get the hard ball out of the contest then he is second only to Brodie in this years cohort.
Obviously I am a fan as I love his work in tight and his quick hands to get the ball out and moving forward.
Kid has a massive tank and also runs and presents on the outside, he ticks lots of boxes.

I think he sounds alright as an inside mid to replace Priddis in a year or two.

If we went Clarke with our 2nd why would we go Berry with our 1st, very similar types.

Bolton with our 1st and Clarke with our 2nd sounds like a better spread of player type.

One small forward/ mid and one big inside mid.

Waterman as a 3rd tall with our 3rd and a young project ruck / forward with our 4th and we have a nice group of different size players.

It's not even as if SPP has any character problems. From what I've seen and read he's a decent kid

I still fail to see what it is about him that ranks him significantly below the Victorian boys we seem to be considering

Here is the thing for me Keys.

I keep wondering this :

Just what is it that has made The Club want to dismiss him at our first pick..... thats the bit that we obviously don't know!!!!

He has been right under our noses at East Perth and he has been line coached and closely watched by Nicoski, Selwood and Graham so what the hell is it that has put us off him for our first.

I don't F****** know .

So the mind keeps trying to guess WTF could it be :

Attitude ?
Coach ability ?
Cant follow instructions ?
Low Footy IQ ?

There has to be some reason but I am buggered if I can work out what it is . :huh: `\_0_/`

I just a read a profile on Berry and the very first thing it says is that he is 'an outstanding character', not saying that is bad and I still wouldn't mind him, but that just screams West Coast pick.
Its like fat chicks that have ' nice personalities'

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

I keep wondering this :

Just what is it that has made The Club want to dismiss him at our first pick..... thats the bit that we obviously don't know!!!!

He has been right under our noses at East Perth and he has been line coached and closely watched by Nicoski, Selwood and Graham so what the hell is it that has put us off him for our first.

I don't F****** know .

Attitude ?
Coach ability ?
Low Footy IQ ?

There has to be some reason but I am buggered if I can work out what it is . :huh: `\_0_/`

Maybe by playing for us / training with us we know all of his faults in minute detail.

But the other prospects we don't know their faults in every detail, we know their strengths and their deficiencies but not to the same detail.

It's like an employee v a external applicant. They sell all the positives and you know everything about the person you already work with.

I think the club rates SPP just not enough for 12. He seems to be around 25/26 in every phantom draft. The knocks on him would probably be disposal and output.

Then develop him.

I keep wondering this :

I don't F****** know .

Attitude ?
Coach ability ?
Low Footy IQ ?

But as I understand it we've said we'd take him with our 2nd if he's still available so whatever flaws the club thinks he has aren't deal breakers

Like you I don't see the reasoning in putting a line through him

Maybe, just maybe, we're aware of how much he wants to play with us so we've told him we won't take him at 12 to temper his expectations in case there's a surprise slider like say Taranto or Petrevski-Seton.

But that's me clutching at straws

I think he sounds alright as an inside mid to replace Priddis in a year or two.

Much different player to Priddis in that he cover a lot more ground and he can actually play as an outside mid as well, no where near as slow as Ploddus '

If we went Clarke with our 2nd why would we go Berry with our 1st, very similar types

Similar in the position they play but they do it very differently Clarke gets out to someone who moves it forward where as Berry can burst through a pack as well and his run and carry is much better.

Bolton with our 1st and Clarke with our 2nd sounds like a better spread of player type.

Yep. I don't mind that combination at all.

Waterman as a 3rd tall with our 3rd and a young project ruck / forward with our 4th and we have a nice group of different size players.

Agree with this, Waterman and a Young Ruck for me Cameron , Goddard or Darcy would be a lovely draft.

I'd be happy with SPP at pick 12 but it wont happen. Now I'm no draft guru but I reckon there's a good chance he lasts till our second round pick.
I think we have it sorted. The social media posts, the vibe etc

Is Berry even a mid?

Getting really, really concerned we're making a bad choice here. A solid footballer and 'great young man' again.

Yay.

A casual look at our depth chart would show that defenders is where our list is currently lightest. Actually makes good sense to be recruiting Berry (A 191cm defender that can play midfield) if North don't take him. List managers have to take the long view as well as the short one. Hurn turns 30 next year and Wellingham turns 29.

Part of the uncertainty this year I think is that it's so even that no one really knows who is going where.

Any one of Brodie, Scrimshaw, Logue etc could be sliding so I'd hazard a guess that most teams will be in the dark until draft day.

A casual look at our depth chart would show that defenders is where our list is currently lightest. Actually makes good sense to be recruiting Berry (A 191cm defender that can play midfield) if North don't take him. List managers have to take the long view as well as the short one. Hurn turns 30 next year and Wellingham turns 29.
Push Yeo back there.

Mate, by all means take defenders with later picks. Pick 12 (14) gives us a shot at an elite talent and we'd be really stupid not to target the midfield in that regard.

Push Yeo back there.

Mate, by all means take defenders with later picks. Pick 12 (14) gives us a shot at an elite talent and we'd be really stupid not to target the midfield in that regard.
Or Cole, or Nelson can play back there. You'd have to be mad to specifically draft a medium defender with the view to play him there at pick 12 with the amount of good midfield talent in this draft. Then again we are still considering Petrie so maybe Rawlings & co have lost the plot.

Still have Yeo, Cole and Nelson to play in the backline if needed. Plus it sounds like Rotham is being considered for our 2nd.

Midfield is clearly our weakest and most frustrating problem. It needs to be prioritized. Some testicles also wouldn't be a bad thing either. No homo.