Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

I guess not many quite saw that in Zach early on either, given he didn't get picked up until pick #26

Hard to be confident in pushing a view forward on as small a sample as I've seen, but I do feel McGrath will go top 10

Yeah it's all personal opinion. And i also think McGrath is a near certainty to go top 10.

Just on Z.Merrett. He was very much rated and bloody * got lucky he slipped to 26. He was considered a pick in the teens by most. Drafts can fall funnily like that.

Quayle had Sydney picking him at 15 in her Draft Day mock so they must have been close to picking him. Instead they went the wrong Zach. Z.Jones.

McGrath wouldn't be my pick for our 1st, but i wouldn't be disappointed if he was either.

Needs to clean up his disposal, still if we end up with pick 6. Venables and Clarke/Scrimshaw would be great.

Pick 6 though bit more palatable to trade away than 4. GWS4 for pick 6 hmmm

Scrimshaw is a beautiful left foot kick, his short passing is top shelf.
Venables could tidy up kicking IMO.

Would love Dylan Clarke if we can get a pick around 15.

Scrimshaw is a beautiful left foot kick, his short passing is top shelf.
Venables could tidy up kicking IMO.

Would love Dylan Clarke if we can get a pick around 15.

Must be watching a different scrimshaw, yes has a racking left boot but his disposal eff on the weekend wasn't great at all.

Another 3 goals for Ainsworth at the weekend & named in the best players. McCluggage kicked a couple & was also named in his team's best players.
McGrath with 40 and 22 handball receives would compliment Cripps well especially with his attitude and leadership I think he is favorite to go at 5

Still stuck on the same names for now but that will likely change in weeks to come.

Brodie, McCluggage, Petrevski-Seton, McGrath, Ainsworth & Scrimshaw.

The one guy who I feel may drop down the pecking order, is actually Brodie. Has many terrific traits but not really a stand out one, to me.

Yeah agree 100% Out of those 6 guys Brodie is definitely the most vanilla, but he does have a element of bust proof that comes with that.
If a few things go a certain way SOS may very well be reading Brodie's name out on draft night.
I really like the position we will be picking in. We could hit the jackpot but either way we're getting a very good footballer with that pick.

McCluggage 187cm tall outside/inside goal kicking mid, kicks flashy goals.
SPS 182cm the smooth mover who has elite kicking skills.
Anisworth Forward/midfielder 180cm, but powerful and explosive
McGrath. 184cm Ball carrier outside mid type.
Scrimshaw 193cm smooth mover, has a ripper left boot.
Bowes 187cm inside/outside goal kicking mid.
Brodie 188cm inside clearence beast.

Must be watching a different scrimshaw, yes has a racking left boot but his disposal eff on the weekend wasn't great at all.

He may not have had a good game DE wise, but he has a beautiful kicking style and get really good penetration.
May be it's just because it reminds me of the Bont.

McGrath with 40 and 22 handball receives would compliment Cripps well especially with his attitude and leadership I think he is favorite to go at 5

That twice his had 40 or more touches, last time he had 19 tackles.
It's clear this kid could potential play as a midfielder. If we want to add pace to our midfield this kid is probably the best player in this years draft to do that.

Yeah it's all personal opinion. And i also think McGrath is a near certainty to go top 10.

Just on Z.Merrett. He was very much rated and bloody * got lucky he slipped to 26. He was considered a pick in the teens by most. Drafts can fall funnily like that.

Quayle had Sydney picking him at 15 in her Draft Day mock so they must have been close to picking him. Instead they went the wrong Zach. Z.Jones.

McGrath wouldn't be my pick for our 1st, but i wouldn't be disappointed if he was either.

Has McGrath shown any signs of shirking a contest? If so, then NO.

Our only really successful pick since 2005 was a guy who laughs at the face of danger. No more Lucas types!

Has McGrath shown any signs of shirking a contest? If so, then NO.

Our only really successful pick since 2005 was a guy who laughs at the face of danger. No more Lucas types!

Went on to Anisworth when he had kicked 4 in a quarter at champs and not only absolutely shut him down, but ran off him and helped get Metro back in the game.
He is nothing like a Lucas type. I'm thinking more Jack Stevens type.

I hope we don't end up with pick 6 because lm comfortable with top 5 non academy players.GC mightn't have to use 4 on Bowes.
Brodie
Mcluggage
SPS
Ainsworth
McGrath
I like what l've seen of these 5. Feel like safe bets. I haven't seen enough of scrimshaw, just checked out YouTube and he looks ok but it's only a brief highlights package. Little bit of Pendlebury in him.

I will be a bit dirty if we slip to pick 6.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

That twice his had 40 or more touches, last time he had 19 tackles.
It's clear this kid could potential play as a midfielder. If we want to add pace to our midfield this kid is probably the best player in this years draft to do that.

Those are midfielders stats every day of the week, 40 touches and 19 tackles is a ridiculous work rate

Yeah very impressive numbers. 40 touches 22 handball receives last weekend too.
There no way your teammates are feeding you the footy 22 times in one game, unless your doing something pretty useful with the footy when they do.

I rate McGrath highly and he has played in the midfield recently, but I'm just wary of declaring he'll definitely play midfield in the AFL. Certainly has all the athletic traits etc but we know all to well about flankers (albeit of very good quality) becoming midfielders.

I would still have a good think about drafting him purely as a half back flanker at pick 5 or 6.

Went on to Anisworth when he had kicked 4 in a quarter at champs and not only absolutely shut him down, but ran off him and helped get Metro back in the game.
He is nothing like a Lucas type. I'm thinking more Jack Stevens type.

