Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

If you have the chance to get silk you take it without batting an eyelid.

Improving the quality of the list is the aim, you are right there but three top 30 players has the potential to end up with a couple of list-cloggers too.

Top-end talent should not be frittered away on a buy-one-get-two-free scheme.

I get that, but the word is that the draft is even, after McLuggage, Brodie and Petrovski-Seton it's very much each to their own flavour as I hear it.

Not really. Venables, Jonty, Scrimshaw, Clarke, Ainsworth (I think he can play well in the middle as well as being that small forward we need). Can't see any of these guys being available after pick #15.

Clarke seems like he will. Question marks on his kicking.

More what I mean than "we could get any of the best guys at these picks" is "all of the guys after these picks sit at about the same level of rating". A lot of hands got raised in the U/18 champs, still the rest of the TAC cup to go. I would think that more than a few will bolt up, and some of the above will slide throughout.

To put it another way, I would rather have 3 shots (4 with our existing 2nd rounder) at getting quality, then 2. Picks in the top 5 aren't bullet proof after all.

Clarke seems like he will. Question marks on his kicking.

More what I mean than "we could get any of the best guys at these picks" is "all of the guys after these picks sit at about the same level of rating". A lot of hands got raised in the U/18 champs, still the rest of the TAC cup to go. I would think that more than a few will bolt up, and some of the above will slide throughout.

To put it another way, I would rather have 3 shots (4 with our existing 2nd rounder) at getting quality, then 2. Picks in the top 5 aren't bullet proof after all.

Who are three to four players that you are expecting to be available at say pick #25+?

Yeah but Collingwood might not win another game and fall below us. Reckon we'll end up with pick 5-6.
Yeah pick 5 is certainly a possibility but I reckon Collingwood will knock off the Tigers and there're a show against the Suns the pies are recovering and the team is slowly taking shape . Freo also will win a few more I reckon
Just depends on which personal they want to put on the park.

Yeah pick 5 is certainly a possibility but I reckon Collingwood will knock off the Tigers and there're a show against the Suns the pies are recovering and the team is slowly taking shape . Freo also will win a few more I reckon

Yep. Pies will be playing to win. They don't have a first rounder this year and Bucks wouldn't want to toy with his coaching future.

Freo have a tough run home, I don't see them winning more than 7 games.

Us however, I can see us winning around 8 games total.

Warning! Long post incoming!

I am in no way shape or form, an expert when it comes to analysing draft talent, but I did watch the national championships on Foxtel and I do keep a regular eye on the phantom draft boards to see if professional observers opinions, mirror mine.

The more I think about it, the more I am leaning toward hitting the draft really hard again this year instead of going ahead with the rumoured GWS 4 trade. And I mean really hard! Would love to get another 3 first round picks to go with the one we already have and have been pondering on how we would achieve it...

Going by Knightmares current power list here is the group of 4 kids I want drafted and why and approximately what picks will be required to get them (or at least a ball park figure anyway).

Pick 5. Todd Marshall
Pick 7. Daniel Venables
Pick 11. Ben Ainsworth
Pick 17. Jonty Scharenberg

Going by current ladder position, we already hold pick 5 which ticks off Marshall.

I'm picking Todd Marshall here because presumably Brodie and McLuggage are gone (and I have a bad feeling about SPS so not interested in him) and although we have recently recruited McKay, he's no certainty to make it let alone be a star. To me Marshall seems like a safer bet (with no disrespect to McKay) but we could get super lucky and have them both dominate. Twin towers up in the forward line stretching and destroying defences for the next decade would be amazing.

Knightmares take:
5. Todd Marshall (NSW/ACT)
Best position: Key forward
Height, weight: 198cm, 87kg
Recruited from: Murray Bushrangers
Plays like: Darcy Moore
Projected draft range: top 10
Rated last month: 3
Rationale behind ranking/change of ranking: Showing all the attributes to be a star key forward at AFL level, with his speed, agility and cleanness below the knees at his height, plus the fact he hasn't always focused on AFL growing up. The scope to develop is there. Just needs to improve his numbers and become physically stronger.
Strengths:
- Clean below knees
- Agility
- Pace
- Football smarts
- Strong mark overhead
- Attacks ball in flight
- Height for a key forward
- Scope to improve having only this season given up cricket to focus on AFL
Weaknesses:
- Size and strength
- Strength in one-on-one contests
- Set shot goalkicking technique needs ironing out, with too much arc on run-up
- Limited to playing in front 50m

We trade Levi Casboult to Brisbane for pick 24 (785 points). They could be interested in the big fella and they would still have picks 2 and 20 to hit the draft with.

