HAW v ADE · FRE v StK · RIC v ESS · NM v GCS · GEE v SYD · COL v WCE · PA v CAR · GWS v BL · WB v MEL ·
Weekend Wrap and "Liked, Learned, Hated" right here -- How did tipping go?
Soccer Notice Image
Champions League - FINAL - PSG v Arsenal ⚽ Europa Semis ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - SEMIS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ FA Cup - Man City Win
The Saints' 2nd should be enough for a goodun.What sort of Key Defender could we get if we traded our first pick? Option?
Forget about drafting a KPD. We desperately need a mature KPD.
I would not draft a key foward,howver i would wait for one to come out of contract or free agency.
What sort of Key Defender could we get if we traded our first pick? Option?
Usually it will be someone that is a need or one that I think will be around our pick. Will watch the championship games that I can and also trawl the Draft boards. Schache was a lock from early on last year and currently not sure. Look if Petrovski-Seton was to fall into our lap I would be pretty stoked but just from the game against Werribee I liked Powell-Pepper and also Brodie. Have been looking at Berry as one that might be around our pick as others have noted looks like one that can make the transition to the midfield. Early days yet though.Long year ahead mate but yeah it looks like he will go very early if not 1 then 2-4. Who is your favourite player in this years draft jjami15
Allison really is a hard one to gauge but as others have noted I can't see that comparison. Was watching Pies v Tiges and with Pendles playing back I can see Berry being a similar player, not sure where Pendles played in the Champs but a number of players who are mids have been flankers in the champs due to being a bit taller e.g. Heppell and Dangerfield.I think I read he's closer to a Pendlbury than an Isaac Smith.
Currently glaringly obvious as well. We have drafted a lot of talls in the last three so to add some midfield class is a must. Allison I feel at the moment will be similar to Keays as spoken up early but as the champs progress others will go past him mainly due to an increase in actual players who can be drafted whereas last year underagers are at a minimum.Listening to Steve Conole's draft wrap last year, he identified ruck, outside runner and midfield depth as draft targets. The unfortunate retirement of Clarke probably also means a tall defender is required.
The academy prospects he listed as potentials almost fit our needs to a tee:
Jacob Allison - tall utility who can provide run and long kicking
Jack Rolls - outside midfielder/halfback with great endurance and a neat kick
Declan Watson - tall defender who is an aggressive stopper with pace and decent skills
When you analyse the situation it would be comforting in the knowledge that 50% of your list is homegrown and not going to pull up stumps and leave. However the numbers of Qlders being drafted in the last 20yrs let alone stars or top players of the competition are more or less rare as hens teeth and I suppose that is when the club will be subjective with 'like for like' players and leaning towards the academy player. Hopefully with the introduction of the academy and elite programs we will see a greater influx of better players from qld coming into the competition.
Looking at the first round I thought it was great to see the return of the 'ruckman' and with the increase in free flowing footy contested ball will become even more important and also taps to advantage. Looking at our crop of ruckman it really is quite bare and would like to think that we will pick one up in this years draft or even two (rookie possibly). There are a couple supposedly, Goddard being one from WA and Ladhams from SA however I came across the name of Tony Olango, NT to keep an eye on for this years champs.
Trade 2nd rd pick for Ashbury, and get points in return. We can use the points for Allison and Rolls.
Don,t like ashbury,i would rather,with clarke and merrett savings throw on jj and marcus adams from footscray (as mention by other lions fans ) and hurley as a free agent
Marcus adams wont be leaving the dogs...just drafted and getting games
Yep. Nothing worse then the 'doubt he will leave' attitude.We can choose to sit in our comfort zone and do nothing. It is very negative ,how about the word CAN.let's ask and see if human nature kicks in ( i.e what motives people ,sucess,money, etc)by offering money. So what if he says no , what have we lost, absolutely nothing!!!! I would rather be proactive and ask, be postive ,explain the future is bright at the lions.collingwood gsw player adam treloar a lynch left fitzroy for money to the bears.Lest we Forget.We can choose to always play the victim,ask for pity or show potential recruits brisbane is the place they want to be a part of. I have said this before and i will say it again,a LION is PROUD and STRONG. I support lions fans who are prepard to ask rather than sit on the sofa and choose to do nothing.
Don't understand this at all. So if posters started saying "Let's throw heaps of cash at Ablett and Fyfe!!! You never know, a heap of money might tempt them." Would that not lead you to have a "Doubt they would leave attitude"? I have no issue in posters discussing chasing players who would improve our team, in fact I welcome it and engage in such discussions myself, however, there has to be some sort of merit behind the discussion. No point discussing chasing players who are zero chance of coming to the Lions. I mean sure it would be great if we landed Marcus Adams but he has literally just been drafted to the Dogs as a mature age recruit so he is in the first year of an initial 2 year contract. On top of that the Dogs gave him a chance as a mature age recruit when no other clubs would meaning he would definitely feel a sense of gratitude and loyalty towards them. And on top of all that he is getting games and it looks like he has cemented a spot in a top 4 side that only looks like it will improve over the next 5+ years. He is literally zero chance of coming to the Lions.Yep. Nothing worse then the 'doubt he will leave' attitude.
