Meet Up 2016 meet-up thread

3 of us went last night to LOTI. I mistakenly thought Kitty was there for this game but didn't read her post properly.
So here we were wondering around asking eligible ladies if they were Kitty from BF.
Didn't fare any better with the Rabbi question.
So at 7pm had a decent meal and then over to the miserable game.
Took 2 hrs 20 mins to get there from eastern suburbs Melbourne.

JFI, how do you actually meet each other, and are we truly welcome?
Vdubs I'll be over for the Crows game so it'd be great to put a face to the name if you made it down. I'll be at the LOTI before the match.

Vdubs
So will I.

I was at LOTI before and after the game and had a few beers with Willo's mate and Nakia. I was there not long after 5pm.
But it is difficult to discover BF people if you do not already know them.
I remember being at Y&J's years ago (before I knew anyone) when people were going to meet there and there were Cats fans all over the place in groups. And descriptions of people are not that helpful when they are dressed up in the winter footy gear. The bald blokes are harder to find with beanies and caps on.

I found "Two Planks" last year simply by striking up a conversation with a Geelong supporter on his own.
I then dropped the words "Big Footy" and the code was understood.

Other than a PM where phone numbers are exchanged with regular meet up people, I am not sure how to find new BF'ers at meet ups when everyone is dressed in Geelong colors.

So will I.

I was at LOTI before and after the game and had a few beers with Willo's mate and Nakia. I was there not long after 5pm.
I remember being at Y&J's years ago (before I knew anyone) when people were going to meet there and there were Cats fans all over the place in groups. And descriptions of people are not that helpful when they are dressed up in the winter footy gear. The bald blokes are harder to find with beanies and caps on.

I found "Two Planks" last year simply by striking up a conversation with a Geelong supporter on his own.

Other than a PM where phone numbers are exchanged with regular meet up people, I am not sure how to find new BF'ers at meet ups when everyone is dressed in Geelong colors.
Your cause is helped by the fact that you will and do talk to anybody and everybody mate! :D

I talk to them under water or concrete.

Actually, I saw this bloke with a bald head who looked a bit like a little boxer.
I said to him that his face rang a bell and he said "No you don't recognize me"
Then his mate said to me in private that he was Stephen Lunn.
So we (Lunny and I) ended up having a bit of a conversation and we talked about the old halcyon days of West in the VFA. He also played for the Cats between 1980-82 when we just fell short of a grand final a couple of times to Collingwood.

Vdubs
So will I.

Thanks guys.
I will make it easy and wear my warmest Navy jacket which has Melbourne City stuff all over it.
And hopefully have a couple of BF blokes with me again.

Thanks guys.
I will make it easy and wear my warmest Navy jacket which has Melbourne City stuff all over it.
And hopefully have a couple of BF blokes with me again.
I could take a guess at who one of them will be!

I'll be there as well... pending certain life events

You'll have to wear something South Australian

Nah I meant mates with spare memberships. Should be able to get one for her
I'll let you know if I am able to go or not... but won't know until potentially mid next week... if not I can organise it so you can just pick up a ticket for her (mine) from the ground.

3 of us went last night to LOTI. I mistakenly thought Kitty was there for this game but didn't read her post properly.
So here we were wondering around asking eligible ladies if they were Kitty from BF.
Didn't fare any better with the Rabbi question.
So at 7pm had a decent meal and then over to the miserable game.
Took 2 hrs 20 mins to get there from eastern suburbs Melbourne.

JFI, how do you actually meet each other, and are we truly welcome?
Vdubs, forgive me, just can't stop laughing envisioning you "asking eligible ladies if they were Kitty from BF." See that's the problem right there! Asking 'ladies', I'm no lady, it's foot season lol

All Summer Lady - FootySeasonBegan-1.jpg

See you at LOTI on Saturday 23 for Rd18 Geelong -v- Adelaide - just to confirm the details.

Just look for a boisterous woman, who looks like Monica Bellucci :D ;) :p

I hear you.....on both counts.

Just recovering from 3 weeks real crook with flu, and now coming down again with heavy cold or re-occurrence :(

Still to negotiate with Minister for War :D
That's no good Cataholic! Sounds like the deadly ManFlu to me! That's the problem with all of these horrible germs, especially a virus, they seem to return with a vengeance! The secret is that when you think you're better, you need another two days of total bed rest! Also, you must have early nights + lots of rest on weekends, while you sleep your body heals.

Yeah I'd only go to a night game in Geelong on a Friday if I stayed down there. Takes too long to get home otherwise.
It's so much fun to stay in Geelong when the footy is on. I love driving down, visiting friends on the way, catching up with my friends in Geelong + then a leisurely drive home.
Now that I've moved from Sydney to NSW New England, driving to Geelong is going to be a whole new adventure! Am going to Rd18 game Partridge + planning on driving from here to Wellington, to Cowra, Young + staying overnight in Gundagai, then on to Hepburn Springs for a couple of days, then Geelong. My travel agent friend was able to get me a fantastic rate at Novotel, Geelong. Looking forward to catching up with friends in Geelong.

Meet Up 2016 meet-up thread