Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Not that I need to explain myself to you, but i've been watching junior footy on and off for the past 10 years.

Nor do I have to explain myself to you, but I have been involved in the game for over 30 years, playing and coaching as I am sure many others here have.

Think I can form an opinion, as to the skill set of a player, like others here?

beside the point - I can make any suggestions or have opinions on any players we take - but I can't guarantee it will happen

verb
verb: guarantee
provide a formal assurance, especially that certain conditions will be fulfilled relating to a product, service, or transaction.

Thy, I value you thoughts and insight, but not sure that insulting people is a way to debate an opinion based forum on who values who in the draft.

You take offense that I use the word "Guarantee"? (Appreciate you giving me the meaning)

Let's leave it to draft day then

So what are the knocks on Brodie then?

I've only heard good things, however that's impossible. What exactly are the knocks on his game?

I'm not sure anyone has suggested otherwise.

Cool your jets - there's no need to belittle or degrade others because they haven't followed these draft prospects as closely as you or others may claim to have.

Nor do I have to explain myself to you, but I have been involved in the game for over 30 years, playing and coaching as I am sure many others here have.

Form an opinion, yes of course. Isn't that what BF is all about.
But when you guarantee something that I suspect you are in no way qualified to guarantee then you're sticking your neck right out on the chopping block.

Original question was:

Have you seen Brodie play? Yes or No?

If yes, how many times?
Of course I've only seen limited footage, this is BF after all. We're all speculating, it's fun.

You're saying any recruiter that's done his due diligence on Brodie would deem him incompatible with a pick 5 selection?

If so, just say that. Don't be a melodramatic ****wit.

Happy with Brodie at 5, reckon we can do better than Duman at 25.
I'd be keen on Rotham if he's still there.
Yep, Rotham would my pick if he lasts that long, would rather Taranto at five or hope Knightmare is wrong about Gold Coast getting Scrimshaw.

No need to jump on a bloke because he used the word 'guarantee' I'd rather peopel get jumped on for sprouting other peoples views who were sprouting other people's views about other people's views - with aan adjectivfal change here or there as a nod to originality.

pendants are boring.

and besides if we pick Brodie and he turns out to be a gun - Arrow can suck it up for eva.:p

Of course I've only seen limited footage, this is BF after all. We're all speculating, it's fun.

You're saying any recruiter that's done his due diligence on Brodie would deem him incompatible with a pick 5 selection?

If so, just say that. Don't be a melodramatic ****wit.

Another insult, impressive.

So I make a statement that we won't take Brodie at 5 and that is melodramatic? Emotions don't come into it mate

Thy, I value you thoughts and insight, but not sure that insulting people is a way to debate an opinion based forum on who values who in the draft.

You take offense that I use the word "Guarantee"? (Appreciate you giving me the meaning)

Let's leave it to draft day then
mate, clown is as gentle as it gets around here but I apologize as it has clearly insulted you - my intention was to a lesser effect but what you feel is what's important - you go hard at your draft tips, but as for guarantees - that's something I'd only expect from a cheesy TV infomercial

Key thing to consider before we nail anything down.

1. There at least 3 players who will likely see the Academy bidding process (Bowes at 3 from Brisbane, Setterfield and Perryman from GWS) It is possible that Essendon makes a bid for one of those with Pick 1 which would eliminate either picks 2 or 4 if matched. It also could happen twice (Essendon bid on Setterfield, Brisbane bids on Bowes) if that happens it really throws more options at us than we likely would have considered as we might get someone we thought was gone.

Oh, I wasn't actually genuinely asking. Based on your poster history, I don't believe you have any valuable insights/inside knowledge whatsoever on the fact. There are few people I would believe when they say we won't/will be doing something, and you are not one of those.

Personally, from everything that's out there about the kid - Brodie was a clear top 2 for most of 2016, and has tired from a huge workload. Has a great attitude and character plus more than enough big games under his belt to show he'll be a very good player at the top level.

Like Cripps, he can develop and improve the other parts of his game and would do very well at Carlton.

Think it'd be down to Brodie, Taranto and Ainsworth given our need for mids and our desire to hold Pick 5 at the trade table.

Not concerned if you don't value my insight, I don't post it for anyone's approval

Another insult, impressive.

So I make a statement that we won't take Brodie at 5 and that is melodramatic? Emotions don't come into it mate
We took exception to your use of the word 'guarantee' and lack of explanation. Anyway, as you said, let's leave it at that.

No need to jump on a bloke because he used the word 'guarantee' I'd rather peopel get jumped on for sprouting other peoples views who were sprouting other people's views about other people's views - with aan adjectivfal change here or there as a nod to originality.

pendants are boring.

and besides if we pick Brodie and he turns out to be a gun - Arrow can suck it up for eva.:p
not always boring

mediterranean-pendant-lighting.jpg

Key thing to consider before we nail anything down.

1. There at least 3 players who will likely see the Academy bidding process (Bowes at 3 from Brisbane, Setterfield and Perryman from GWS) It is possible that Essendon makes a bid for one of those with Pick 1 which would eliminate either picks 2 or 4 if matched. It also could happen twice (Essendon bid on Setterfield, Brisbane bids on Bowes) if that happens it really throws more options at us than we likely would have considered as we might get someone we thought was gone.
* will do us no favours.
Not sure Brisbane will want to upset another academy.
Still leaves us with one of Brodie or Taranto or McGrath or McCluggage or Ainsworth, etc. so plenty of options.

mate, clown is as gentle as it gets around here but I apologize as it has clearly insulted you - my intention was to a lesser effect but what you feel is what's important - you go hard at your draft tips, but as for guarantees - that's something I'd only expect from a cheesy TV infomercial

Not insulted, just amused

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/17897568/knightmare-first-2017-afl-phantom-draft

Knightmare has his phantom up and he has us taking.......................
Knightmare always picks obscure players he doesn't rate for Carlton (maybe that is off the back of some of our woeful selections in the past). Duman is not in his power rankings and Bishop ranks him at 77. Would be a melt down if we selected a flanker at this pick while passing more highly rated midfielders
Yearly PSA: Knightmare, despite being a long-standing BF stalwart, is no older than 25 and comes off as a mad Pies supporter with how he picks for us in his phantoms. Probably a long-running inside joke.

Has anything really come out of Essendon to confirm that they'll be taking McLuggage?
They have their two main stoppages players, in Watson & Stanton, right at the end of their careers.

Is there still a chance for them to take Brodie at #1 and then for GWS & Brisbane, go with their first preferred players in McGrath & Ainsworth, whilst GC being forced to take Bowes, leaving McCluggage available to us?

Would we even want McCluggage ahead of Brodie?

Will McLuggage just end up as a flanker, which would rule him out for some. Seems to do his best work getting the ball outside 50 and running in and scoring.
What the **** am I even reading here guys, all this needs is a few hashtags and a link to a medium post. Get to work on your Twitter bios! :P

McCluggage is a star, with his light frame being the only question mid-year, and you only had to take one look at him in the All-Star game and at draft camp to know that he's hit the gym and takes it all very seriously. He's amazing in contested situations without being a pure bull, but his touch is so clean and his hands/kicking so quick it makes zero difference.

Do you see a qld holiday in july for HBF, MEB and myself?
How very modern of you three

you can't guarantee anything you clown

beside the point - I can make any suggestions or have opinions on any players we take - but I can't guarantee it will happen

verb
verb: guarantee
provide a formal assurance, especially that certain conditions will be fulfilled relating to a product, service, or transaction.
Was going to say, how do you know he's not an underwriter? :P