Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Ultimately if one player proves to be a bit better than the other that's the one l would like. Whether it be Ainsworth McGrath venables, lm not fussed. All 3 will be very good if they reach there potential. I thought Ainsworth was brilliant at last years champs.

But l think we have been bitten before a number of times by the lack of endurance and work rate. We struggled to get Yarran and Menzel up to scratch. Dvr is struggling. Jaksch has work rate issues.

I do think Ainsworth and venables have higher ceilings. But do you take the guy(McGrath) that has proven himself to have excellent endurance , work rate plus leadership. Pick 5 will be real test for the recruiters.

Watching hawthorn altered my ideas. I've been very keen on support for Cripps. But we were shown up at times by a lack of run and being unable to retain possession because of it. Maybe we just have too many holes to fill.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I was thinking buckley and boekhurst actually added some extra run for us on the weekend i thought they were quite good . Trouble was we didnt have that hit up leading fwd coming down the ground linking our fwd line to general play upfield giving us options coming out of the backline and through the midfield ?

Yeah l thought they did help. We are slow without them. Interesting though is boekhorst. His straight line speed doesn't seen as good as l thought. He's extremely agile but doesn't cruise at a top pace like Hawks smith and hill. Buckley and boeks Impact isn't as high as l would like.

Being able to run fast is one thing, being able to run fast with ball in hand is another! Those Hawks players you're talking about can run bounce and deliver at top speed...

Have faith they are slowly building huge players for us really if they can develop into our smith and hill then that will improve our run massively . I have high hopes that bolts will see them flourish next year . Boeky has a lethal right peg .

If we use our 1st pick on mcgrath, I'm going to be shattered... That he's a little back pocket player that we don't exactly need, not for our 1st anyway, it's got to be Mcluggage or Venables if available, hopefully Kerr with our 2nd, I just see it as a wasted pick if we get McGrath, we don't even need that type of player.

That he's a little back pocket player

He gets a tonne of ball for just a back pocket lol, but that maybe because he's not a back pocket. He's a mid that sometimes plays of HB with good speed excellent disposal and decision making. Something we need. I wouldn't be unhappy at all with him at our first.
Would also love for SOS to somehow get another 2 early or mid second round selections from 20-28 and have 3 picks in that range to target Taranto- Clarke- Z.Fisher - Simpkin - Galluci - Scharenburg - Graham - Drew. This is a good mids draft. Get Kerr to totally bomb his interviews and take him with our third if possible. With another third take L. Bunker who looks like he might drop. Rebuild well on it's way and prepare to furiously masturbate for weeks when we win our 17 in 5 or 6 years time.

Being able to run fast is one thing, being able to run fast with ball in hand is another! Those Hawks players you're talking about can run bounce and deliver at top speed...

Yes it's a good point that it's not just about pure foot speed. A lot of their players combine foot speed with the ability to think and execute at speed. Some of our quicker players don't necessarily have this ability.

Originally l wasn't that excited about a player like McGrath because he did look a little vanilla. Have to be careful about over looking players just because there highlights aren't so great. I did like the fact that he kept on the move, kept running.

The end of the tac cup season could determine the order of the top ten. Guys like venables Ainsworth and McGrath could go up the order if they have big midfield games. All 3 have some slight knocks on them about what they are capable of in midfield.

I am still waiting on suggestions with regards to the players you would have preferred.
12 months ago was super bullish on Ainsworth, so have followed, and accordingly have dropped off. McGrath gave him a bath when made accountable during Champs. See an efficient AFL defence finding his individualism relatively easy to quell. Kid will be a player, but not a top 10 for me.

I will not entertain the prospect of another project tall when we have more pressing needs. Trading a KPP
Or 2 seems more sensible. We have drafted "silk" and need to give it time to develop.

Have posted my draft selections on a few occasions. Don't think everyone needs me to post them
Every day. I get fed up with the same blokes banging on the same thing day after day, so don't tend to do it.
The format of the Phantom you are participating in on our behalf (supposedly.....closed shop) allows for Academy kids in open format (no bidding) so plenty of options.
If we were to maintain our pick, given the mooted draft order, I would look at McGrath. Midfield traits, but
Played off HBF, with Byrne's injury, the perfect forum to be introduced then integrated in to the team.

For the benefit of yourself who swans in from time to time to live on past 'glories', I like Gallucci, Clarke and
Simpkin for the qualities they bring relative to our needs. Feeling that it is likely we will downgrade our first through either GWS or GCS for a trade.

If we could somehow conjure Marchbank and Tomlinson (not fussed Tommo but drumbeats too loud to ignore), as well as either Prestia or O'Meara (if due diligence on medical front) and have a late first and our second pick to utilise, on mids, I would be ecstatic. Not sure how to do this, but SOS was very inventive last year. I could offer some half arsed, delusional theory on how to do it, but would seem a waste of time.

I have posted all of the above previously. Hope that alleviated the need for you to actually acquaint yourself with the thread as opposed to popping in to offer your two cents worth.

Would still love Ainsworth if we can get him with our first rounder.

BLAIR%20Jarryd.png

If we use our 1st pick on mcgrath, I'm going to be shattered... That he's a little back pocket player that we don't exactly need, not for our 1st anyway, it's got to be Mcluggage or Venables if available, hopefully Kerr with our 2nd, I just see it as a wasted pick if we get McGrath, we don't even need that type of player.

I only saw kerr play twice and it was on tv. However to me he just looked like a footballer. Classic leading forward footballer with good hands.

He would be great for us. Second round seems about right.

Does anyone know how he has been going at st kevins? When do the school kids normally go back to the TAC to play?

