List Mgmt. 2016 AFL Draft

Firstly I wouldn't ever say that about Fyfe and Danger. Lets be honest the last 3 Brownlow Medalists haven't been strong with disposal efficienct when you include Priddis as well.

I wouldn't say it's a crock of shit either but. Hawks won 3 flags by having good kicks and have been competitive for many years because they have good outside kickers on there list, heck we even recruited the human glass window Xavier Ellis with a big tick on his disposal efficiency when playing seniors.

Winning contests is where the runs stack up for Powell Pepper over Berry I agree, he is Martin like at the contest with his powerful body and ability to fend off.

I'm not looking to start WW3 if we go with Powell Pepper over Berry, its if that pick becomes a project tall like Marshall or English than I will fair dinkum spew up.
IMO hawthorns dominance being due to players with immaculate foot skills is hugely overstated.

IMO it's due to a combination of very good coaching/zone structures, leadership and a handful of good ball users. A lot of grunts in the Hawthorn midfield that did the heavy lifting and Ellis was no Dean Kemp skillswise himself (another big misconception).

I would like to see stats relating to Hawthorn's DE% compared with other clubs and the correlation with finals dominance.

Plus Berry doesn't appear to be a very good kick anyway.

Anyway I've had a few beers and am starting to dribble shit. Will check back in on this thread post-draft

To all the recruiting staff of other clubs who are reading this.

I saw Sam Powell Pepper hanging out with Benny Cuz and by hanging out i mean drinking coke then eating the ice.

To all the recruiting staff of other clubs who are reading this.

I saw Sam Powell Pepper hanging out with Benny Cuz and by hanging out i mean drinking coke then eating the ice.

Can confirm story as I saw it also but Here2tellyouwhy neglected to mention that they were also seen exiting a tent at Rotto with a babe. ;)

What time does the draft start ?

Depends how long the "AFL Plonkers" prattle on for but to answer the question..... names should start coming off the board about 4:00 pm WA time.

I don't totally understand the reason for Berry. He's got a lot of Tunbridge or Sheppard about him in that i don't see him having too many natural midfield abilities either inside with clean hands or the ability to accumulate on the outside. He's not suitable on ball.

In this respect SPP has Berry covered by some distance.
What's your call mate?

Oh boy, sounds like this will end up like Ebert- Dangerfield thing with Adelaide fans.

Expect a lot of hate on the radio from a lot of people who haven't seen berry or SPP play.

b88118821z.1_20160331204648_000_go3gph1s.2_1-1bfq7f9.jpg

epa_usa_new_york_nba_draft_74078844.jpg

hqdefault.jpg

Oh boy, sounds like this will end up like Ebert- Dangerfield thing with Adelaide fans.

Expect a lot of hate on the radio from a lot of people who haven't seen berry or SPP play.

I'll be on the blower to 6PR at night with Karl and Hardie if there is no Berry.

What's the Ebert-Dangerfield thing?

Crows from years ago when Adelaide drafted Danger over Ebert i presume. Caused a sook from Crows fans when they didn't go local and drafted the guy who was still finishing year 12 in his first AFL year

Doesn't seem to matter who we draft tomorrow night, if its not SPP, he is instantly and always going to be carrying the cross and stigma of the kid who took "The Shakers" spot on our list.

God help him as who ever he is , he has already become a whipping boy. :eek: And we haven't even drafted him yet.

Welcome to West Coast .... oh by the way the fans hate you....... because your not SPP.

I just hope the vent is addressed to O'Brien and Nisbett and not to the kid who has the misfortune to be taken instead of SPP.
gotta say this is one thing im disliking about this thread. i mean imagine you're berry, you see a bunch of phantoms and see your named linked to eagles everywhere. And then you gander down to BF west coast page and have a look... :drunk:

Obviously they get training on social media etc, but still, that unrealistic scenario aside, the vibe here sucks :D

tomorrow going to be interesting :$

I can not see the club loading up with more young developing mids. The club is already investing in the likes of Snadden, Parto, Nelson, Mutimer, Duggan to elevate their game and put pressure on senior spots. Lets not forget Redden who is only 26 and should be around for awhile (only if he pulls his finger out and plays the good football he did at the Lions). I think the club has a more pressing need for a dynamic forward type given an aging Lecras, Hill and JK. I also think the club might also want a genuine 3rd ruck so they can have some safe stock in 3-4 years as NN gets closer to retirement. So don't be disappointed if English features early.

Doesn't seem to matter who we draft tomorrow night, if its not SPP, he is instantly and always going to be carrying the cross and stigma of the kid who took "The Shakers" spot on our list.

God help him as who ever he is , he has already become a whipping boy. :eek: And we haven't even drafted him yet.

Welcome to West Coast .... oh by the way the fans hate you....... because your not SPP.

I just hope the vent is addressed to O'Brien and Nisbett and not to the kid who has the misfortune to be taken instead of SPP.

We are WCE fans. We would rather be right than have someone we don't want succeed.

Life is too short. Not like berry is a pick from nowhere.

