• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Look at those midfields;

O'Loughlin
Brodie, Clarke, Drew, Petrevski-Seton, Scharenberg, Setterfield with English rucking.
Judd
Bowes, McLuggage, Perryman, Powell-Pepper, Taranto, McGrath, Ainsworth

This is definitely a midfielders draft.

I am really hoping that we get some extra picks in during trade week because I would love to draft Powell-Pepper after his effort in the Grand Final. 22 disposals, 7 tackles and 4.1 in a losing side shows that he can play in a big game and is not worried about pressure.

Taranto is the one player in the top group that I'm stuggling to get excited about.
186cm forward mid. Isn't a contested ball beast, isn't by any means quick and ball use is just ok.
I know he is a very good overhead mark, but he reminds me a lot of Ben Lennon. HFF type.

I would say Taranto is nothing like Ben Lennon.

Big tank(15.5 beep already), great workrate.

I'm not sure he's quite Pick 5 caliber(bloody close though), but Taranto is a ripper modern h/f midfielder who does it all. He's just a real player whose work translates to the scoreboard more than most.

I would say Taranto is nothing like Ben Lennon.

Big tank(15.5 beep already), great workrate.

I'm not sure he's quite Pick 5 caliber(bloody close though), but Taranto is a ripper modern h/f midfielder who does it all. He's just a real player whose work translates to the scoreboard more than most.

The Lennon call might have been a bit harsh, as Lennon has shown nothing to even suggest that he could be a midfielder.

I'd be pretty gutted if we took Taranto at 5. I just see him struggling to make it as a mid at AFL level.
Looks slow isn't great with ball in hand and doesn't really rack up big clearance numbers.
Overhead marking is very impressive and he may still have plenty of development left in him.
Just don't think he is the right player for Carlton.

Also nice his grandfather is in our hall of fame. If only his father could have eeked out another lazy 51 games!

But I also really hope we're able to get him with a pick in our 20s, that's why I'm not big on trading that one.
They changed the requirements back in the early 90s... cost us Matty Lloyd as a F/S

Marshall is not worth pick #5, mecurial yes, but also soft, thin shouldered and not a hard enough worker.

DO NOT WANT

Hopefully someone above us cries out for a KPF though.
Freo... if they can retain pick 3 and still get McCarthy. I reckon that they would jump at either Marshall or English.

That would be perfect for us, if Freo do that AND someone bide on Bowes in the top 3. We'd have a shot at one of McLuggage, McGrath or Brodie, who imo are the clear top 3 candidates

View attachment 293615

Would sooner watch this than the GF.
May go...
Interesting... Jeremy Goddard hasn't made either team... considering 12 months ago the tv pundits were raving about him being the standout ruckman for the 2016 draft. It's amazing how much people can slide in 12 months.

Maybe he might be a massive slider in the ND and we can grab him with a late(ish) pick.

good. cant give up pick 5 and need more picks inside top 25.
I would be tempted to use our 2017 first round pick as part of the trade deal for Marchbank et al... and I would want to try and get back pick 7 as well. Might have to do some fancy stepping with our later picks to get a deal organised.

If we trade Tuohy to Shitney for pick 17/18, we could use that on Marchbank et al and use the 2017 first round pick to get pick 7.

That could potentially give us Brodie and Scrimshaw.

I would be tempted to use our 2017 first round pick as part of the trade deal for Marchbank et al... and I would want to try and get back pick 7 as well. Might have to do some fancy stepping with our later picks to get a deal organised.

If we trade Tuohy to Shitney for pick 17/18, we could use that on Marchbank et al and use the 2017 first round pick to get pick 7.

That could potentially give us Brodie and Scrimshaw.
Yep, that's what I want to do, trade 2017 1st to either GWS for #7 or GC for #6.

Brodie & Scimshaw is a quality pairing and exactly what we need going forward. If we keep pick #23 another hard nut like Powell-Pepper, Drew or Scharenberg would basically completely reshape our midfield.

Yep, that's what I want to do, trade 2017 1st to either GWS for #7 or GC for #6.

Brodie & Scimshaw is a quality pairing and exactly what we need going forward. If we keep pick #23 another hard nut like Powell-Pepper, Drew or Scharenberg would basically completely reshape our midfield.
Trade Graham and Everitt to GC17 with our 2017 first round pick for pick 6 and a second round pick in the 20's.

