Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Watching some of the draft highlights, I reackon ifSilvagni, Weitering, and McKay were all born a couple of weeks later they could have potentially all been top 10 picks this year.
I have a sneaking suspicion Weitering would have gone at pick 1

I was hoping Sproule would be available at our 3rd rounder.
Picks 1&2 must be midfielders, actually Silvagni may select midfielders with the first 3 picks given the spread and depth of talent.

Keeping myself occupied researching the draft, relative to the required pieces of the rebuild, I have had a good look at the available ruckmen.

There are 15-16 ruck prospects profiled in the Inside Football draft issue. They range from undersized athletes like Olango to developing
VFL "mature" types like Casey's McInerney. Includes Tim English who will be beyond our reach, and the burly Geelong boy Darcy, slightly
undersized Filipovic, a lauded underaged leader. Julian Patterson is a little fascinating, skinny underdeveloped kid under 80kg from a basketball athletic background with an Olympic high jumper for a sister and some of her traits.

WA's Jeremy Goddard was the next big thing as an underager, but lost ground this year, similarly SA boys Peter Ladhams (with who we had a rumoured link), Jordon Sweet, and overager Andre Parella, another late starter have all been highly regarded, but have some questions. Late
SA bolter Sam Draper attracted some attention late in the year, having got the better of the highly rated SA boys one-on one. Draper's first
full year of footy (soccer background) had him start in defence, move forward/pinch hitting, before thaking the no. 1 ruck mantle.

WA boy Darcy Cameron has been on the radar for 4 years. Highly regarded in his draft year, his intensity and work ethic was in question. He has been playing state league for Claremont and split his time between ruck and forward. Approaching 40 goals, as well as being highly rated for his
tap work. He has pretty much dispelled the questions over his attitude with some consistent performances. Same club as young Goddard, and
supposedly more mobile. [Interesting aside is that both play at Petrevski-Seton's club, so would have a relationship]

Our ruck stocks, at best are adequate Kreuzer continues to be dogged by the effects of injuries, Phillips has been prone to soft tissue injuries
through his career, although a big pre season may see a quantum leap in performance. Cat B rookie Korcheck has some developing to do.
Levi, Rowie and Gorringe are pinch hitters, so we need a developing ruck.

Have liked both Goddard and Sweet for a while, Ladhams has "claims" but I must admit "research" leads me to a preference for either Sam Draper or the mature Darcy Cameron. Given our list position and the fact that there are some higher rated young rucks among next year's
draft class, Cameron is a standout candidate.

Levi probably on the outer next year, with Jones and Gorringe probably in the same boat, lends us to needing a more mature young ruck.
Still whispers of MK being a "victim" of free agency next year. Cameron can hit the scoreboard as a second ruck, yet seemingly has the ability and maturity to take on the no. 1 if necessary. He is a couple of years ahead of most of his "opposition". If there are serious thoughts of "cashing in" Kreuzer, then my opinion would be to take Cameron with a late pick and Draper as a rookie, if we end up with too many, a decent young ruck becomes decent trade bait.

Sick of the repetitive to and fro at the top end of the draft so looking at later options for discussion.

I have a sneaking suspicion Weitering would have gone at pick 1

Reckon McKay would have rocketed into top 10 calculations too, Silvagni would have probably been hidden and gone in the 3rd of 4th round. Funny how 1 year can change things.

McKay was top 10 last year! :p

For a ruck, yes. KPF harry mc-k is 204cm.
Olango is in the range, and has the vertical for the absolute reach required to competitive in terms of leap vs leap. Says nothing for technique though.

For a ruck, yes. KPF harry mc-k is 204cm.

Todd Goldstein is 201cm. We're in an age where there are a number of KPP's playing at ruckman height, and a number of mids playing at KPP height.

It all comes down to other traits. An effective ruckman doesn't have to be the tallest player in the comp, or even the tallest player on his team. If he has a good leap, a robust tank and good vision, he can be extremely dominant. Anyone from about 199cm onwards can be a good ruckman if other factors align.

In-form Taranto shaping as a draft lynchpin

VICTORIAN midfielder Tim Taranto is shaping as a key player in the early stages of this year's NAB AFL Draft with a number of clubs considering the talented prospect.

The first of Gold Coast's four top-10 picks falls next at No.4, with Taranto considered a chance for that selection. Carlton, Fremantle and Sydney have also been linked to the 187cm prospect.

SOS:

1. We have 6 primary sots to fill. We could pick 6 or maybe just 5. It depends.
2. Draft seems O.K. but hard to predict. Last years top end was very good though.
3. We need more talent through the door. More young talent......Marchbank & Pickett included.
4. "Young talent through the door".....repeat, repeat, repeat. :)
5. Harry McKay will take some time but he will go through the ruck also.
6. Marchbank can play back, forward and maybe even through the midfield.

SOS:

2. Draft seems O.K. but hard to predict. Last years top end was very good though.
3. We need more talent through the door. More young talent......Marchbank & Pickett included.
He doesn't seem to have answered my burning question:

"Are we hoping to get some young talent through the door?"

Ive been wondering for a while what pick McKay would have gone if he was in this draft and un-injured

SOS:

Ah Harks the legend, thanks for summary mate

SOS:

Did I enjoy the interview?

Not reeeallly ... it was fairly hedged and cliched. Having said that it was good to get a good young podcast through the door.

SOS, the weather is getting quite warm this time of year. Not reeallly but having said that we did recognise that it is far less cold than it was a couple of months ago.

SOS:

Two most interesting things to come from the podcast, both from Twomey:

1) More unlikely now than likely that Setterfield or Bowes would get a bid in the Top 3

2) Twomey outed himself as a BomberBlitzer:eek:

Two most interesting things to come from the podcast, both from Twomey:

1) More unlikely now than likely that Setterfield or Bowes would get a bid in the Top 3

2) Twomey outed himself as a BomberBlitzer:eek:
What an idiot!

He's just shredded whatever credibility he did have!

To me it seems like the top 3 selections are pretty much locked in (though the exact order is not completely known) and we will get whoever out of Taranto and SPS that GC don't select. If Bowes is bid on by Brisbane then it will be interesting to see who SOS favours.

My gut feel is that we will be selecting Taranto, I just can't see Clayton being able to help himself going after SPS.

To me it seems like the top 3 selections are pretty much locked in (though the exact order is not completely known) and we will get whoever out of Taranto and SPS that GC don't select. If Bowes is bid on by Brisbane then it will be interesting to see who SOS favours.

My gut feel is that we will be selecting Taranto, I just can't see Clayton being able to help himself going after SPS.

Cant see GCS taking SPS. He has made more than enough noise about wanting to play in Melbourne. Makes no sense for GCS to pick him after all the talk about players leaving them for elsewhere to return to home states etc.