But I do have concerns if SPP has issues handballing. For an inside mid who can't handball well are not good signs. Not sure how much one can improve handballing well whilst in traffic. Him bursting out isn't going to last long, opposition will shut that shit down.

Only going by what I have read. Best case for SPP so far has been that he is west Australian and has pace. Have not seen him play.

Berry is a good pick for us imo.

Take SPP out of the equation for a second and consider the following.

We've been calling out for tall, athletic midfield prospects for years on this board. Since the 2015 Grand Final (or even before) we've been calling out for better on-field leadership. Then someone like Berry appears in front of us and we complain because he hasn't played enough midfield and hasn't picked up enough touches this year?

Do you know what they call tall, athletic full time midfielders with leadership skills, U18 AA and AFL Academy pedigree and stellar draft-year seasons? Number one picks.
We're picking at 13-15 tomorrow. We shouldn't be expecting perfect or vaguely near-perfect prospects in that range. The only reason that we may have the opportunity to pick Berry is that he's had a middling draft year (on account of injuries and patchy form) and his best position isn't fully settled. Take away either of those issues and he's firmly a top 10, if not top 5 pick.

As far as the output goes, I agree that he didn't get as much ball as we'd like this year, but I think the criticism is a bit over the top.
  • Firstly, while his average of 12 touches per game in the U18s doesn't sound good, it should be put in proper context: it's s sample size of three games and U18 players average a lot less touches than their AFL counterparts. For example, in game 1, only 10 of Vic Country's 23 players hit double digits. The whole team only averaged just over 250 touches in each of those games.
  • Secondly, in 2015 he was top 5 in Vic Country's disposal getters in 5 out of their 6 games on his way to AA honours. Not bad for a bottom ager in one of the best U18 teams in history.
  • He averaged 17 touches a game at TAC cup level this season, rotating between half back, midfield and the forward line.
In terms of position, I'm not the least bit concerned. Fyfe was predominantly a marking half forward pre-draft. Dangerfield started out as a back pocket. Bontempelli a utility. If the club drafts him with the intention of developing him as a midfielder (and I suspect that would be the intention), then I'm happy for them to do that. We aren't talking about turning Mitch Brown into a small forward, we're talking about a player who has always rotated through the middle and is known for his attack on the ball. And realistically, how many of our young midfielders even get a decent chance in the middle in their first couple of years?

In any case, Berry describes himself as a midfielder and as recently as June, Cal Twomey said:
Jarrod Berry
Midfielder/half-back

With his height, agility and strength, Berry is best as an inside midfielder who finds the ball and bursts away. He can also push forward to create an awkward match-up near goal or play across centre-half back, and has shown his leadership qualities over the past couple of years. Berry is one of a number of players in the mix as No.1 pick contenders.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-06-02/u18s-20-young-guns-to-watch-this-year

Now for the big, Dustin Martin shaped elephant in the room. I'm happy to disagree with the club on philosophy and strategy - if we drafted English I would disagree with the strategy and philosophy of picking a ruckman - but in terms of strictly evaluating talent, I don't have the time, access, resources or experience to put my hand on my heart and say that I know better. We're really talking about two fairly similar prospects - two HBF/MID/HFF players with excellent size and athleticism but fairly average output and disposal. It appears that the club has been keeping close tabs on both, and if they believe that Berry is a better prospect than SPP or vice versa, I'm prepared to support that decision.

Look I don't think we can really lose with either at this stage. I think we can all agree that we need midfield prospects that have the potential to be genuine A-grade talent. I think both Berry and SPP fit that bill, so I'm happy with either (and for that matter, Brodie).

I can not see the club loading up with more young developing mids. The club is already investing in the likes of Snadden, Parto, Nelson, Mutimer, Duggan to elevate their game and put pressure on senior spots. Lets not forget Redden who is only 26 and should be around for awhile (only if he pulls his finger out and plays the good football he did at the Lions). I think the club has a more pressing need for a dynamic forward type given an aging Lecras, Hill and JK. I also think the club might also want a genuine 3rd ruck so they can have some safe stock in 3-4 years as NN gets closer to retirement. So don't be disappointed if English features early.
That's a pretty uninspiring list of names.

Snadden is a rookie and a long shot to make it.

Parto played well at the end of last season but doesn't have any standout traits.

Nelson will either be a tagger or a HBFer.

Mutimer was a late pick and a medium-long shot to make it.

Duggan could barely touch the ball at WAFL-level last year. Still easily our best young prospect if he puts it all together.

Sheed should rate a mention.

Redden is a fraud.

I'll be on the blower to 6PR at night with Karl and Hardie if there is no Berry.
Think Berry will be a good pick up at 14. Has a bit of Beau Waters about him and is as tough as they come
Was touted as a top 5 pick at the end of last season when he achieved All Australian status as a bottom ager.
Was even suggested he might end up as the number 1 pick.
Injury cruelled his 2016 season
The only problem I see is after two seasons of Lamb jokes we could be lumbered with a another two of juice jokes.