Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

From what I've seen Taranto's two way running is non existent. I keep hearing how he is a contested beast but I'm yet to see that. At this point he looks like a flashy half forward who might be able to pinch hit in the middle. Pass at pick 5 for me

I'm not super keen on Taranto at 5, he did finish in the top 5 for contested possessions in TAC cup footy.
No doubt he's best work is done in the forward 50.
He's finishing around goals is at a pretty high standard, but he's field kicking is not that great.
Just think at pick 5 we need to bring in someone with elite skill I'm thinking Anisworth Scrimshaw or SPS.

May I ask how many games you have watched?
I've watched 3 and counting. I'm trying to catch up and watch as many games as I can. I'm watching him, ainsworth and Brodie really closely. I've noticed Taranto does not chase at all. He floats around the back of packs. There was one play in the metro vs country where he was actually manned up on Brodie at a stoppage. Brodie went straight for the ball and fired off a hand pass whilst Taranto did not make body contact and sprinted off to the side to get a cheap touch if a metro player won the contest. Also, his finishing skills are impressive in front of goal but not a pick 5 for me

I'm not super keen on Taranto at 5, he did finish in the top 5 for contested possessions in TAC cup footy.
He's finishing around goals is at a pretty high standard, but he's field kicking is not that great.
Just think at pick 5 we need to bring in someone with elite skill I'm thinking Anisworth Scrimshaw or SPS.

More than happy we go with any of those 3

Brodie is the safe choice. Another big bodied ball winner is what we need. We can always add more elite skill on the outside next year.

Taranto seems like he could be a Lennon type. We can't afford to stuff this up. I do rate him though. Wouldn't be disappointed if we did take him.

Just don't want Ainsworth.

Absolute rubbish! I actually don't think we have one player on our list from between the 2008 - 2012 drafts. Why? Because we always take pretty, athletic outsiders who are not natural footballers. Our draft record is a joke. I am proposing changing our approach, you are proposing more weak outsiders who go missing week after week.
While I don't agree with the aggression I do agree with the message.

We need to target footballers with skills that transfer well to AFL footy. Not athletic freaks who have attributes but poor infield performance.

Unfortunately I think the club is sticking to its athletes first philosophy.

I've watched 3 and counting. I'm trying to catch up and watch as many games as I can. I'm watching him, ainsworth and Brodie really closely. I've noticed Taranto does not chase at all. He floats around the back of packs. There was one play in the metro vs country where he was actually manned up on Brodie at a stoppage. Brodie went straight for the ball and fired off a hand pass whilst Taranto did not make body contact and sprinted off to the side to get a cheap touch if a metro player won the contest. Also, his finishing skills are impressive in front of goal but not a pick 5 for me

So he finishes better than Brodie, kicks more goals than Brodie, wins as much of the contested ball as Brodie, based on minutes through the middle, beep tested 15.9, yet you rate Brodie a good pick at 5, but not Taranto?

We need to target footballers with skills that transfer well to AFL footy. Not athletic freaks who have attributes but poor infield performance.

My apologies I didn't mean to come across aggressive. We all have different perspectives, including the recruiters themselves. I'll be more mindful in the future :-)

So he finishes better than Brodie, kicks more goals than Brodie, wins as much of the contested ball as Brodie, based on minutes through the middle, beep tested 15.9, yet you rate Brodie a good pick at 5, but not Taranto?
I'd go Scrimshaw personally. I think he has more upside, elite skills and decision making. He seems like one of those players who has so much time under pressure. I'dalso be happy with ainsworth. I've only seen SPS once so I can't comment.

Could of had 3, but he kicked 3 points, perhaps backing up the argument that he needs a lot of work

Please don't even try and compare the two, Cripps was far superior even in his draft year

He hit the post once and he's two set shot narrowly missed after two impressive overhead marks.
Taranto also missed quite a few shots on goal in that game.
Brodie was also very impressive in the AIS VS VFL games.

My apologies I didn't mean to come across aggressive. We all have different perspectives, including the recruiters themselves. I'll be more mindful in the future :)
I'm the last to be too critical about that sort of stuff. We're all passionate :)

I'd go Scrimshaw personally. I think he has more upside, elite skills and decision making. He seems like one of those players who has so much time under pressure. I'dalso be happy with ainsworth. I've only seen SPS once so I can't comment.