I meant Lucas type in his endeavour to win the ball. If he's scared of getting tackled then we will be unwise to pick him up.

I don't know as much about him as you do but from what I've seen and heard, he seems like an icing on the cake type of player. Correct me if I'm wrong.

We have a clearance king with Cripps. We have a pretty good outside mid in Gibbs. Problem with Gibbs is he goes missing too often especially when Murphy is out. I think what we really need first is another inside mid to help Crippa out.

But if McGrath isn't scared of being tackled, then I'm all for picking him up. He does seem to like taking it on with his run and carry and has some pace as well so it just depends on whether he can become a permanent mid.

Maybe the best way to go would be to grab McGrath with our first pick and then pickup Clark with our second rounder or a late first if we end up with one.

I meant Lucas type in his endeavour to win the ball. If he's scared of getting tackled then we will be unwise to pick him up.

I don't know as much about him as you do but from what I've seen and heard, he seems like an icing on the cake type of player. Correct me if I'm wrong.

We have a clearance king with Cripps. We have a pretty good outside mid in Gibbs. Problem with Gibbs is he goes missing too often especially when Murphy is out. I think what we really need first is another inside mid to help Crippa out.

But if McGrath isn't scared of being tackled, then I'm all for picking him up. He does seem to like taking it on with his run and carry and has some pace as well so it just depends on whether he can become a permanent mid.

Maybe the best way to go would be to grab McGrath with our first pick and then pickup Clark with our second rounder or a late first if we end up with one.

A lot of what McGrath has shown this year, would suggest that he's game would translate into a midfield role.
His not going to be your 10 beast like clearances a game type mid, but he is definitely the player you want on the end of that beast like clearance.
Has a very strong athletics back ground, which can only be a plus.
He was outstanding for Metro across half back, gave them so much run and set up heaps of play.
Also took some great intercept and over head marks. Great leadership qualities Vic Metro Co-Captain IIRC.

IMO Gibbs plays his best footy when he hunts the footy. He's a big boy and it time for him to step up and help Crippa around the stoppages, like he did on Sunday. Think they had 20+ clearances between them.
This needs to be Gibbs role next year, we need Bryce to be a contested beast.

Would also love to add Dylan Clarke to our midfield. His brother is a good footballer and I rate Dylan way higher.
I'd have him the 2nd best pure clearance player in the draft, not sure why he isn't receiving more hype TBH.
188cm running machine, clearance machine, wins heaps of footy, high tackle count every game, pretty good left boot. There is a lot to like, IMO he will go top 20

A lot of what McGrath has shown this year, would suggest that he's game would translate into a midfield role.
His not going to be your 10 beast like clearances a game type mid, but he is definitely the player you want on the end of that beast like clearance.
Has a very strong athletics back ground, which can only be a plus.
He was outstanding for Metro across half back, gave them so much run and set up heaps of play.
Also took some great intercept and over head marks. Great leadership qualities Vic Metro Co-Captain IIRC.

IMO Gibbs plays his best footy when he hunts the footy. He's a big boy and it time for him to step up and help Crippa around the stoppages, like he did on Sunday. Think they had 20+ clearances between them.
This needs to be Gibbs role next year, we need Bryce to be a contested beast.

Would also love to add Dylan Clarke to our midfield. His brother is a good footballer and I rate Dylan way higher.
I'd have him the 2nd best pure clearance player in the draft, not sure why he isn't receiving more hype TBH.
188cm running machine, clearance machine, wins heaps of footy, high tackle count every game, pretty good left boot. There is a lot to like, IMO he will go top 20
We definitely need some quality outside run and a bit more inside grunt.

Say we were to grab another late first, say 14-16.

A combination of;

McGrath & Clarke

Or on the flip side;

Brodie & Scrimshaw

Would be lovely.

With McGrath, Ainsworth, McLuggage and Marshall's stocks seemingly rising, the possibility of the Brodie/Scrimshaw double is looking possible. And that would be an AMAZING outcome.

We definitely need some quality outside run and a bit more inside grunt.

Say we were to grab another late first, say 14-16.

A combination of;

McGrath & Clarke

Or on the flip side;

Brodie & Scrimshaw

Would be lovely.

With McGrath, Ainsworth, McLuggage and Marshall's stocks seemingly rising, the possibility of the Brodie/Scrimshaw double is looking possible. And that would be an AMAZING outcome.

Brodie is still favorite for Ess at No1 in my book.

I think so too, but you never know. In that case McLuggage is still a chance. Whoever it is, Ainsworth and McGrath putting in great performances is only a positive for us as it shakes the order up a bit. Causes some chaos.

Him (or McLuggage), Merrett, Parish. Bam. Already ahead of us rebuilding their midfield.

Shoulda let Hurley go. Idiots.
Pity their top end talent is garbage (outside of Heppel) and they have a crap coach, crap forward line and are a bunch of drugged up scumbags.

Still that's only three young midfielders.

If we get two guns this draft it's suddenly.

Cripps, gun, gun, Charlie Curnow, Dave Cuningham... bam bam. Gun midfield.

Him (or McLuggage), Merrett, Parish. Bam. Already ahead of us rebuilding their midfield.

Shoulda let Hurley go. Idiots.

To a point as they do have Watson, Goddard and Stanton dropping off the other end, whilst we have Gibbs & Murphy for a few years yet.

Bolton is already pressing his claims for more mids.....and he'll get them.