Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

No? I do.

We have nowhere near enough clearance players and we almost lost one of those few last week.
I do agree we need more class around the place and no matter which way I look, I see Taranto involved.......but we can't get both.

The noises from clubs with the top three picks may have it going, McCluggage, McGrath and Ainsworth.

All we need is to know whether any of those clubs will bid on Bowes and we should start getting an idea of which way we're likely to go.
My concern is that we will have great extractors but nothing on the outside to complement the grunt work, particular post Gibbs and Murphy. Ideally we want that inside outside mid who is the complete package. Will we be able to develop Brodie's outside game? Will Taranto develop into a solid midfielder who can push forward for periods of time? Likewise, will Scrimshaw be a floaty half back or a midfielder? Having not spoken to the players themselves to gauge their attitude and drive, it is mostly speculation.

JPK wasn't picked at 5 either, surely Drew or even Clarke who lead the contested possessions for the year would be a good option at 25?

As stated, have a look at the last 5 drafts, no Brodie type in the top 10

I wonder how many of you that are into Brodie at 5 were into Mathieson in the first round last year
Dont compare Brodie to Mathieson lol

Name more than three late picks in the last ten drafts that were actually drafted almost solely on being athletic standouts? Yes, we've drafted too many 'outside' flanker types that we've hoped to turn into midfielders or KPPs but that's fundamentally not the same thing as you are saying. On the other hand, we have taken heaps of players late (or not late enough) that many would call 'safe' selections that had virtually no 'upside' for AFL football and have subsequently been de-listed. And that's before you even get to the rookie picks. People just go on inventing things to try and easily explain away our crap recruiting.
I only found four in the last 10 years so you're pretty much bang on.

One was Clinton Benjamin and one was Shaun Hampson so they barely qualify.

Name more than three late picks in the last ten drafts that were actually drafted almost solely on being athletic standouts? Yes, we've drafted too many 'outside' flanker types that we've hoped to turn into midfielders or KPPs but that's fundamentally not the same thing as you are saying. On the other hand, we have taken heaps of players late (or not late enough) that many would call 'safe' selections that had virtually no 'upside' for AFL football and have subsequently been de-listed. And that's before you even get to the rookie picks. People just go on inventing things to try and easily explain away our crap recruiting.
Give me a few hours, I'll do some past draft digging. Either way, the results are not pretty. Either our development has been atrocious or our selections have been awful. Or both? I recall hearing that unlike other clubs we did not do psychological testing? Is that true or a rumour?

My concern is that we will have great extractors but nothing on the outside to complement the grunt work, particular post Gibbs and Murphy. Ideally we want that inside outside mid who is the complete package. Will we be able to develop Brodie's outside game? Will Taranto develop into a solid midfielder who can push forward for periods of time? Likewise, will Scrimshaw be a floaty half back or a midfielder? Having not spoken to the players themselves to gauge their attitude and drive, it is mostly speculation.
At the moment we have 1 extractor for the future.
Not much point having great outside players if we as poor a clearance side as we were this year.

Dont compare Brodie to Mathieson lol

I am not comparing him to Mathieson, was comparing the sentiment of how over rated Mathieson was on this board last year.

Tell me did you rate Mathieson in the first round last year?

People are doing the same with Brodie, he will still go top 10 due to the amount of picks GC have, but he is still no a top 10 quality

Yeah there's not much point bidding is there?

You're not going to get the player, you make an enemy at the trade table and your draftee feels unloved as he was officially your second choice.

Except you might end up missing players you actually want or need. Brodie gets drafted by GCS, we bid on Bowes, gets matched and we keep sliding. I understand the context of these names is unlikely, just used to highlight the point.

"Brodie" like players taken in the top 10 in recent years.

2011 - Tyson (3)
2012 - Wines (7)
2013 - Sheed (11)
2014 - Brayshaw (3)
2015 - Oliver (4) Hopper (7)

I count at least one "Brodie" type in the top 10 every year. And i'd peg Brodie to be better than Sheed, Tyson, Oliver and maybe Wines.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

I am not comparing him to Mathieson, was comparing the sentiment of how over rated Mathieson was on this board last year.

People are doing the same with Brodie, he will still go top 10 due to the amount of picks GC have, but he is still no a top 10 quality
You can go look up my posts in the 2015 thread. I had him in the mix for our pick at #19 i seem to remember.

We should have something on the outside.

Would love to see Murphy not doing any heavy lifting. He really shouldn't have to and it would prolong his career.
Cuningham, Pickett, Boekhorst should be the outside mids or at least the, 'first ball receive' mids that can run and carry.
Cripps, Gibbs, Curnow and maybe Brodie would then present the inside grunt.

I don't know if any other left-fielders may work their way in.
Charlie Curnow is talked about but I don't see it just yet and Kerridge simply isn't clean by hand. Would love him to be but he's just not.

You can go look up my posts in the 2015 thread. I had him in the mix for our pick at #19 i seem to remember.

No need for me to look it up, I take people on face value.

I will say though, love how we all want the best for our club and it's ok to have different opinions:)

Why do people keep saying Ainsworth has elite skill/is a good kick when he goes at 50% in front of goals primarily as a small forward?

Also SPS barely played a decent game this year. Could just be the injuries he carried but seems flakey to me. Not what we want . Leave him to GC who with 4 pick in the top 10 can take a chance.
He's an elite user of the footy into the forward line, but he can try to do a bit too much in front of goal.

Regardless, that's clearly something he will iron out, and has nothing to do with skill or technique. Brisbane will probably take the decision out of our hands anyway (hopefully after bidding on Bowes).

One look at Mathieson's "highlights video" and any recruiter that valued quality disposal would have said pass.