We trade Matty Kreuzer to the Doggies for pick 31 (606 points). Doggies could do with a ruckman and so could a few other teams (bombers) for their 2nd rounder, but I just chose the dogs as I'd HATE to see Kruz in a bombers jumper!!

We trade picks 23, 24 and 31 (2206 points) plus our 2017 2nd rounder (which if we don't improve, will be 815 points for next season) to the Giants for picks 8 and 17 (2576 points).
Now this puts the Giants 370 points down on this year purely for this trade. But, I'm sure they could make them points up easily in other trades to other teams for McCarthy and Marchbank etc and they bank 815 points for next years batch of academy kids. So that's 3021 points staggered over the 2 years for GWS (The bulk of which come this year) which I think would appeal to them.

Knightmare rates Venables at 7 so pick 8 should be around the mark and pick 17 is bang on for Scharenberg.

I'm picking Dan Venables here because it feels like he generates heaps of explosive power to break out of packs and hit targets and kick goals, plus he displays excellent kicking skills and he is just as capable up forward as he is in the midfield as a dangerous inside mid. Getting serious Dustin Martin vibes from him but without the d***head off field issues. Has drawn comparisons to Dangerfield when playing at his best.

Knightmares take:
7. Daniel Venables (VIC)
Best position: General forward
Height, weight: 186cm, 81kg
Recruited from: Western Jets
Plays like: Jack Crisp/Christian Petracca
Projected draft range: first round
Rated last month: 9
Rationale behind ranking/change of ranking: Consolidating high rating showing a diverse range of AFL-quality attributes with hardness at the ball and tackling standing out.
Strengths:
- Hard tackling
- Contested-ball winning ability
- Explosive pace and breakaway speed from stoppages
- Scoreboard impact
- Finishing ability on the move
- Excellent both forward and through the midfield
- Damaging ball user by hand and foot
- Strong mark overhead
Weaknesses:
- Can spend some time through the midfield and have an impact without looking like a full-time midfielder
- Work rate
- Lack of exposed form due to injuries

I'm picking Jonty Scharenberg here because he is an absolute beast of an inside mid and would help Cripps out tremendously. Not only does he have an amazing contested game, but as isn't usually the case with inside mids, he has great skills by hand and foot as well. His downfall is he's not very flexible and can only play midfield, but I feel that's exactly what we need especially if we got Venables and Ainsworth who can play both mid and forward. Has drawn comparisons to Matt Priddis.

Knightmares take:
17. Jonty Scharenberg (SA)

Best position: Inside midfield

Height, weight: 185cm, 79kg

Recruited from: Glenelg

Plays like: Dominic Sheed/Callan Ward
Projected draft range: first round to second round

Rated last month: 21

Rationale behind ranking/change of ranking: Moves up on the back of a strong U18 championships, where his ball use by hand and foot were a feature.

Strengths:

- Production

- Precise footskills

- Vision

- Decision-making

- Quick, clean hands

- Ability to win first possession at stoppages

- Can get rid of ball when tackled by keeping arms high

- Stoppage work
- Tackling ability

- Finishing ability around goal

Weaknesses:

- Pace
- Athleticism

- Versatility

- Lack of an X-factor

We trade Everitt and picks 41 and 49 (699 points) to the Suns for pick 9. This values Everitt at around pick 25 which is probably overs, however they were apparently very interested in Dre last year so they might do it. They have Bowes and Scheer projected to go very high in the draft but with our 700 points coming back their way they would easily have them covered without pick 9. I feel this is the weakest link in my chain and would need a bit more to get it through, but not sure what.... Buckley? Daisy? Tuohy?

I'm picking Ben Ainsworth here because we need a genuine small forward and this kid is that but is also very adept in the midfield as well. He's been drawing comparisons with Boomer Harvey and if he turns out to be remotely close to that, you'd be mad to pass him by.

Knightmares take:
11. Ben Ainsworth (VIC)
Best position: Forward pocket
Height, weight: 179cm, 74kg
Recruited from: Gippsland Power
Plays like: Jamie Elliott
Rated last month: 20
Rationale behind ranking/change of ranking: Impact per possession and that vertical leap and strength of hands overhead sees him rise.
Strengths:
- Vertical leap
- Aerial marking
- Vice-like strong hands overhead
- Ability to read flight of the ball
- One-on-one marking
- Football smarts
- Impact per possession
- Able to push into midfield
- Ground-ball winning ability
- Athleticism
- Footskills
- Vision
- Decision-making
- Tackling and pressuring
Weaknesses:
- Conversion in front of goal
- Endurance

We hit the draft hard again this year with 4 picks inside the top 17 (before academy selections). Would leave us with 8 first round selections in the past 2 years (4 of which are top 10 selections)... That's how you start a rebuild people!! Plus we've managed to keep our 2017 first round pick as well.

Of course player rankings will change as we get closer to the draft, but something about these 4 players really appeals to me. The gun key forward, the gun big inside mid that is as awesome in the mid as well as up forward, the gun small forward that is capable to run through the middle, the gun inside mid with elite disposal. Also, I believe these guys will hold us in great stead for some sustained success, more so than the 2 Giants we actually want and the other 2 which will be surplus to needs.

Lineup by the end of 2017 and into 2018 could look something like this...

FB Byrne Weitering Tuohy
HB Docherty Plowman Gibbs
C Boekhorst Scharenberg Sumner
R Phillips Cripps Murphy
HF C. Curnow McKay Venables
FF Silvagni Marshall Ainsworth

INT FROM E.Curnow Kerridge Cuningham Simpson Wright Jaksch Lamb Whiley Graham Thomas Buckley Rainbow Gorringe Glass-McCasker

The flexibility in that forward line is amazing with Curnow, Venables and Ainsworth capable midfielders as well as McKay backing Phillips up in the ruck and having Jaksch up there when he does with the possibility of being swung down back as well if a big body is needed down there.

Cripps, Scharenberg, Venables, on the inside feeding the likes of Murphy, Gibbs and Boekhorst on the outside makes for a tantalising midfield composition.

And our defence is solid as has been displayed so far this season although by 2018 there will be a gaping hole in it left by Simpson... Hopefully a DVR or Buckley can step up by then.

TL;DR... Trade lots for young guns (4 picks in the top 17)

Pipe dreams?
Probably, but there's no harm in dreaming!

The upcoming National draft will be an excellent draft to try and copy last years effort as it will be all high end talent through the top 10-12, any of which could easily go way earlier.
It will depend on how clubs rate players and certainly on a needs basis.
For the CFC, the " re-set " has a blue print which will be followed with no room for changes on the way. A well set out structured plan with with a strict process set up to build strategically for long term success.
SOS, will have to be on point and no doubt has his work cut out for him to get as many high draft picks as possible.
Realistically a pick inside the top 5 and another inside 20, would be a reasonable outcome. There isn't the players to trade to secure a second top 10 pick, so it will come down to trading out our picks, not our first to get a better draft position early on.
Two picks inside the top 20, focusing on midfielders to give ours more talent, flexibility and depth.
With the direction the club is heading, I think we will be pleasantly surprised with the outcome of this years draft and trade periods and more so get a look at a list starting to take shape as a future contender.

No matter what happens we'll get more top line talent into the club. But we really need to go out there and try to win games of footy.

I don't understand. Surely it's more important to get slightly lower draft picks then win footy games.

Where's your priorities?

I agree totally we are lacking in talent and need to replenish by all means possible.
Re draft picks , I'm anxious that we do land a high quality on baller with our first.
But absolutely not at the cost of a wining culture, Bolton as done an amazing job to date he has regained some much respect for the Baggers.
Go Blues

Warning! Long post incoming!

I am in no way shape or form, an expert when it comes to analysing draft talent, but I did watch the national championships on Foxtel and I do keep a regular eye on the phantom draft boards to see if professional observers opinions, mirror mine.

The more I think about it, the more I am leaning toward hitting the draft really hard again this year instead of going ahead with the rumoured GWS 4 trade. And I mean really hard! Would love to get another 3 first round picks to go with the one we already have and have been pondering on how we would achieve it...

