Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

The more I think about it, the more I can see reasons why we wouldn't take Brodie and take one of Taranto/SPS/Scrimshaw.

Nothing against Brodie, but he just doesn't seem to me as someone who makes things happen, whereas the aforementioned have the ability to do so.

What was the pre draft talk on Cripps? Are there similarities?

If Battle is still available at pick 25 and SPP is gone I would take him. It can't hurt having a mobile, dynamic and dangerous forward line. He is an obvious talent with exceptional football smarts.

SPP likely to be gone by 25, isn't he? :(

Though the Dockers (7) and Eagles (12) picks are a bit too high probably... Brisbane probably the one that might take him? Have 16, 21, 22.. that would be around the mark?

SPP likely to be gone by 25, isn't he? :(

Though the Dockers (7) and Eagles (12) picks are a bit too high probably... Brisbane probably the one that might take him? Have 16, 21, 22.. that would be around the mark?
Could Brisbane have SPP and Robbo in the same side? It would be rough diamond, kick long down the line, grunt fest of epic proportions. But yes if we got SPP at 25 I'll be inclined to ambitiously promise to run naked around Ikon Park or whatever it is called these days (but never actually do it)

Could Brisbane have SPP and Robbo in the same side? It would be rough diamond, kick long down the line, grunt fest of epic proportions.

4qDGAfU.gif

Sadly what we have missed since Robbo left, and Bell too..

Cripps went at 13 would he have been a stretch at 5? No way, I'm sure there were many saying he has no tricks, kicking isn't great blah blah. Supposedly Brodie is an animal with a burning desire.

It would have been. Clearly hindsight it wouldn't be, but at the time if someone did pick him at 5 at the time everyone would have been saying it was a reach. The other thing is he was ever being discussed as a potential no.1 draft pick who later was being discussed as potentially not going top 10. He was a riser because of his sudden growth physically.

Based on his performance in the u18s during his draft year? Top 10.

Based on what he did this year at the Bullants and sitting on the pine injured? 2nd round

Only Knightmare truly knows where he would have gone....Probably somewhere behind Brayden Sier.

Sorry Knighta......just kidding mate. :)

Lol 2nd Round for a 200cm+ key forward in this draft.

Harry McKay goes no.1 in this draft every day of the week
I know that you want to be extremely positive about the club. Good for you.

But name me one player who missed almost an entire season with injury in their draft year and still went top 10?

I can tell you some that should have: Jake Lever, Ryan Burton, Charlie Curnow....sort of.

It's a pretty horrible draft for key position players. lucky we loaded up last year. Almost looks like we planned it that way
Looks like a plan... mids mids mids & mids this year
4 mids & some other position(s)

That wasn't luck....I know it's a pretty foreign concept but I believe it was a "strategy"!!!

I think Zee knows that.

That's the advantage of having an eye not just for the current year but one for the next one at the least.
It's also an advantage of having one person charged with that role......we may just get lucky for getting with the times.

I reckon McKay would have went in the Top 5 as well. He has all the defining characteristics of an elite key position prospect and if not for the strength of the draft would have gone very early.

Crazy to think players like Curnow, Milera and Burton (understand the injury concerns) went in the teens. Very happy we identified it as strong at the top end and brought picks in accordingly.

Troy Menzel, Joel Selwood, Jake Stringer plenty of players miss footy in their draft year.

Just think if Harry McKay was in this draft. You'd have all his efforts from last years u18, which he was good enough to be a top 10 pick in last years draft. So coming into this year he would have been talked about as the standout number 1 selection. Then he plays at the start of the year. Carves up some TAC footy. That tag sticks. He gets injured but then comes back for the end of the season. Kicks 5 goals+ in the All Star game is called out at Pick no.1 by Essendon..

I can tell you some that should have: Jake Lever, Ryan Burton, Charlie Curnow....sort of.
Agreed. I wanted all of them at the time.

Not that I'm claiming to be a draft guru or anything. I've wanted plenty of duds over the years too.

Troy Menzel, Joel Selwood, Jake Stringer plenty of players miss footy in their draft year.

Just think if Harry McKay was in this draft. You'd have all his efforts from last years u18, which he was good enough to be a top 10 pick in last years draft. So coming into this year he would have been talked about as the standout number 1 selection. Then he plays at the start of the year. Carves up some TAC footy. That tag sticks. He gets injured but then comes back for the end of the season. Kicks 5 goals+ in the All Star game is called out at Pick no.1 by Essendon..
All played plenty of footy in their draft year to show what they had. Being injuried and missing some footy is very different to missing almost an entire year, and not doing much when you do play.

Troy also wasn't a top 10.

All played plenty of footy in their draft year to show what they had. Being injuried and missing some footy is very different to missing almost an entire year, and not doing much when you do play.

Troy also wasn't a top 10.
Harry played footy this year as well. Played at least the back 4-6 games of VFL and played a few at the start including pre season games. He was only out of the side for like 12 weeks. And to be honest. If he wasnt at an AFL club he probably would have spent more time on the sidelines because we were definitely being careful with him

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Harry played footy this year as well. Played at least the back 4-6 games of VFL and played a few at the start including pre season games. He was only out of the side for like 12 weeks. And to be honest. If he wasnt at an AFL club he probably would have spent more time on the sidelines because we were definitely being careful with him

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
I'm not going to continue beyond this post because I don't want to sound like I'm being critical of a 1st or 2nd year Carlton player. After all it's hardly Harry's fault he got injuried early, and then didn't have the time to get back into full match fitness before the end of the year.

But I do stand by my second round comment, and there's not a chance in hell he'd go pick 1. Maybe if he had a full year of development in the VFL and everything went right but that didn't happen. No point pretending otherwise.

I'm not going to continue beyond this post because I don't want to sound like I'm being critical of a 1st or 2nd year Carlton player. After all it's hardly Harry's fault he got injuried early, and then didn't have the time to get back into full match fitness before the end of the year.

But I do stand by my second round comment, and there's not a chance in hell he'd go pick 1. Maybe if he had a full year of development in the VFL and everything went right but that didn't happen. No point pretending otherwise.

Harry probably doesn't get the stress fracture at all if he played TAC this year.

It was most probably the result of his introduction to consistently hard training that saw the stress come on in a young developing big body.

If he plays TAC this year, he probably dominates and wears * colors next year imo.

But we will never know, and i am rapt we had the foresight to snap up the tall timber last year.