We also got Cuningham for his speed as well, and I suggest he'll be a lot better after he completes another preseason.
I don't think outside run is what we really need to go after. We need pure mids and another KP defender.

12 months ago was super bullish on Ainsworth, so have followed, and accordingly have dropped off. McGrath gave him a bath when made accountable during Champs. See an efficient AFL defence finding his individualism relatively easy to quell. Kid will be a player, but not a top 10 for me.

I will not entertain the prospect of another project tall when we have more pressing needs. Trading a KPP
Or 2 seems more sensible. We have drafted "silk" and need to give it time to develop.

Have posted my draft selections on a few occasions. Don't think everyone needs me to post them

It was not everyone, it was me simply asking to see your preference. I mean if you dislike a pick, then obviously you had someone in mind that you would have preferred.

Every day. I get fed up with the same blokes banging on the same thing day after day, so don't tend to do it.
The format of the Phantom you are participating in on our behalf (supposedly.....closed shop) allows for Academy kids in open format (no bidding) so plenty of options.

Once again, feel free to offer your suggestion.

If we were to maintain our pick, given the mooted draft order, I would look at McGrath. Midfield traits, but
Played off HBF, with Byrne's injury, the perfect forum to be introduced then integrated in to the team.

So after all your BS about not wanting to say who you would prefer, you pony up and say you wanted McGrath. Well you could have saved a lot of time and effort and stated this fact earlier.

For the benefit of yourself who swans in from time to time to live on past 'glories', I like Gallucci, Clarke and
Simpkin for the qualities they bring relative to our needs.
See now I am confused, you would have preferred McGraph, Gallucci, Clarke or Simpkin with pick 5? Can you narrow it down to one selection so I can swan off enjoying my past glories.

Feeling that it is likely we will downgrade our first through either GWS or GCS for a trade.

If we could somehow conjure Marchbank and Tomlinson (not fussed Tommo but drumbeats too loud to ignore), as well as either Prestia or O'Meara (if due diligence on medical front) and have a late first and our second pick to utilise, on mids, I would be ecstatic. Not sure how to do this, but SOS was very inventive last year. I could offer some half arsed, delusional theory on how to do it, but would seem a waste of time.

I have posted all of the above previously. Hope that alleviated the need for you to actually acquaint yourself with the thread as opposed to popping in to offer your two cents worth.

Thank you for clearing it up for me, it seems that you wanted McGraph, Gallucci, Clarke or Simpkin with pick 5.

Just thought I would alleviate the need for you to do some more research, but here is a person with a greater understanding of the talent than you or me.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-06-30/callum-twomeys-phantom-form-guide

He has Ainsworth rated at 2, so picking him at 5 was not exactly a reach.

I disagree respectfully up until the last 2 years betts has got the majority of his goals against bottom 8 sides . Go check his record in his career against hawthorn and other quality sides . Yes cyril doesnt get as much of the ball as some but he has way more impact than just about anybody on the scoreboard in score assists . Big game player who wins norm smith medals and i believe actually doesnt get the accolades he should . Its amazing how opinions differ hey :D

And would struggle to get a kick in the terrible teams betts played in.

Reckon cyril is a flash in a pan player oft injured.

Betts has had a better career by miles imo

Simmo won't be around forever. McGrath has a brilliant athletics background and is an on field leader and I don't mean this in a Wayne Hughes way but he's played very well in the midfield too on occasions. Bit of a Docherty type.

Watch his highlights clip from the U/18 champs, his disposal was way to errant for him to be considered a worthwhile investment.

You mean a couple of those early kicks here?
Did you miss one, two or three other key qualities here?

What about here? Nothing you like?

He gets a tonne of ball for just a back pocket lol, but that maybe because he's not a back pocket. He's a mid that sometimes plays of HB with good speed excellent disposal and decision making. Something we need. I wouldn't be unhappy at all with him at our first.
Would also love for SOS to somehow get another 2 early or mid second round selections from 20-28 and have 3 picks in that range to target Taranto- Clarke- Z.Fisher - Simpkin - Galluci - Scharenburg - Graham - Drew. This is a good mids draft. Get Kerr to totally bomb his interviews and take him with our third if possible. With another third take L. Bunker who looks like he might drop. Rebuild well on it's way and prepare to furiously masturbate for weeks when we win our 17 in 5 or 6 years time.
I would drool if we could snag two of Simpkin/Drew/Scharenberg with a couple of picks in the early 20's and snag Kerr as well.

Yes please

McGraths a star, one of my good mates. Extremely aerobic and a leader. I played junior footy with him and i always thoight his kick wasnt at that elite level, however i think it is now.
Kerr's a mate too, kicked 8.5 including 2 on the full against GGS a few weeks ago. SKC did score 189 though. Worried about his size though, is he big enough for KPF? Is he aerobic enough for a C. Curnow type?

If Josh Rotham is available with our 2nd we should get him. He is a star in the making.

Thanks for the info TBellicious :thumbsu:

Just on Kerr... We're probably still in need of a big mobile CHF. Curnow running through the middle, Harry alternating with a ruckman, Jack more 3rd tall size. (A role Jaksch was destined to play.)

There will be future drafts. We do have Bailey Rice finishing his apprenticeship at St Kilda in 12 months time, so all is not lost if we don't draft Pat.

McGraths a star, one of my good mates. Extremely aerobic and a leader. I played junior footy with him and i always thoight his kick wasnt at that elite level, however i think it is now.
Kerr's a mate too, kicked 8.5 including 2 on the full against GGS a few weeks ago. SKC did score 189 though. Worried about his size though, is he big enough for KPF? Is he aerobic enough for a C. Curnow type?

If Josh Rotham is available with our 2nd we should get him. He is a star in the making.
You have a good eye! Good post :thumbsup: