Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

I Just want SPS to be that player that makes Richmond, Collingwood and Essendon supporters pray for mercy when they see him run onto the field for us.

That's how I saw Yarran progressing - a player who would make for a nightmare matchup through the midfield and forward line, and when in possession, have the potential to slice up opposition defensive structures.

While I'm here, anyone else see the possibility for us reaching for a player at #5? And who would it be? I think Scrimshaw might be the most likely.

Its pretty sad us blues supporters get my excited and hav to look forward to the national draft every year than we do about us winning games and playing finals i really hope we turn it around very soon. I for one am starved of success and sick of just hoping we start winning games and look like winning a premiership again but saying that i do think we finally have the right men there to turn it around #insos&boltswetrust

If the choice is between SPS & Brodie I'd have to lean towards Brodie. VIC boy, contested beast, eagerness to be the best possible and seemingly minimal 'bust potential'. Regardless it looks as if we'll be picking up a real talent and I trust Bolts & co to get the best out of the draftee's and the team. Go baggers
I would've thought a cowboy like yourself would favour the bull rider.

Agree with all that but character is an important criteria to consider when making a decision to draft. There is nothing wrong with discussing the specific character of the player and the likelihood they will want to return home, or be unable to fore fill their potential.

Personally I think SPS has already shown plenty of resilience by boarding in Perth and expressing his preference for a move to Melbourne. He strikes me as a person who has a point to prove and a desire to make his family and community proud. I hope that he can do this at Carlton.

The likelihood of returning home is a perfectly acceptable discussion point. I believe SPS has the perfect mix of character, adaptability and a personality congruent with moving interstate.

He'll become a dominant player with us, should we select him.

Only thing with SPS is boys of his background are really close to his family ties and roots. Maybe not his initial 3-4 years in the Big City... but once he gets a bit more mature.. maybe has a partner, starts thinking about kids, the pull home and cultural roots may be important to him. If there is an equivalent rated player who is local available at any of our picks... I'd take the local kid everytime.

As there is with anyone. Dangerfield for example

Obviously all just speculation at this stage. But how much of an upgrade on Mark Whiley would Willem Drew be?
After having a negative reaction yesterday, I'm warming to it. Seems I was confusing him with Clarke.

Great with the footy, fairly athletic and will fill out well to play that supporting inside role and push forward well. So he's pretty much got Whiley covered in every way. That said, it will be as much as 18 months before he regularly plays in the seniors IMO.

What time is it on in the arvo or evening?
Coverage starts at 6:30 PM Sydney/Melbourne time, draft at 7 PM.

Hammies aren't hard to fix.

You'd be surprised how poor some strength coaches are at AFL clubs are.
Dont assume they're the best in the business.

Hamstrings are injuries that shouldn't occur as frequently as they do in our game. Its due to poor training and muscle imbalances. Train like NFL and they wont get hammie issues.
You've just compared the two most diametrically opposed ball sports on the planet, wherein the only real overlap of workload is in the receiving positions (and their defensive counterparts). Soccer (and to a lesser extent hockey) would be a much better comparison, and the average midfielder covers nearly twice as much ground in a game despite it only being 20% more in duration.

There's a case to be made for overuse in training, but even that's been scaled back considerably over the years, but the running requirements, along with kicking, are what give rise to the rates of calf and hamstring injuries in our game. Australia has numerous world-renowned physios precisely because of the first-hand experience they've gained from the rigours of AFL.

In short, no.

Averaged 18 possessions at a DE of 48% across the National Carnival and his kicking efficiency was only 38%. Hardly anything to write home about, especially for someone of his talents. Luke Bunker averaged 22 possessions at 72% DE with KE of 60% and laid just as many tackles at the same carnival. People on this board belt the crap of of Kerridge who has a DE of 61%, because he burns the ball. How hard will they go at SPS if he runs at 48%. Yes, SPS will get drafted about 50 places ahead of Bunker, but the simple reality is that Bunker has already demonstrated he can handle a step up in class and pressure without it adversely affecting his game.

Be under no illusions, I'll be quite happy if SOS drafts SPS, but at least attempt to keep some objectivity in your claims rather than simply quote some star-crossed journo.
He played two games at the championships after resuming from a hamstring injury. Go have a look at what he did at Colts level for 2 years.

I get your sentiment, however with what happened to Yaz fresh in our mind and the significantly higher % of indigenous footballers who seem to hit trouble off field we would be either completely naive or totally incompetent if we did not factor this into our decision making when taking him with such a high pick.

If we think there's any issues with his character, we wont take him, but it wont be on the basis of his ethnic background.

Petrevski-Seton has a very different personality to Yarran. Much more self-confident and assured.

Dont know but reckon bombers to select McGrath to prevent GWS in getting both McGrath and Setterfield.

I reckon there's every chance Essendon will be putting in a bid for Setterfield at pick 1.

Do the rest of the league a small favour by preventing GWS from getting both Setterfield and one of McGrath/Ainsworth/Taranto/McCluggage.

I reckon there's every chance Essendon will be putting in a bid for Setterfield at pick 1.

Do the rest of the league a small favour by preventing GWS from getting both Setterfield and one of McGrath/Ainsworth/Taranto/McCluggage.

Only if they think he's the best player though because GWS wouldn't match. Can't see it happening.

I get your sentiment, however with what happened to Yaz fresh in our mind and the significantly higher % of indigenous footballers who seem to hit trouble off field we would be either completely naive or totally incompetent if we did not factor this into our decision making when taking him with such a high pick.

Take into consideration yes, and if we select SPS i'll be confident SOS & Co have weighed it all up.

There are some who seem to have 'troubled' upbringings with poor culture a theme throughout their families.
To a certain extent, players like Yarran, Garlett, Jurrah etc had difficult upbringings.

SPS on the other hand seems to have a strong support network and seems to have been brought up with good values, with support from his family, friends and town.

He speaks of how people in his town wish him luck and kids look up to him and he wants to do them proud by being successful...Yarran & Garlett never had those things driving them.

There is still a high % of aboriginal players who make it in the AFL and without any real off-field incidents, like Rioli, Goodes, Burgoyne, Betts etc

With Walker and Pickett also at the club he should have enough support at the club as well.

Maybe but I think GWS will probably match a bid for Setterfield wherever it comes.

They won't want to miss out on him.

It would definitely makes things interesting but I think they'd take McGrath. If it happened it would probably mean Taranto would be available at pick 5.

Personally, I don't see Essendon bidding on Setterfield, I think they were just buttering him up to show how much they like him in the hope of prying him loose in 2 years time. I hope we bid on him at pick 5.