2016 Draft discussion

Jason's place
i think my wife wouldn't want you BF crew out here and spoil our idyllic little slice of paradise. every time she sees me on the TV (internet hooked up to the wide screen) she says "are you on that bloody big footy again" or "their not even playing what do you bloody talk about" or "have you got an internet mistress" (that last one just sounds too adult for me, and messy) i may be wrong but i have a feeling that she has the impression that you guys are bad influences:(, you keep me away from the chooks, vege garden, general yard and handyman duties.

it's a shame though, i could have put on a good spread eg. omelette, scrambled eggs, egg salad, pickled eggs, eggs over easy, classic hard boiled eggs etc.... and plenty of salad and veg. have a little orchard going but not much fruit ready, only a few mulberries, BBQ is a given and some liquid refreshments.

well i'll have to leave you malevolent lot now, i am off to watch one of the grand kids play cricket, see you this arv, keep it quiet that's just between us 2;).

i think my wife wouldn't want you BF crew out here and spoil our idyllic little slice of paradise. every time she sees me on the TV (internet hooked up to the wide screen) she says "are you on that bloody big footy again" or "their not even playing what do you bloody talk about" or "have you got an internet mistress" (that last one just sounds too adult for me, and messy) i may be wrong but i have a feeling that she has the impression that you guys are bad influences:(, you keep me away from the chooks, vege garden, general yard and handyman duties.

it's a shame though, i could have put on a good spread eg. omelette, scrambled eggs, egg salad, pickled eggs, eggs over easy, classic hard boiled eggs etc.... and plenty of salad and veg. have a little orchard going but not much fruit ready, only a few mulberries, BBQ is a given and some liquid refreshments.

well i'll have to leave you malevolent lot now, i am off to watch one of the grand kids play cricket, see you this arv, keep it quiet that's just between us 2;).

Shangri-La ..........................hmmmmm :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:......:'(

hqdefault.jpg

Spam, eggs, spam and spam.

Eggs, spam, beans and spam.

Spam, spam, spam, eggs, spam and spam.

Etc. Etc.

I'm still reading in the leaves that we will take someone at 21/22 who is not generally rated that highly. Maybe somebody like Myles Poholke, Brodie Romensky, Taylin Duman, Tate Short, Josh Begley or even a state leaguer from vic or interstate.

there was a bit of a whisper (can't recall from who) that we were interested in a 3rd tall intercepting defender from the geelong VFL side ie. Tom Stewart. couldn't see us using one of our top 4 picks on him though, a rookie spot maybe.

I would love Simpkin. Would also love to have Battle as well who I think is under rated personally. I don't see him playing as a key tall but I honestly think he should mould his game towards Tom Lynch from the Crows. He has the skill set and athletic attributes to do this. Lynch is a gun.
This is what Twomey said in one of his podcasts.

Is pick 3 too high for Ainsworth.....many of the ratings have him around 7.

Should the club pick him for the perceived reduced flight factor or should we be picking the best available mid?
I reckon the minuscule it possibly non-existent talent gap between 3 and 7 probably doesn't supersede the benefit that we get from drafting somebody that is happy to go to Brisbane.

Should the club pick him for the perceived reduced flight factor or should we be picking the best available mid?

Rankings vary. Some rank him much higher. Decent chance GWS jump on him at #2 if McGrath isn't available. But watch him play and you can't help but be excited by the way he goes about it.

I wouldn't be surprised if we did pick him at 3 and I wouldn't be surprised if we didn't. This year seems to be a bit of a lotto as to who goes in what order past maybe McGrath and Mcluggage. Top 6 or 7 are apparently very even. It is likely that one club might rate him at 7 where others rate him at 3.

I reckon the minuscule it possibly non-existent talent gap between 3 and 7 probably doesn't supersede the benefit that we get from drafting somebody that is happy to go to Brisbane.

So it is McGrath and McCluggage followed by a group of 5 or so, excluding the GWS/GCS academy guns?

What if I in some crazy parallel universe both McGrath and Ainsworth were both available at 3?

So it is McGrath and McCluggage followed by a group of 5 or so, excluding the GWS/GCS academy guns?

What if I in some crazy parallel universe both McGrath and Ainsworth were both available at 3?
I checked the parallel universe you're talking about and guess what? The AFL gave us a PP right after our first round pick and now we have pick 2 and 3, so looks like we will draft them both.

I'm not as well informed as some but I'd take Ainsworth.

McLuggage v Ainsworth, I'm less certain about. And Taranto v Ainsworth is a lot more even in my mind than what the phantom draft folk suggest.

I'm not as well informed as some but I'd take Ainsworth.

McLuggage v Ainsworth, I'm less certain about. And Taranto v Ainsworth is a lot more even in my mind than what the phantom draft folk suggest.
I'm not that well informed either, but I'm at a loss as to why Taranto isn't being considered in the same class as the other three. He seems to have all the makings of an excellent midfielder. In my mind McCluggage, Ainsworth, McGrath and Taranto are very even. The only reason I'd take Ainsworth over Taranto is the go home factor of the vic metro player compared to someone who has us as their preferred destination.

Guy I work with who plays for Footscray in VFL had prelim talks with us at the end of the season. 20 year old but has had a lot of injuries the past 2 years and is hoping for his first proper full pre season and give it a good tilt at the VFL next year. They may chat again next year, if he has a good season. Knows Skinner and Ainsworth as he played for gippsland power too. Good kid.

And that's fair enough and understandable. It's just that these are 18 year olds who haven't finished developing physically, mentally and neurologically yet.

Something about speculating on a very young man's ability to perform with the fervor and enthusiasm that we seem to at this time of year just seems off to me.

Yes I know we've been doing it for years etc etc. Just something I've been thinking about a bit.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/s...sends-afl-draft-recruiters-into-frenzy/#page1

Subiaco goalsneak Liam Ryan is on the verge of going from Geraldton to the AFL in the space of 12 months after being the most popular man at yesterday’s State draft combine.

Port Adelaide, Brisbane and Sydney were among the many clubs jostling for his time, with several others, including Fremantle, having already met him over the weekend.

The 20-year-old starred for the Lions this year, kicking 40 goals in 16 league games.

At just 20 years of age and Fagan on the hunt for small forwards he might be a big smokey at pick 22. Only recorded a level 10 beep test though so his endurance needs massive work and is the sort of thing that leads to talented players like Ryan going un drafted.

2016 Draft discussion