Going by Knightmares current power list here is the group of 4 kids I want drafted and why and approximately what picks will be required to get them (or at least a ball park figure anyway).

Pick 5. Todd Marshall
Pick 7. Daniel Venables
Pick 11. Ben Ainsworth
Pick 17. Jonty Scharenberg

Going by current ladder position, we already hold pick 5 which ticks off Marshall.

I'm picking Todd Marshall here because presumably Brodie and McLuggage are gone (and I have a bad feeling about SPS so not interested in him) and although we have recently recruited McKay, he's no certainty to make it let alone be a star. To me Marshall seems like a safer bet (with no disrespect to McKay) but we could get super lucky and have them both dominate. Twin towers up in the forward line stretching and destroying defences for the next decade would be amazing.

Knightmares take:
5. Todd Marshall (NSW/ACT)
Best position: Key forward
Height, weight: 198cm, 87kg
Recruited from: Murray Bushrangers
Plays like: Darcy Moore
Rated last month: 3
Rationale behind ranking/change of ranking: Showing all the attributes to be a star key forward at AFL level, with his speed, agility and cleanness below the knees at his height, plus the fact he hasn't always focused on AFL growing up. The scope to develop is there. Just needs to improve his numbers and become physically stronger.
Strengths:
- Clean below knees
- Agility
- Pace
- Football smarts
- Strong mark overhead
- Attacks ball in flight
- Height for a key forward
- Scope to improve having only this season given up cricket to focus on AFL
Weaknesses:
- Size and strength
- Strength in one-on-one contests
- Set shot goalkicking technique needs ironing out, with too much arc on run-up
- Limited to playing in front 50m

We trade Levi Casboult to Brisbane for pick 24 (785 points). They could be interested in the big fella and they would still have picks 2 and 20 to hit the draft with.

We trade Matty Kreuzer to the Doggies for pick 31 (606 points). Doggies could do with a ruckman and so could a few other teams (bombers) for their 2nd rounder, but I just chose the dogs as I'd HATE to see Kruz in a bombers jumper!!

We trade picks 23, 24 and 31 (2206 points) plus our 2017 2nd rounder (which if we don't improve, will be 815 points for next season) to the Giants for picks 8 and 17 (2576 points).
Now this puts the Giants 370 points down on this year purely for this trade. But, I'm sure they could make them points up easily in other trades to other teams for McCarthy and Marchbank etc and they bank 815 points for next years batch of academy kids. So that's 3021 points staggered over the 2 years for GWS (The bulk of which come this year) which I think would appeal to them.

Knightmare rates Venables at 7 so pick 8 should be around the mark and pick 17 is bang on for Scharenberg.

I'm picking Dan Venables here because it feels like he generates heaps of explosive power to break out of packs and hit targets and kick goals, plus he displays excellent kicking skills and he is just as capable up forward as he is in the midfield as a dangerous inside mid. Getting serious Dustin Martin vibes from him but without the d***head off field issues. Has drawn comparisons to Dangerfield when playing at his best.

Knightmares take:
7. Daniel Venables (VIC)
Best position: General forward
Height, weight: 186cm, 81kg
Recruited from: Western Jets
Plays like: Jack Crisp/Christian Petracca
Projected draft range: first round
Rated last month: 9
Rationale behind ranking/change of ranking: Consolidating high rating showing a diverse range of AFL-quality attributes with hardness at the ball and tackling standing out.
Strengths:
- Hard tackling
- Explosive pace and breakaway speed from stoppages
- Scoreboard impact
- Finishing ability on the move
- Excellent both forward and through the midfield
- Damaging ball user by hand and foot
- Strong mark overhead
Weaknesses:
- Can spend some time through the midfield and have an impact without looking like a full-time midfielder
- Work rate
- Lack of exposed form due to injuries

I'm picking Jonty Scharenberg here because he is an absolute beast of an inside mid and would help Cripps out tremendously. Not only does he have an amazing contested game, but as isn't usually the case with inside mids, he has great skills by hand and foot as well. His downfall is he's not very flexible and can only play midfield, but I feel that's exactly what we need especially if we got Venables and Ainsworth who can play both mid and forward. Has drawn comparisons to Matt Priddis.

