Analysis 2016 AFL Fixture

It's there to prevent en masse resting like this year, but to have a break before finals and then winning your QF would make you a tad soft in the PF.

It's a stupid knee jerk reaction designed around something clubs have done for 100 years. It is no good for top 4 teams and I once thought finals were what it is all about? Not according to the AFL

It's there to prevent en masse resting like this year, but to have a break before finals and then winning your QF would make you a tad soft in the PF.
Yes, I like the bye before the finals as it will stop all this resting players bullshit, aka the purples and Norf. 3 games at the G too, we got our wish there. Hard end to the season though, which in one way is a good thing ... Toughen the boys up before the finals. I am happy with the draw.

Given we have a couple of games in Sydney now and a couple of MCG games, I will get an interstate membership for myself. Anyone know where the opposition members usually get seated at the SCG and MCG?

Cant believe we dont have a game in Melb for Good Beer Week. Now Im just gonna have to drink beer!!

Not phased about 6 day breaks. Simmo is on record at highlighting those trips early and adjusting the load. We beat Richmond at the G off the back of 2 x 6 day breaks.

Yes, I like the bye before the finals as it will stop all this resting players bullshit, aka the purples and Norf. 3 games at the G too, we got our wish there. Hard end to the season though, which in one way is a good thing ... Toughen the boys up before the finals. I am happy with the draw.

Yep, the resting players thing made for shit footy. That Richmond/Norf Rd23 game was one of the worst I can ever remember watching. Can't say I'm surprised that the AFL are willing to sacrifice the advantage for finalists if it means protecting the spectacle of the game. Now let's see if it actually works.

Do you think we can't achieve this?
Easily identified as the toughest stretch of our season, but certainly achievable. Get through that with only one or two losses and it goes a long way towards a top two finish.
We'll need some luck to go our way too, i.e we can't have the same disasterous run of early season injuries like we did this year...

A decent fixture considering we finished second. 2 Fri night games and a Thurs game, 3 trips to the G. I'm not too phased about who we play twice and whether its home or away etc given we beat everyone last year and we don't have to play in any shitty places like Tassie.

And the 6 day breaks... correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't we play pretty bloody good on 6 day breaks last year? Anyone got stats?

My main fixturing request has been granted. More games at the G although I'm surprised to see no away game against Richmond scheduled
No trips to Tassie although one to the icebox at Skilled
Back to back home games after the bye.

As for the bye between round 23 and finals I'm unfazed by that and obviously a bit of a knee jerk reaction after mass rotations that happened this year (happens every year anyway, not just this year). Will just mean to long a break with no footy

Now I just gotta map out which weekend is the footy weekend in Melbourne

If we're 6-1 after 7 rounds i think we'd go close to or better than a 19-3 season.
And this is completely possible is it not?

Or did we overachieve in 2015?

Or did we indeed have a "Soft" draw?

Plenty of naysayers and doomsday type supporters that will quickly say we can't achieve a 6-1 start, I'd like to hear some thoughts on how we can actually smash this fixture to smitherens and go one better in 2016.

Pretty simple, good draw or bad draw however you look at it. Too many 6 day breaks and all, if we are good enough we win the tough games and build on what we did this year. I like the draw for the reason if we are to be contenders again we do it the tough way and earn our stripes.

8 six day breaks lol, well done afl you bunch of flogs

That's the standout for me. Absolutely ****ing brutal.

Our run of away games in the first half of the season is horrific. All top 8 contenders.
4 out of our last 5 games are away (albeit one of those is a derby).

The only real positive is 3 games at the 'G'. Overall the fixture has smashed us.

Cant believe we dont have a game in Melb for Good Beer Week. Now Im just gonna have to drink beer!!

Not phased about 6 day breaks. Simmo is on record at highlighting those trips early and adjusting the load. We beat Richmond at the G off the back of 2 x 6 day breaks.

I am more gutted that there is no obvious weekend to have a boys weekend in Melbourne - perhaps round 2 - though more towards the middle of the year is preferable

They all have away Friday night games - inc one in Hobart FFS

Analysis 2016 AFL Fixture