2nds 2016 Lions reserves and NEAFL thread

Maybe the half baked NEAFL standards are part of the reason that our young guys have left so much in the past? They are basically playing park footy, where it's not even competitive for the coach to line up in the forward line. I understand that it's not the the VFL, but it needs to be a quality set up to keep it real and meaningful for the rookies... In my opinion. We cannot keep suffering because we are not in Melbourne.

Perhaps we should merge with Fitzroy.

i really like the neafl, don't get me wrong. There is talent in and amongst it.
My point is about pride and professionalism. If I was drafted to the lions and playing reserves and my team mates were fill ins from the other team, I'd think that was pretty half assed.

It's only for practice matches, mate. Once the season starts we use our own academy players, unlike VFL teams who ship in randoms from local leagues and TAC Cup.

IMO the problem isn't the quality of the NEAFL, it's the quality or maturity of our top ups (not in the practice matches, I couldn't care less about them).

With our list at the stage it is, most of our reserves team will be under 22 and not necessarily physically developed. Then our top ups are all 17 and 18 year old kids that are even less developed. Whereas I believe the VFL teams can recruit ex AFL players and mature players from other leagues to be permanent members of their team (I'm happy to be corrected on this).

Now the NEAFL may not be the standard of the other state leagues (although it's getting better), but it's still littered with veterans that can dominate talented, yet underdeveloped youngsters such as ours. For example in the first couple of years of GWS's existence, their reserves team was full of first round draft picks (many of who have gone on to be good AFL players) yet they were regularly getting beaten by 100 points, even 200+ points on occasions. To avoid this Gold Coast recruited a couple of mature state league players (and Andrew Raines) two years back to go on their rookie list so they could play reserves and support their kids. And our last decent reserves team was successful because it had guys like James Hawksley and Cheynee Stiller dominating, so that the younger guys didn't have to take on rolls they weren't ready for.

So until our list develops to the point where the guys missing out on senior spots are a bit more physically mature (or if we have a really bad year with injuries) we will probably struggle in the NEAFL for the simple reason that our team isn't old enough. Now with a bit of injury luck we might see the likes of Bewick, Lester etc play a fair bit in the reserves this year, which will help us a fair bit I feel, at least as far as results go.

I should point out that the GWS example shows that getting flogged in the reserves doesn't necessarily mean your players don't develop, although you could probably also argue that having the sheer amount of young talent they had is an exception to the norm.

I probably waffled on a bit there and regular reserves watches may have a different opinion, but that's how I view it.

Just not sure where you think the top ups for that game should have come from. The academy boys had their own game on.
47 listed players,minus 26 who travelled, minus about 7 injured/unfit, leaves a team of 14 or 15.
Just which retired players should be dragged in to run around? Ash McGrath (couldn't run the length of the field). If retired or delisted blokes are fit enough to play, they are playing full time elsewhere.
So, no academy kids, no retirees, doesn't leave a lot. Maybe some hotshots from another club (but maybe they're busy playing football already). So some lesser types from the opposition club get a game, get to line up beside some AFL blokes and real up & comers.
To allow some kids to play in our club colours, along side guys who have made it onto a senior AFL list, guys who are playing at the top level, guys they might watch on telly or at th Gabba, is good for the game. Reckon they would have been pleased as punch, and our guys have to work that bit harder and smarter. A win, win, win situation.
When the season proper starts, we will play our academy kids and give them hope & development. The reserves squad is about development, not trying to win a competition because our seniors are struggling. This comes to another point; If the senior team just finished 17th, just what sort of powerhouse do you think our reserves team should be?

Hi guys. Sorry if this is the wrong thread to ask but I don't care about fantasy/Supercoach and I'm assuming they'll spend a chunk in the 2s so I figured this could be appropriate.

I was wondering what are your thoughts on Ben Keays and Reuben William? I was high on these two during the draft and was just curious on how they're doing. Could Keays see AFL time? Where will William play on the field?

Thanks guys and sorry again if this is wrong place.

Hi guys. Sorry if this is the wrong thread to ask but I don't care about fantasy/Supercoach and I'm assuming they'll spend a chunk in the 2s so I figured this could be appropriate.

I was wondering what are your thoughts on Ben Keays and Reuben William? I was high on these two during the draft and was just curious on how they're doing. Could Keays see AFL time? Where will William play on the field?

Thanks guys and sorry again if this is wrong place.
ben keays will get some games this year. how many depends on how long/short our injury list is.
reuben willian played as a small forward in the little game time he received in the NAB but as a junior he was a small running defender i think.

Sorry. The season is upon us and I'm just feeling a little testy.

That's good. If you start feeling a swelling, see your doctor.

2nds 2016 Lions reserves and NEAFL thread