2016 Draft Rumours

• Thread starter Thread starter yyou

I don't think they will use pick 10 but they might because they don't want to use next year's round one pick.. I hope you are drunk dude..

greeny its all hypothetical because he wont last to pick 10. blues will bid on him at 5 if lions dont at 3. dont generally get drunk at home just when out about socialising.

He did it before, although he named three midfielders in Taylor, Zorko and CHristensen for some reason.

i actually didnt there was a brisvegas poster who named the three. anyone of those can and has played the role and with d beams coming back you would think he would take up a lot of the midfield minutes these guys played 2016.

this aspect of your list balance was made by cal twomey in his mock draft and is one I agree with.

Lets get back to the actual thread topic: SOS is a shit recruiter.

The reminds me of that old joke: how do you make a million dollars? Give an idiot five million dollars and point him towards the stock market.

How do you make a premiership team?

Give SOS 40 first and second round picks and point him towards the draft.

Three years?

Mate, next year.

We likely already have two top ten picks in next years draft, our own likely top 3 (1) pick and Port Adelaide's, and we have a very highly rated academy kid who Cal Twomey has talked about as being potentially a top 5 prospect in 2017, plus a second kid in the 2017 AFL academy as well. Ideally we'd like to be able to use both picks as free hits before matching a bid on an academy kid.

Bidding on Bowes gains us nothing other than a tit for tat bid next year. Right now, where our current rebuild is, we could give a flying duck about denying GC the chance to add three top six rated kids to their list next season.

By getting extra picks/points in 2017 you have positioned yourself for bids being made on your academy kids.

If the suns believe the kids are that good you don't think they wont bid. this is the most competitive game in the land and clubs are to professional to get into "tit for tat" games.

Cal Twomey mentioned in quite a few of this years early pod casts, that next years draft class is a Super Draft. Lots of high end KPP's and elite mids. At the same time Cal was saying that this years draft was very deep, but lacked elite talent at the top.

that fact your quoting early cal twomey podcasts when im presenting his most recently released thoughts does nothing for your argument. early assessments are just that early. kids develop as the season progresses and final assessments are made when all games are complete. i will go along for a minute which specific podcats did he make those comments in? like can you remember what month he made it.

ive not heard next years draft being referred to as a super draft. the one theme ive picked up is that 2017 is referred as having a great first round but not having the depth of 2016.

Actually yes. If you listen to Matt Granland's & Brett Anderson's SEN pod cast on the Brisbane Lions draft picks, he does mention that he's hearing that Brisbane won't bid on Bowes.

https://twitter.com/OnTheClockSEN

Now this pod cast is 5 days old, so it's not a "new" rumour. And Anderson basically covers everything that has been rehashed over the last 5 pages.

So, you have now been presented with reasonable and detailed posts why Brisbane won't bid on Bowes. You've had fans from both Brisbane and GC say that Brisbane won't bid (and no Bris or GC fans have come on here saying Brisbane will bid). And you've been given a link to a credible rumour that there may be a deal in place, and Brisbane won't bid.

i had a listen and yes it confirms the rumour however anderson really couldn't understand the logic of why the lions would not bid on him. he was basically supporting everything i and others who share my view have been saying.

Ive quoted you cal twomeys mock draft pod cast from a couple of days ago which clearly summarises why lions should bid on bowes.

i guess time will tell whose expert is correct.

There's no benefit to Brisbane bidding on Bowes. We all know the Suns will match it with their next pick and all it will achieve is Gold Coast looking for retribution in the future. It's not worth it for the Lions.
have a listen to andersons pod cast he will explain why lions should bid.

greeny its all hypothetical because he wont last to pick 10. blues will bid on him at 5 if lions dont at 3. dont generally get drunk at home just when out about socialising.
Yes it is hypothetical, isn't that we do here? Hypothesise!
Anyway enough of this, you bore me.

incorrect.

post 363 summrises this really nicely so have a read of that.

if lions bid then the outcome i think becomes :

sun use their pick 4 and after discounts have 446 points left over and this becomes pick 40

if lions dont bid, carlton does then outcome is

suns use pick 4 to get one of lets ay brodie/sps/taranto etc, they use pick 6 for bowes and have 249 point left over which becomes pick 52

so if lions dont bid you are handing them an extra top pick and they still get bowes.

getting an extra good kid will logically help them become better than you ...... you get the rest dont you.

as i have said to others for us is doesn't matter because we need young midfielders of all types anyone of brodie/sps/taranto will meet our needs.