We could then use that second round pick in the trade for Marchbank et al... especially if we trade Tuohy to Shitney for 17/18. Use 17/18 and the GC17 second round pick for Marchbank, Stewart and Pickett.

Go to the draft with 5, 6, 23, 41 and 53/54.

That could well be Brodie, Scrimshaw, SPP, Kerr and whoever at 53/54 (although we could trade that pick back to Footscray for Hrovat).

Trade Graham and Everitt to GC17 with our 2017 first round pick for pick 6 and a second round pick in the 20's.

We could then use that second round pick in the trade for Marchbank et al... especially if we trade Tuohy to Shitney for 17/18. Use 17/18 and the GC17 second round pick for Marchbank, Stewart and Pickett.

That could well be Brodie, Scrimshaw, SPP, Kerr and whoever at 53/54 (although we could trade that pick back to Footscray for Hrovat).

Kerbatieh at 53??

FB: Plowman Weitering Byrne
HB: Docherty Marchbank Buckley
R: (...) Cripps Brodie
C: Scrimshaw Powell-Pepper Cuningham
HF: Curnow McKay Sumner
FF: Silvagni Kerr Kerbatieh

That's a juicy looking under 24 side.

Kerbatieh at 53??

FB: Plowman Weitering Byrne
HB: Docherty Marchbank Buckley
R: (...) Cripps Brodie
C: Scrimshaw Powell-Pepper Cuningham
HF: Curnow McKay Sumner
FF: Silvagni Kerr Kerbatieh

That's a juicy looking under 24 side.
I forgot all about Hisham... yeah... he would be a great pick up with 53/54 :D I don't think that he would make it to the rookie draft this year. And if we passed up on him, Essendon would grab him for sure.

EDIT: And for the ruckman... Brisbane might be tempted to trade their third (pick 47 from Norf) for White to add some experience and depth to their backline now that Merrett has retired... we could use 47 on Jeremy Goddard.

I forgot all about Hisham... yeah... he would be a great pick up with 53/54 :D I don't think that he would make it to the rookie draft this year. And if we passed up on him, Essendon would grab him for sure.

EDIT: And for the ruckman... Brisbane might be tempted to trade their third (pick 47 from Norf) for White to add some experience and depth to their backline now that Merrett has retired... we could use 47 on Jeremy Goddard.
We definitely do need a developing ruckman on the list, and Goddard, a big slider who obviously has upside can definitely be that.

And isn't amazing... all of my possible trades are realistic and not selling the farm. And the talent we could pick up all fill a role in the side in the future.

Unlike those guys who are trading out Gibbs and Kreuzer to try and achieve possibly the same result... but stripping the club of it's core players.

And thats actually another potential trade there if someone wants to talk to us about Kreuzer. Maybe the Doggies would be interested in trading their first round pick for Kreuzer. Or the wet toasters might be interested... but I would prefer that we didn't trade Kreuzer unless it was a real sweetheart deal for us.

And isn't amazing... all of my possible trades are realistic and not selling the farm. And the talent we could pick up all fill a role in the side in the future.

Unlike those guys who are trading out Gibbs and Kreuzer to try and achieve possibly the same result... but stripping the club of it's core players.

And thats actually another potential trade there if someone wants to talk to us about Kreuzer. Maybe the Doggies would be interested in trading their first round pick for Kreuzer. Or the wet toasters might be interested... but I would prefer that we didn't trade Kreuzer unless it was a real sweetheart deal for us.
Yep, agreed!

I really like your thinking here. I think we need to bring in two top ten picks this year (and if that means moving on next years first i'm ok with it), as in my eyes it's more important to do so this year rather than next. Even though next years draft is considered stronger (largely based on talls) I feel we need to bring in the core of the rebuild from last years batch and this year. If we do as you suggest it could be a huge win. Assuming we land Marchbank, Pickett, and Stewart in a multi trade:

2012 Draft: Plowman (Pick 3), Jaksch (Pick 12), Stewart (Pick 27)
2013 Draft: Cripps (Pick 13)
2014 Draft: Marchbank (Pick 6), Pickett (Pick 4)
2015 Draft: Weitering (Pick 1), McKay (Pick 10), Curnow (Pick 12), Cuningham (Pick 23), Silvagni (Pick 53)
2016 Draft: Brodie?? (Pick 5), Scrimshaw?? (Pick 6/7), Drew/Powell-Pepper/Scharenberg/Clarke (Pick 23)

That's 14 players over a 5 year period. 7 of whom are top 10 picks. Curnow, Cripps, Jaksch as early teens. Cuningham, Stewart, Pick 23 this year as picks in the 20s. Silvagni as a father son.

