Mega Thread 2016 Media Thread

but he won't.
lazy journos can come on here, we are like the canaries in the coalmine. the stuff we talk about is beyond the analysis of most casual fans so hacks like Haggers can lift what we write about and it comes off as researched analyses to the punters.
He didn't lift this from bigfooty:

"Scrupulous assessment that budding AFL draftees are subjected to in a modern era as recruiting staff perform relentless searches and testing on top talent is unreservedly becoming more scientific."
"But more crippling in any Dockers capability go remain within touch of another top-four finish"

Joycean in its obscurity.

It's not really multiple choice,and a zero interest subject,but see how you go.

Please select A,B OR C.

(A)Doghorn writes like Joyce.
(B)Doghorn is a nasty incoherent flog.
©………………………………………………………………………..Provide your own answer.

If there's sufficient interest I'll ask PapaJ to collate results.o_O

Gotta love WA Today sports cover

'Brad Hardie: what if all the losses don't give the Dockers the No.1 draft pick'
http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/frema...ckers-the-no1-draft-pick-20160531-gp7uij.html

'Essendon v Fremantle: Who has the worst list?'
http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/afl-n...e-who-has-the-worst-list-20160602-gpajhm.html

But this one takes the cake -

'Probing the depths of the Fremantle Dockers' anus horribilis'
http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/frema...-dockers-anus-horribilis-20160601-gp9lpq.html

Really, really like that one.

Gotta love WA Today sports cover

'Brad Hardie: what if all the losses don't give the Dockers the No.1 draft pick'
http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/frema...ckers-the-no1-draft-pick-20160531-gp7uij.html

'Essendon v Fremantle: Who has the worst list?'
http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/afl-n...e-who-has-the-worst-list-20160602-gpajhm.html

But this one takes the cake -

'Probing the depths of the Fremantle Dockers' anus horribilis'
http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/frema...-dockers-anus-horribilis-20160601-gp9lpq.html

Really, really like that one.
The saddest thing is that people get paid to write all that :(

- Crozier most likely to play off the half back line this week.
- Identified some issues that can't be addressed until next summer/off-season.
- Barlow will be in.

What issues can't be addressed till next summer?

I had a bit of a laugh in an article that quoted Pavlich talking about Mundy -

Any time your captain is out, there is a significant influence on the group.

it seems oddly self serving in some weird way :P

Its the surface of Freo oval; no doubt.
All fixed when we start training at Cockburn.
I spoke to the groundsman Richard about Freo oval earlier this week. The oval is soft due to the Kikuyu grass surface and Subi is harder. Richard was involved in that fiasco trying on Saturday to get the surface playable at Medibank Stadium. Subi has a wintergreen couch surface in winter and has rye oversown so the couch dies off in Summer and the rye takes over. Freo oval is tested by a contractor every six weeks with a special device I think he called it a clegh hammer to test the surface in 8 spots and it meets the AFL requirements. Cockburn will have the same surface as Subi.I can't see how you can even believe that it is the oval that is the catalyst for the soft tissue injuries without checking the facts as mentioned above which cast doubt on your assertion. Whereas you reckon there is no doubt just because Bell and Haze made comment. They last played a long time ago and a lot of work has been dine preparing the surface over the years. If it was the surface don't you think the Club would getting our players off the oval and to another venue right away as part of the clubs risk management initiatives. There is No conspiracy and the Fremantle Council isn't hiding anything..

ross suggested in an interview recently that it was because they ran less in the preseason (leading to the higher number of calves this year). i would have guessed the opposite but what do i know.

I spoke to the groundsman Richard about Freo oval earlier this week. The oval is soft due to the Kikuyu grass surface and Subi is harder. Richard was involved in that fiasco trying on Saturday to get the surface playable at Medibank Stadium. Subi has a wintergreen couch surface in winter and has rye oversown so the couch dies off in Summer and the rye takes over. Freo oval is tested by a contractor every six weeks with a special device I think he called it a clegh hammer to test the surface in 8 spots and it meets the AFL requirements. Cockburn will have the same surface as Subi.I can't see how you can even believe that it is the oval that it us the catalyst for the sift tissue injuries without checking the facts as mentioned above which cast doubt on your assertion. Whereas you reckon there is no doubt just because Bell and Haze made comment. They last played a long time ago and a lot of work has been dine preparing the surface over the years. If it was the surface don't you think the Club would getting our players off the oval and to another venue right away as part of the clubs risk management initiatives. There is No conspiracy and the Fremantle Council isn't hiding anything..
You've got it word for word Danny. Except it's a Clegg hammer:
iu

i would have guessed the opposite but what do i know.
Yeah Ross has said that's suspect number one at this stage.
If you don't put the k's into the muscles over the pre-season and then start hammering out distances under pace and duress when the season begins,you're running risks.From memory Ross suggested they had tried to incorporate their running volumes into ball work and game simulations;the impression I got was that they were unhappy with their decision to go that way and their monitoring of the volumes.

Any one thought that maybe it's just bad luck and all a coincidence?

Johnson - has always had soft tissue injuries over last 3 years.

Bennell - came here with a known calf issue.

Yarran - possibly knee related?

The others could have picked up their injuries like any other footy player does and that's from playing footy. No club will ever get away from it with just the volume varying.

You've got it word for word Danny. Except it's a Clegg hammer:
iu
Richard gave me the spelling but we can excuse him as he is a kiwi but he is a good kiwi. I thought the instrument would have been a penetrometer. Thanks for the photo and the spelling correction.

He's also spot on. A very accurate piece.
Apart from the spelling mistake in the first sentence which, besides being a self confessed Eagles sycophant who wears his Eagles scarf to his kid's school assemblies, did shatter the illusion he is a journalist of any particular note or standing. From the Robbo school of 'passionate, gut feel local drunk at the sad old local pub' punditry.

Did anybody watch the bizarre video that was embedded in that story? :eek: I know it was meant to be a bit of fun but it ended up just being awkward. Also Freo looked dead, what day did he pick to go?