You don't get your pick slid back when matching a first round bid with one first round pick. Those points sit in a pool of extra points that can be utilised at the end of the draft if you're in deficit or can carry over to the next year to make up deficits.

Thanks for that i wasn't aware it worked that way. They don't lose the points though.

So do you know if you can go into deficit a second time if your already in deficit.

Ainsworth>Bowes imo and why would Gold Coast lower the public view of Ainsworth's ability by attempting to pick somebody else up before him. Nothing to gain by bidding on Bowes, Brisbane would rather Ainsworth imo.

The reminds me of that old joke: how do you make a million dollars? Give an idiot five million dollars and point him towards the stock market.

How do you make a premiership team?

Give SOS 40 first and second round picks and point him towards the draft.
How do you turn a profitable club with an exciting young list which has a real chance at elevating themselves into premiership contenders back to a middle table club?

Give Mark Riccioutio the keys

I don't know if anyone can confirm, but does anyone have a list of who is rumoured to have been invited to draft night? Some reckon Battle and Gallucci are among 15 or so. If so, tat's big.
Yeah battle, Adam now study for your exam

incorrect.

post 363 summrises this really nicely so have a read of that.

if lions bid then the outcome i think becomes :

sun use their pick 4 and after discounts have 446 points left over and this becomes pick 40

if lions dont bid, carlton does then outcome is

suns use pick 4 to get one of lets ay brodie/sps/taranto etc, they use pick 6 for bowes and have 249 point left over which becomes pick 52

so if lions dont bid you are handing them an extra top pick and they still get bowes.

getting an extra good kid will logically help them become better than you ...... you get the rest dont you.

as i have said to others for us is doesn't matter because we need young midfielders of all types anyone of brodie/sps/taranto will meet our needs.

The first part in bold I believe to be incorrect, but happy to proved wrong. Residual points left over from matching a bid in the first round do not become a later pick. But they can be used towards matching the next bid. Residual points left over from matching a bid in the second round do become a later pick. We had this very discussion on the Lions page a couple of weeks a go.

The second line in bold. Gees I wish it was that easy. There are so many variables that go towards a team becoming a championship team. If it was simply about loading up on top end talent, the blue print would be much easier to follow.

Last I looked, there were 17 other clubs in the competition, no point for the Lions to focus on GC. From a personal stand point, being a QLD'er, I'd much rather see GC be successful than any Victorian team.

Seeing as our second pick isn't until pick 16, every club with a draft pick between our pick 3 and pick 16 has the ability to get stronger by adding a good kid.

Look at the end of the day, you're obviously not going to change your mind. So it's a pointless discussion. The only two clubs that it really concerns are the Lions and GC, it's a moot point for any other club, or their fans, to get involved in the conversation. Both sets of supporters don't see any point for the Lions to bid on Bowes. We're (the Lions) are happy, GC is happy and it's all sunny in QLD.

that fact your quoting early cal twomey podcasts when im presenting his most recently released thoughts does nothing for your argument. early assessments are just that early. kids develop as the season progresses and final assessments are made when all games are complete. i will go along for a minute which specific podcats did he make those comments in? like can you remember what month he made it.

ive not heard next years draft being referred to as a super draft. the one theme ive picked up is that 2017 is referred as having a great first round but not having the depth of 2016.
What argument?

Greendogg asked a question and I answered. There was no argument.

Like I said, Cal mentioned it in a few of his early Road to the Draft podcasts. If you've followed the series through out the season, that's one discussion that should have stuck in your mind. As for actual episodes, I don't remember off hand, and can't be arsed to go back and listen to the whole series. I would hazard a guess that episode 5 where Brenton Sanderson is a guest, it will have been discussed.

Cal has spent time with both the level one and level two AFL academy squads. As he does every year. I would guess that Cal has a fair idea how next years draft class is shaping up compared to this years.

It very much came across as Cal pushing the whole supper draft theme. Cal has said all year that the top end of the of 2017 draft class has a good mix of top KPP talent and elite midfielders, but over all it lacks the depth of this years draft. A further point made by Cal is that the top end of this years draft class lacks the elite talent of the last couple of drafts and next years draft.