Mega Thread 2016 Media Thread

I think there is every chance Alex Pearce will be A grade. Ditto Lachie Weller. Blakey & Ethan Hughes at least solid B's.
Yeah I agree. I think Tucker and Balic (assuming he comes good) have similar potential as well imo but early days.

How many players become 'A' grade less than 4-5 years in to their AFL careers? I can only think of a handful of 'A' grader drafted from 2011 onwards across the league.

Yeah I agree. I think Tucker and Balic (assuming he comes good) have similar potential as well imo but early days.

How many players become 'A' grade less than 4-5 years in to their AFL careers? I can only think of a handful of 'A' grader drafted from 2011 onwards across the league.

Correct, and without looking I'd say the A graders would've been drafted in the top 10 if not top 5 which we obviously haven't had too many of since 2011.

Plenty of good ones go past Top 10. Lachie would be the proof of that. I just think our recruiters haven't been too good of late.
Young McGovern from Adelaide would have been good for us

Plenty of good ones go past Top 10. Lachie would be the proof of that. I just think our recruiters haven't been too good of late.
Young McGovern from Adelaide would have been good for us
Instead of Blakely or Weller?

Mitch McGovern ahead of Blakely in a heartbeat.

I like Blakely but every draft is full of inside mids. Just look at this year's draft. There are 5 mids for every tall. On top of that we already have two of the best inside mids under 25. Fyfe and Neale.

I'd have taken Lever over Weller aswell.

All four of these kids look like being the goods. But two off them would have helped fix our long going KPP issue.

Nothing too earth shattering on either front. Rosich is asked if the magnitude of change at the end of this year will be akin to 2008 where we made 14 changes but he was non committal on numbers at this stage.

Mitch McGovern ahead of Blakely in a heartbeat.

I like Blakely but every draft is full of inside mids. Just look at this year's draft. There are 5 mids for every tall. On top of that we already have two of the best inside mids under 25. Fyfe and Neale.

I'd have taken Lever over Weller aswell.

All four of these kids look like being the goods. But two off them would have helped fix our long going KPP issue.

Maybe you can ask to get a job as the hindsight recruiter?

For the one Jake Lever there is also Sam Durdin or Hugh Goddard who have had limited opportunity and done nothing.

Weller looks to be as sound an investment as you'd like at pick 13. Will be an 100 game plus player and have reliable decent output.

You also pick out McGovern instead of Blakely. What if we picked Ed Vickers who Adelaide actually thought more highly of instead of McGovern.

Maybe you can ask to get a job as the hindsight recruiter?

For the one Jake Lever there is also Sam Durdin or Hugh Goddard who have had limited opportunity and done nothing.

Weller looks to be as sound an investment as you'd like at pick 13. Will be an 100 game plus player and have reliable decent output.

You also pick out McGovern instead of Blakely. What if we picked Ed Vickers who Adelaide actually thought more highly of instead of McGovern.
Well many of us, including myself were saying Lever before the draft so that's not really hindsight is it. Also I said all 4 kids look good. My preference was for us to take KPP players which we were lacking over midfielders.

Ontop of that if you can read you would see that the question put forth was would you take McGovern ahead of Blakely or Weller. Which I answered, yes.

McGovern granted was speculative, but he did have a fairly strong link with his Dad pushing us to pick his sons, them supporting Freo and that he would have filled a need.

Well many of us, including myself were saying Lever before the draft so that's not really hindsight is it. Also I said all 4 kids look good. My preference was for us to take KPP players which we were lacking over midfielders.

Ontop of that if you can read you would see that the question put forth was would you take McGovern ahead of Blakely or Weller. Which I answered, yes.

McGovern granted was speculative, but he did have a fairly strong link with his Dad pushing us to pick his sons, them supporting Freo and that he would have filled a need.

Yep no worries mate.

I think the whole board went into meltdown when we selected Weller as there were reasonable KPP options still open. So yes I'll give you that one. Fairly certain I was one of many suggesting Lever, Durdin or Goddard.

Pick 35 is obviously of greater risk, but I'm happy we went local and Blakely. Although again McGovern would've been local.

Let's call it a 1-1 draw!

Blakely was showing very good signs. Had zero self preservation see ball get ball and had a few senior Sainters second guessing. Will play every remaining game, Ross loves him.

Picked him as our best prospect from day one of his first pre season and started a shit storm on here. Will play 150 plus games.

Wasn't a shit storm just an bunch of shit stains.
The thing people are missing is that the club has developed him superbly.
Blooded judiciously while learning off the guns(including the dalai Kirky)core strength amplified.
Play him heaps last year and you end up with a kid who doubts his capacity.
Now we have a bloke who wants to bust it all in half or bust it into a heap of pieces.
Has the confidence and doesn't care which.

This is a wider reaching and better interview on SEN today. Pleased to see the Club go on the front foot and call Robbo to stop rumour mongering on Harley. They pressed Rosich on Neale's contract and it seems we're close even though he was guarded. That we're talking to player managers this early (about who we're moving on no doubt as well as who we are pursuing) would be unsettling internally amongst the group. Very difficult for a group that has stuck fat for the last few years to now be pulled apart by necessity given where it's at. Given the extent of the the rebuild which Rosich acknowledges it to be now, the collateral damage to such things as morale is unavoidable.

Crunch Time 28/05/2016 - Fremantle CEO Steve Rosich via @audioBoom

This is a wider reaching and better interview on SEN today. Pleased to see the Club go on the front foot and call Robbo to stop rumour mongering on Harley. They pressed Rosich on Neale's contract and it seems we're close even though he was guarded. That we're talking to player managers this early (about who we're moving on no doubt as well as who we are pursuing) would be unsettling internally amongst the group. Very difficult for a group that has stuck fat for the last few years to now be pulled apart by necessity given where it's at. Given the extent of the the rebuild which Rosich acknowledges it to be now, the collateral damage to such things as morale is unavoidable.

Crunch Time 28/05/2016 - Fremantle CEO Steve Rosich via @audioBoom

Thanks for always posting these clips :thumbsu::)

langdon in sunday times today saying we shouldn't get pick 1 for coming last. should go to 9th.

not a peep on this topic in 2010 when wc got the spoon then went top 4 the next year.

i fn hate hypocrits. zero credibility

Bizarre logic from Crazy Karl. But the AFL could be stupid enough to go down that road.