That's a brilliant core to build a premiership capable team around. Then in that 2014 draft we still have DVR and Boekhorst who may come on and surprise and Jaksch who still has a chance from the 2012 draft as he clearly has enough talent. Could also add in Lennon/Honeychurch cheaply to add in another player from the 2013 batch which only hit with Cripps or Hrovat from the 2012 draft.

Would leave us in a position next year with no first round pick but the potential to bring in a free agent to add a gun to the list to help balance the age profile and boost on-field performance. It's no wonder SOS is targeting guys from the 2013-2014 draft as outside of Cripps those years really stunk draft wise. It's very Hawthorn-esque as they smashed the draft over a couple of boom draft years, nurtured the talent, then supplemented with trades to protect the kids and balance the list. Once they became strong they were and are still able to cherry pick players from other clubs. Build the core, be patient, and we are finally on our way to premiership #17.

At what point does trading next year's first cross from shrewd to impatient? Based on what's being said about this year's draft, we can pick up a good haul of young talent without sacrificing a pick at the elite end of next year. Age profile still on track.

We won't be getting these super low picks for long, it's foolish to downgrade what will probably be another top 5 pick for the sake of picking a year earlier, slightly later down the order, in a draft where the talent is so evenly spread.

Patience, grasshoppers.

At what point does trading next year's first cross from shrewd to impatient? Based on what's being said about this year's draft, we can pick up a good haul of young talent without sacrificing a pick at the elite end of next year. Age profile still on track.

We won't be getting these super low picks for long, it's foolish to downgrade what will probably be another top 5 pick for the sake of picking a year earlier, slightly later down the order, in a draft where the talent is so evenly spread.

Patience, grasshoppers.

I tend to agree with this post.

Bringing a pick forward a year seems a bit like a sugar hit. I understand the desire to create a group of talent at the club of similar age but l think this may be the wrong draft to do it.

The top end talent in this draft isn't particularly outstanding unlike last year. Next year is strong and so if the top end talent is elite we should use our pick then, which will probably be top 6.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Im interested in scrimshaw but put off by some comments.

l haven't seen much of him but have been reading about him. From what l've read he isn't a strong enough contested ball player for a core midfielder. They say you wouldn't rely on him around the stoppages to win the ball. The point was made he's better off half back distributing the ball and setting up play. Ok with the loose ball and receiving.He has plenty of good points like being good in traffic but just not that suited to attacking the ball, fighting and scrapping for the clearance.

Interested to know what people think of his ability to win the ball at stoppages or in highly contested situations?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

why? everytime someone develops a ruck they go elsewhere anyway. i would have a mature ruck as a rookie. we have phillips kruezer w casboult & rowe as back ups. if we need another one we get one who's ready.

Not sure if anyone has already posted, but on Mondaynight's talking footy, it was said that GWS are looking at including Stewart in with the Marchbank trade as a sweetner for pick 5. Sam Mclure ran with this, so I don't know how credible a journo he is.
Let's hope we keep pick 5 unless the player we want Sos is sure will get through to pick 7.
Apparently Stewart has a contract offer by GWS on the table, he is fourth in line, and narrowly misses due to the embarrassment of richess with how much talent is on the GWS list
He is a 198cm key forward who now has a few pre seasons under his belt, and the type of player we are desperately in need of.
Sos and the other recruiters would surely know the order of the first 10 draftees, therefore it surely comes down to Sos having No5 locked in for a particular player he wants or a couple of players we would take and one or more still would be available with say pick 7.

I am really hoping that we get some extra picks in during trade week because I would love to draft Powell-Pepper after his effort in the Grand Final. 22 disposals, 7 tackles and 4.1 in a losing side shows that he can play in a big game and is not worried about pressure.

was it senior GF or Colts?