I agree, Scrimshaw has huge upside

As stated previously, there are 4 kids that I would be happy to take at pick 5

Any of Taranto, Ainsworth, SPS or Scrimshaw. As you have mentioned, we all see it differently

I agree, Scrimshaw has huge upside

As stated previously, there are 4 kids that I would be happy to take at pick 5

Any of Taranto, Ainsworth, SPS or Scrimshaw. As you have mentioned, we all see it differently
It will be very interesting to see which way SOS goes. I like Brodie but I don't think we need another Cripps. We need players to complement what we already have. A tall left footer would fit nicely. Start him on a half bank flank/wing before pushing him into the middle once he puts on more weight

I have no issue with people making a case for Scrimshaw, I rate him highly

I reckon SOS and co weigh it all up together, but they seem to be assessing comprehension alongside previous performance when determining football IQ.

The interview process is critical for determining this. Seems to have paid off for C.Curnow, and McKay. Time will tell with Cuningham vs. Dunkley as to whether his read of it will be good enough to package with his athleticism and skill.

I guess the type of mid at 5 will be partially determined how confident the club are of getting a mid as a free agent in next years trade period.

If they're confident they'll get Fyfe I just can't see Brodie getting picked, but I can see an SPS getting picked!!

Why do people keep saying Ainsworth has elite skill/is a good kick when he goes at 50% in front of goals primarily as a small forward?

Also SPS barely played a decent game this year. Could just be the injuries he carried but seems flakey to me. Not what we want . Leave him to GC who with 4 pick in the top 10 can take a chance.

Absolute rubbish! I actually don't think we have one player on our list from between the 2008 - 2012 drafts. Why? Because we always take pretty, athletic outsiders who are not natural footballers. Our draft record is a joke. I am proposing changing our approach, you are proposing more weak outsiders who go missing week after week.
Name more than three late picks in the last ten drafts that were actually drafted almost solely on being athletic standouts? Yes, we've drafted too many 'outside' flanker types that we've hoped to turn into midfielders or KPPs but that's fundamentally not the same thing as you are saying. On the other hand, we have taken heaps of players late (or not late enough) that many would call 'safe' selections that had virtually no 'upside' for AFL football and have subsequently been de-listed. And that's before you even get to the rookie picks. People just go on inventing things to try and easily explain away our crap recruiting.

No? I do.

We have nowhere near enough clearance players and we almost lost one of those few last week.
I do agree we need more class around the place and no matter which way I look, I see Taranto involved.......but we can't get both.

The noises from clubs with the top three picks may have it going, McCluggage, McGrath and Ainsworth.

All we need is to know whether any of those clubs will bid on Bowes and we should start getting an idea of which way we're likely to go.

All I would suggest, is people should go back and review the last 5 drafts. Interesting if you see a Brodie type player selected in any of those top 10

Does Josh Kennedy syd have elite footskills? No.

Brodie has that elite contested ball ability. Ask the dogs how important contested ball is.

Why do people keep saying Ainsworth has elite skill/is a good kick when he goes at 50% in front of goals primarily as a small forward?

Also SPS barely played a decent game this year. Could just be the injuries he carried but seems flakey to me. Not what we want . Leave him to GC who with 4 pick in the top 10 can take a chance.

Anisworth may miss some set shots he should kick, but he's field kicking is exceptional, get real penetration in he's kicks and the ball really rockets off he's boot.
Also SPS may not have had the year may of us were predicting, but he is still an elite kick of the footy on both right and left foot.

Does Josh Kennedy syd have elite footskills? No.

Brodie has that elite contested ball ability. Ask the dogs how important contested ball is.

JPK wasn't picked at 5 either, surely Drew or even Clarke who lead the contested possessions for the year would be a good option at 25?

As stated, have a look at the last 5 drafts, no Brodie type in the top 10

I wonder how many of you that are into Brodie at 5 were into Mathieson in the first round last year

Would be silly to pass on Brodie.

2nd best player in this draft, as teams ahead of us are drafting on need GWS (McGrath), Brisbane (Ainsworth) and GC (Bowes). Brodie projects to be similar to Ollie Wines, will win us multiple games off his own boot and is a Vic kid, which we seem set on.

I like Taranto and Scrimshaw but I don't think they've got the same certainty Brodie has.

I concur. He seems an ideal fit and has been projected as a top puck at times. Love his size, strength and seems to have some serious run as well. Bolts seems to like versatile types and he firs the bill. I'm hoping for Brodie on draft night.

Not sure you can say Brodie is just a generic inside footballer akin to Mathieson. He does have some burst speed on the outside as well.

He wasn't being ranked as a possible #1 by idiots.