Meet Up 2016 meet-up thread

Oi!

Go Catters
Bloody Hollywoodians?

I think we had a similar problem last time we played in Geelong on a Friday/Thursday night. Getting there not easy. I guess those Melbourne fans now know what it's like when we have Friday night games in Melbourne. Not easy for some.

Bloody Hollywoodians?

I think we had a similar problem last time we played in Geelong on a Friday/Thursday night. Getting there not easy. I guess those Melbourne fans now know what it's like when we have Friday night games in Melbourne. Not easy for some.
There is also the issue that many people don't even finish work until 5.
When trying to plan finishing work, getting home/showered/changed and in again is annoying

Or taking clothes to work like a kid doing after school sport and going straight from there... then not seeing the family basically for the day.

Have no idea if I'll be there for pre-game drinks on Friday as it will take awhile to get from the city to Geelong in peak hour.
Bloody Melbournians!

When trying to plan finishing work, getting home/showered/changed and in again is annoying

Or taking clothes to work like a kid doing after school sport and going straight from there... then not seeing the family basically for the day.

And the downside is.....:cool:

GO Catters

And the downside is.....:cool:

GO Catters
I'm yet to work it out, but the boss keeps banging on about it so I just assume it upsets some people :D

Yeah... the Minister of War and Finance here is much the same.....

" But honey, I have a Cats game tomrrow at 2 am.. wont be done till 5-6am.... work at 8..... home at 7... cant possibly make dinner at the mother in laws with you and the tin lids....."

Have to see you at Brekky in 2 days time...

cue the "Great Escape" theme whistled by me heading off to the cooler!

Go Catters

Yeah... the Minister of War and Finance here is much the same.....

" But honey, I have a Cats game tomrrow at 2 am.. wont be done till 5-6am.... work at 8..... home at 7... cant possibly make dinner at the mother in laws with you and the tin lids....."

Have to see you at Brekky in 2 days time...

cue the "Great Escape" theme whistled by me heading off to the cooler!

Go Catters

Like the visual.. DazMcQueen... as you say cue the music

gives the Triumph 650 plenty , lines up the jump , goes for it ..but ends with Baseball glove and ball in hand listening to the Cats in the Cooler...

This is where I have the fun of living in Geelong but working in Melb - so Friday night MCG games are great for ease of access after work, while Thursday/Friday night games in Geelong are not so great. One benefit of this week is less travel time after the game, so I might actually be home before midnight and not have the 18 hour (out the door until back home) days I have had in previous years with Fri night MCG matches.

At least at work we have casual dress Friday - so I can wear some of my Cats gear to work, get changed into anything else before I leave and jump on the train back to South Gee where my car will be to dump any unwanted items from the day. And thankfully I have a nice boss who will let me leave an hour early so I can avoid the peak hour chaos that the trains will be this Friday.

Yeah I'd only go to a night game in Geelong on a Friday if I stayed down there. Takes too long to get home otherwise.

Willo_ has a spare bed. :D

Do they still sell the food in the courtyard at the LOTI?
Nah I don't think so mate, last year it was just some hotdogs, that whilst huge weren't great.

I can't recall seeing anything this year, you can still order bar meals though

Has Willo pissed off the Minister for Internal Affairs? :p
Frequently

But I have also have a bad cold/bug the last couple of weeks.... so trying to control the germ damage

Frequently

But I have also have a bad cold/bug the last couple of weeks.... so trying to control the germ damage

I hear you.....on both counts.

Just recovering from 3 weeks real crook with flu, and now coming down again with heavy cold or re-occurrence :(

Still to negotiate with Minister for War :D

Wrestling control of the Finance Department can actually lead to war too I've found.

I would think that it would be tough enough just trying to wrestle your half of the doona from them in this cold weather.

View attachment 261555

23 July 2016 at 7:25pm
Simmonds Stadium

Pre-game drinks from 4:30pm
Followed by post-game drinks -
The Lord of the Isles Tavern
3 West Fyans Street
Newtown VIC 3220
(03) 5224 2522
bistro@lordislestavern.com
http://www.lordislestavern.com/

Book a table at the Bistro for dinner before the game, or there is sausage sizzle style BBQ food in the Courtyard.

After the game we'll head back to Lord of the Isles for more drinkies.

If all goes well, this could be Bartel's 300th game!​
BUMP

Did you ever find out what beer they made after the Fosters and Crownies were made Willo_ ?

Go Catters
I wasn't aware that I had homework!
I like my story as it gives it some level of drinkability :)

http://www.lordislestavern.com/

3 West Fyans St Newtown.

It is across the road from Simmons Stadium just down West Fyans St near the corner of LaTrobe Tce.
You cannot miss it.

3 of us went last night to LOTI. I mistakenly thought Kitty was there for this game but didn't read her post properly.
So here we were wondering around asking eligible ladies if they were Kitty from BF.
Didn't fare any better with the Rabbi question.
So at 7pm had a decent meal and then over to the miserable game.
Took 2 hrs 20 mins to get there from eastern suburbs Melbourne.

JFI, how do you actually meet each other, and are we truly welcome?

3 of us went last night to LOTI. I mistakenly thought Kitty was there for this game but didn't read her post properly.
So here we were wondering around asking eligible ladies if they were Kitty from BF.
Didn't fare any better with the Rabbi question.
So at 7pm had a decent meal and then over to the miserable game.
Took 2 hrs 20 mins to get there from eastern suburbs Melbourne.

JFI, how do you actually meet each other, and are we truly welcome?
Everyone is welcome Vdubs, the more the merrier.

Normally if someone is going there is a message sent to someone that will be there.. organise where to meet or look for a person that looks like this, or is wearing this or that..

The first person I met was Shell who had me on the look out for a certain handbag or something and for her to be sitting in a certain spot.

Meet Up 2016 meet-up thread