Don't understand this at all. So if posters started saying "Let's throw heaps of cash at Ablett and Fyfe!!! You never know, a heap of money might tempt them." Would that not lead you to have a "Doubt they would leave attitude"? I have no issue in posters discussing chasing players who would improve our team, in fact I welcome it and engage in such discussions myself, however, there has to be some sort of merit behind the discussion. No point discussing chasing players who are zero chance of coming to the Lions. I mean sure it would be great if we landed Marcus Adams but he has literally just been drafted to the Dogs as a mature age recruit so he is in the first year of an initial 2 year contract. On top of that the Dogs gave him a chance as a mature age recruit when no other clubs would meaning he would definitely feel a sense of gratitude and loyalty towards them. And on top of all that he is getting games and it looks like he has cemented a spot in a top 4 side that only looks like it will improve over the next 5+ years. He is literally zero chance of coming to the Lions.
As for lionsbest following comments "We can choose to sit in our comfort zone and do nothing. It is very negative ,how about the word CAN.let's ask and see if human nature kicks in ( i.e what motives people ,sucess,money, etc)by offering money. So what if he says no , what have we lost, absolutely nothing!!!!" I don't think anyone has disputed the idea of asking the question to these players managers. I think some of us are just taking a realistic approach in regards to the possibility of those players actually joining us. The way you are talking it is as if we are recruitment officers who work for the club...
I see your point. It just sucks balls that any player is 'no chance of coming here'. This attitude stinks. No one would of imagined christo would be here. Just dont see what 'doubt he would leave' brings to the conversation apart from negativity.Don't understand this at all. So if posters started saying "Let's throw heaps of cash at Ablett and Fyfe!!! You never know, a heap of money might tempt them." Would that not lead you to have a "Doubt they would leave attitude"? I have no issue in posters discussing chasing players who would improve our team, in fact I welcome it and engage in such discussions myself, however, there has to be some sort of merit behind the discussion. No point discussing chasing players who are zero chance of coming to the Lions. I mean sure it would be great if we landed Marcus Adams but he has literally just been drafted to the Dogs as a mature age recruit so he is in the first year of an initial 2 year contract. On top of that the Dogs gave him a chance as a mature age recruit when no other clubs would meaning he would definitely feel a sense of gratitude and loyalty towards them. And on top of all that he is getting games and it looks like he has cemented a spot in a top 4 side that only looks like it will improve over the next 5+ years. He is literally zero chance of coming to the Lions.
As for lionsbest following comments "We can choose to sit in our comfort zone and do nothing. It is very negative ,how about the word CAN.let's ask and see if human nature kicks in ( i.e what motives people ,sucess,money, etc)by offering money. So what if he says no , what have we lost, absolutely nothing!!!!" I don't think anyone has disputed the idea of asking the question to these players managers. I think some of us are just taking a realistic approach in regards to the possibility of those players actually joining us. The way you are talking it is as if we are recruitment officers who work for the club...
Since we're mentioning Hooker: in the 2010 off season Robb Kerr chased for a tall who had been in the system a few years to help fill a gap on the list. It came down to 2 players (whom were both happy to move, given the contract we had tabled). History tells us we picked up Jordan Lisle for the price of our pick 29.
The other player? Cale Hooker. Essendon had asked for the future end-of-first-round pick we had for losing Michael Rischitelli to Gold Coast. We felt that price was too steep so went Lisle instead.
Correct. We have no influence on anything. So lets just not discuss anything at all.Well said lionshine. I think our list manager would be remiss to not regularly meet player managers and sniff out who might be looking to move, and who might be prized away for a good price.
We as fans have absolutely nothing to do with this, and our attitudes, posted on the internet, will make absolutely no difference on the outcome.
I don't think the bolded part is accurate at all. It just so happens that the players that are being thrown around on here are about zero chance of joining any club not just the Lions. Just about any player who plays for the Bulldogs right now and is in their best 22 is incredibly unlikely to leave imo. Why would they?I see your point. It just sucks balls that any player is 'no chance of coming here'. This attitude stinks. No one would of imagined christo would be here. Just dont see what 'doubt he would leave' brings to the conversation apart from negativity.
Your right. Adam's is in a great position. He would be silly to leave. Hooker/hurley are in a unique position. Why cant we have a discussion that doesnt end with 'doubt he will leave'.
Suckling was in the hawks 22. If i had time for research i could name prob 5 or 6 other players who were regulars and left. Could be a number of reasons.I don't think the bolded part is accurate at all. It just so happens that the players that are being thrown around on here are about zero chance of joining any club not just the Lions. Just about any player who plays for the Bulldogs right now and is in their best 22 is incredibly unlikely to leave imo. Why would they?
We can choose to sit in our comfort zone and do nothing. It is very negative ,how about the word CAN.let's ask and see if human nature kicks in ( i.e what motives people ,sucess,money, etc)by offering money. So what if he says no , what have we lost, absolutely nothing!!!! I would rather be proactive and ask, be postive ,explain the future is bright at the lions.collingwood gsw player adam treloar a lynch left fitzroy for money to the bears.Lest we Forget.We can choose to always play the victim,ask for pity or show potential recruits brisbane is the place they want to be a part of. I have said this before and i will say it again,a LION is PROUD and STRONG. I support lions fans who are prepard to ask rather than sit on the sofa and choose to do nothing.
FORTUNE FAVOURS THE BRAVE. THATS THE WAY OF A TRUE LION!!!!!!