Knightmares take:
17. Jonty Scharenberg (SA)

Best position: Inside midfield

Height, weight: 185cm, 79kg

Recruited from: Glenelg

Plays like: Dominic Sheed/Callan Ward
Projected draft range: first round to second round

Rated last month: 21

Rationale behind ranking/change of ranking: Moves up on the back of a strong U18 championships, where his ball use by hand and foot were a feature.

Strengths:

- Production

- Precise footskills

- Vision

- Decision-making

- Quick, clean hands

- Ability to win first possession at stoppages

- Can get rid of ball when tackled by keeping arms high

- Stoppage work
- Tackling ability

- Finishing ability around goal

Weaknesses:

- Pace
- Athleticism

- Versatility

- Lack of an X-factor

We trade Everitt and picks 41 and 49 (699 points) to the Suns for pick 9. This values Everitt at around pick 25 which is probably overs, however they were apparently very interested in Dre last year so they might do it. They have Bowes and Scheer projected to go very high in the draft but with our 700 points coming back their way they would easily have them covered without pick 9. I feel this is the weakest link in my chain and would need a bit more to get it through, but not sure what.... Buckley? Daisy? Tuohy?

I'm picking Ben Ainsworth here because we need a genuine small forward and this kid is that but is also very adept in the midfield as well. He's been drawing comparisons with Boomer Harvey and if he turns out to be remotely close to that, you'd be mad to pass him by.

Knightmares take:
11. Ben Ainsworth (VIC)
Best position: Forward pocket
Height, weight: 179cm, 74kg
Recruited from: Gippsland Power
Plays like: Jamie Elliott
Rated last month: 20
Rationale behind ranking/change of ranking: Impact per possession and that vertical leap and strength of hands overhead sees him rise.
Strengths:
- Vertical leap
- Aerial marking
- Vice-like strong hands overhead
- Ability to read flight of the ball
- One-on-one marking
- Football smarts
- Impact per possession
- Able to push into midfield
- Ground-ball winning ability
- Athleticism
- Footskills
- Vision
- Decision-making
- Tackling and pressuring
Weaknesses:
- Conversion in front of goal
- Endurance

We hit the draft hard again this year with 4 picks inside the top 17 (before academy selections). Would leave us with 8 first round selections in the past 2 years (4 of which are top 10 selections)... That's how you start a rebuild people!! Plus we've managed to keep our 2017 first round pick as well.

Of course player rankings will change as we get closer to the draft, but something about these 4 players really appeals to me. The gun key forward, the gun big inside mid that is as awesome in the mid as well as up forward, the gun small forward that is capable to run through the middle, the gun inside mid with elite disposal. Also, I believe these guys will hold us in great stead for some sustained success, more so than the 2 Giants we actually want and the other 2 which will be surplus to needs.

Lineup by the end of 2017 and into 2018 could look something like this...

FB Byrne Weitering Tuohy
HB Docherty Plowman Gibbs
C Boekhorst Scharenberg Sumner
R Phillips Cripps Murphy
HF C. Curnow McKay Venables
FF Silvagni Marshall Ainsworth

INT FROM E.Curnow Kerridge Cuningham Simpson Wright Jaksch Lamb Whiley Graham Thomas Buckley Rainbow Gorringe Glass-McCasker

The flexibility in that forward line is amazing with Curnow, Venables and Ainsworth capable midfielders as well as McKay backing Phillips up in the ruck and having Jaksch up there when he does with the possibility of being swung down back as well if a big body is needed down there.

Cripps, Scharenberg, Venables, on the inside feeding the likes of Murphy, Gibbs and Boekhorst on the outside makes for a tantalising midfield composition.

And our defence is solid as has been displayed so far this season although by 2018 there will be a gaping hole in it left by Simpson... Hopefully a DVR or Buckley can step up by then.

TL;DR... Trade lots for young guns (4 picks in the top 17)

Pipe dreams?
Probably, but there's no harm in dreaming!
Some sort of post. Will bag it when I get around to reading it.

Pick out one part of it that you disagree with the most, ignore the rest and point to that part as being representative of the way the poster thinks and their level of intelligence in general.

Then you can go forth and post on the main board.

Pick out one part of it that you disagree with the most, ignore the rest and point to that part as being representative of the way the poster thinks and their level of intelligence in general.

Then you can go forth and post on the main board.

I think it's pretty poor form for you to be insulting probes' intelligence.

#amidoinitrite