Brodie was close to BOG at half time in the U18 GF. Barely played the second half and his team faded. You are seriously under-rating him.

Redo the 2013 draft and where is PC going? Second after the Bont, so I don't buy the "inside beasts shouldn't go so high" argument.

This year there are question marks over every player apart from maybe McLuggage. Can't believe McGraths disposal doesn't get more criticism as his kick would be the worst of the top10 .

Brodie is pretty impressive overhead mark, he's set shot does need some work but he can definitely go forward and have an impact.
In TAC cup GF if he kicked straight could have had 3 or 4 goals easily.
Cripps is only a inside mid and he would be worth a top 5 pick.
Can we play him at CHF???

Fears over what??? No one can guarantee any player will make it to 200 games. I would think both SPS & SPP will be 200 game players subject to injury. Don't know that SPS is the right fit for us at the moment. Given that it's quite likely Whiley will be delisted and unless Boekhorst, Buckley, DVR, Everitt or Tutt have gotten over their phobia of contested ball and have been transformed into inside beasts overnight, our only insurance for Cripps is Rhys Palmer. Probably gives you an idea where our priorities should lie now that we've essentially recruited a spine. Ainsworth, SPS & Taranto are all worthy potential top 5 prospects, but in the short to medium term are they going to provide us with anything Murphy & Gibbs can't if we recruit a couple of genuine inside types???

I really like SPP. A hard-nosed inside mid who also has the running power and enough genuine pace to be able spread from the contest. Already has a tank, a defensive side to his game and can stick a tackle. Is pretty clean by hand or foot and seeks to bring team mates in a better position into the game...seems to always be a purpose/method in the way he uses the ball. Even if it doesn't come off you can see what he's trying to accomplish with the possession and if there's one thing we lack it's players with the ability to assess the play as it unfolds around them. Another thing that makes him a standout from the other midfielders for me is that he generally tries to take the ball forward rather than all this backwards/sideways nonsense. As I wrote elsewhere, I don't think he'd just compliment or assist Cripps, I think he'd absolutely revel being able to play alongside him. IMO SPP is exactly the sort of player we need for sure. Won't be available at pick 25 though and there'll be plenty on this board here who'll be crying a river is SOS takes him with Pick 5. For where our list is at it's SPP or Brodie for me.

pick 5 needs to be elite and I think we require an accumulator in our team - All Australian elite

SPS is what 181cm and 76kg and has good games of mid 20 possessions - I fear against AFL bodies he will become an outside player only. Not sure that's what we need at the moment. Maybe Brisbane will though

SPP seems to have a bigger frame and may transition to the AFL better - don't know what the knock is but sounds like at 5 he would be a reach and I am little over reaching for WA players in the first round.

SOS - If Brodie is there at 5 snap him up and get potential at 25. If he aint then I fear our pick 5 could end up sliding with Academy picks being activated - might slide further if SOS chases inside mids
1 McLuggage (*)
2 McGrath (GWS)
3 SPS (Bris)
4 Brodie (GC)
5 Bowes (GC)
6 Taranto or Ainsworth or .... (Carlton)

What's great is either way we should get a good one at 5. Have been a fan of SPS and Ainsworth for a while now.

While I like Brodie, I'm with you here. I trust SOS and Bolts to collaborate and add a stallion. We have so many holes to fill...I am hoping for a player who can help R1.

Ainsworth will go to brisbane im sure of it.... i want brodie or Taranto... battle might even slip to 25 haha

Love his ability to get his hands free, looks like he'll become something once he hits the gym. Kicking action looks a little suspect to be honest.

If Brodie turns out as Good as Dune
I agree, Scrimshaw has huge upside

As stated previously, there are 4 kids that I would be happy to take at pick 5

Any of Taranto, Ainsworth, SPS or Scrimshaw. As you have mentioned, we all see it differently

Agree with you Arrow, pick 5 will come from this group, I always preferred SPS once this lad settles into the AFL tempo, matures physical and mental he'll enhance whichever team selects him, only thing is we now have Pickett and if we're lucky we'll have some magic and Xfactor ready to go.
Scrimshaw and Ainsworth are tantalizing, and Taranto is quality but he'd be my last choice from the group.
It's a sweet delima to have and by the way Slivagni did a masterful job of hanging on the pick.
Go Baggers

One look at Mathieson's "highlights video" and any recruiter that valued quality disposal would have said pass.

Brodie was close to BOG at half time in the U18 GF. Barely played the second half and his team faded. You are seriously under-rating him.

Redo the 2013 draft and where is PC going? Second after the Bont, so I don't buy the "inside beasts shouldn't go so high" argument.

This year there are question marks over every player apart from maybe McLuggage. Can't believe McGraths disposal doesn't get more criticism as his kick would be the worst of the top10 .

Yet, many here had Mathieson in the first round, some in the top 10

I standby my opinion that Brodie is not a top 10 player class wise. PC had a better skill set and footy brain compared to Brodie if you are comparing draft years.

I actually had McCarthy ahead of PC, hope he gets his head right, as I still rate him highly

I agree with you in McCluggage, he is a standout for me. Also agree with you regarding McGrath, I don't subscribe that he is a clear number 2 selection

"Brodie" like players taken in the top 10 in recent years.

2011 - Tyson (3)
2012 - Wines (7)
2013 - Sheed (11)
2014 - Brayshaw (3)
2015 - Oliver (4) Hopper (7)

I count at least one "Brodie" type in the top 10 every year. And i'd peg Brodie to be better than Sheed, Tyson, Oliver and maybe Wines.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Yep he probably is a Brayshaw type which is not to bad an addition but a pick 5 needs to be elite and have a higher ceiling development potential then Brodie has , I reckon.