2016 Memberships

find-put-the-girl-you-have-been-flirting-with-was-actually-not-a-girl-fast-turtle.gif

I get The_Wookie's frustration though, because it is infuriating when comments like "if you were a true supporter you'd sign up" etc are thrown around like that's the solution to all our problems.

There's a reason we're all signed up to a forum where you can post and argue about Carlton and footy 24 hours a day. Not all Carlton supporters are this (pathetic?) obsessed. Thousands and thousands of Carlton fans have chosen CFC because of family connections or the suburb they live in or blue is their favourite colour, but for whatever reason don't feel the need to sign up yet.

They're the ones that need to be convinced, not us! What is their perceived value for money regarding the packages that we offer? What would tip them over to wanting one--different merchandise, a cheaper price, a game day experience? How are we attracting the next generation of supporters--AusKick visits, school sponsorships? Who is talking to the mums out there? Do people want a 'casual' membership where they can dip in and out as they please?

If we look at it from a net promoter perspectives, we're the 9s and 10s. We're here, we're on board, we're engaged. We won't convince the 1s to 4s easily, those who have jumped off and stopped watching/going/caring. We need to focus on the 5s, 6s, 7s and 8s. Convince them and our numbers will skyrocket, but disparaging them or getting mad at them will only hinder our cause.

I'm not going to pretend I know the answer about whether princes park match was a more important business or football opportunity.

But I do agree that most people buy memberships before the season. Even as amazing as a 4-4 or 5-5 start has been, it's too late to impact most 'swinging voters'...

Hopefully we see a big jump next year.

If some supporters made their mind up not to buy a membership on the back of a game that had no meaning, then they weren't fair dinkum in the first place, particularly given what has been displayed over the last 6 weeks.

Regardless of the match results, it is a real pleasure to get along & watch our team having a red hot go most weeks. That should be enough for those who can afford a membership to get on board.
You need to consider the actual cost of each membership option versus ad hoc purchasing, when it becomes poor value, and how that valuation shifts if the purchaser doesn't believe they'll go and see their team play in a final.

Until the limited issue memberships at a discount, people basically weren't going to get value for a membership purchase after round 6 for a home-game membership, and round 7 for a an 18-game membership. Did we seem good then? Had we hinted at anything other than that we were trying to hold our head above water defensively as we blooded a bunch of players that didn't look like they were going to do much this year?

Do you think the pre-season result against Essendon helped with people's sense of pride in their football club? It was a marquee event, no matter how the footy department felt about it.

A lot of the packages are actually horrible value for money, and some of those are outright gouging. There's a much stronger case than yours to be made, and it involves taking the AFL to the ACCC if our pricing scheme is the standard.

What I pay for my membership - close to the most expensive available - is pretty ordinary value admission wise. A cap and a scarf and a bit of fluff hardly compensates. Think a whole new direction in membership packages is required.

The preseason game at princes park was a gift we looked at and went, nah screw the opportunity Its got everything to do with a half baked business practice at a time we cant afford it. It was a failure to maximise the opportunity presented and is typical of the half assed approach to our members that ive come to expect from the club.

It might be enough now. It didnt help any to be incompetent in the preseason in a game where there was literally no reason to be. We could have tanked any other game of the other two we played that didnt matter either. Instead we rested pretty much every player the supporters wanted to see, and got flogged by a half geriatric Essendon side.

I felt the same way, it was embarrassing to watch.

But I came away from that game hoping that the real lesson to be learned from the day was that Bolton was not going to be pushed around by the marketing department into showing his hand too early. I chose to believe he had a clear plan for the team across all the pre-season games and that plan didn't take into account anything other than football.

Yes I would've loved for us to come out and play against Essendon the way we played against Geelong last week... I would've loved to have seen our big names out on Princes Park... But maybe Bolton suspected that a pre-season win against a crippled team had no real upsides for what he wanted to teach the team.

He is taking a long view, and if you take the long view the best remedy to a stagnant membership list is to win premierships. The marketing flourishes are a luxury for premiership clubs I suspect.

And regardless.... the year after we suffered the worst season I've seen as a Carlton supporter we still have a club record membership don't we?

But I came away from that game hoping that the real lesson to be learned from the day was that Bolton was not going to be pushed around by the marketing department into showing his hand too early. I chose to believe he had a clear plan for the team across all the pre-season games and that plan didn't take into account anything other than football.

Yes I would've loved for us to come out and play against Essendon the way we played against Geelong last week... I would've loved to have seen our big names out on Princes Park... But maybe Bolton suspected that a pre-season win against a crippled team had no real upsides for what he wanted to teach the team.

He is taking a long view, and if you take the long view the best remedy to a stagnant membership list is to win premierships. The marketing flourishes are a luxury for premiership clubs I suspect.

And regardless.... the year after we suffered the worst season I've seen as a Carlton supporter we still have a club record membership don't we?

Thats all fine and good - when you arent having to borrow money from the league to cover finances because you didnt raise enough money from memberships, as Carlton did, or begging rich benefactors for money as the Blues did in the preseason. There has to be a balance. We could have tanked either of the other two games - especially the tasmanian one - instread of our game at Princes Park, which apparently bugged the AFL as well. It may have been whatever the football department wanted, but it did the club no good financially - and financially we were as bad as were on field.

its more than how the team played though, its the way it was presented. Preseasons serve two purposes - one of which is to give your people hope for the coming season. Not only that, but the club offered little on the day compared to other clubs in the same circumstances.

Thats all fine and good - when you arent having to borrow money from the league to cover finances because you didnt raise enough money from memberships, as Carlton did, or begging rich benefactors for money as the Blues did in the preseason. There has to be a balance. We could have tanked either of the other two games - especially the tasmanian one - instread of our game at Princes Park, which apparently bugged the AFL as well. It may have been whatever the football department wanted, but it did the club no good financially - and financially we were as bad as were on field.

its more than how the team played though, its the way it was presented. Preseasons serve two purposes - one of which is to give your people hope for the coming season. Not only that, but the club offered little on the day compared to other clubs in the same circumstances.

I think you are putting too much importance on one pre-season game. Pretty sure the club has already come out and said that the PP preseason game will be repeated next year, given that this specific preseason was all about (or should've been all about) BB getting the players into the mind set he wanted for the season proper I think we should wait and see what happens next year.

I do get your point, I just don't think that a single pre-season game under a new coach is the problem. The attitudes and lack of marketing nous for a decade are the issue... and I think the club has improved in that sense from 2015 too. Not perfect, but little steps.

That game done properly may have returned 50, 100, 1000 memberships? How do we know? What is "done properly"? Do we play it for season development or marketing exposure?

Theres no way of knowing that, but you cant tell me its good for the membership numbers after a massive loss at home to half a team. The preseason should be done with both in mind, otherwise we may as well hand the keys over to the FFA so they can run us like they do soccer.

The players that were missing, played other games, including a trip to Tasmania. You cant tell me theres no way they couldnt have been spared that for the one game we get at Princes park.

I do get your point, I just don't think that a single pre-season game under a new coach is the problem. The attitudes and lack of marketing nous for a decade are the issue... and I think the club has improved in that sense from 2015 too. Not perfect, but little steps.

I think its incompetent management by the club. And before im accused of it again - Im not saying the club management should have dictated the selection process - and i use that term loosely in the preseason in any case. Its not possible that a trip to Tasmania was better for the players than a home game at Princes Park.

Its clear everyone has this mindset that the development and long term planning is all, and the off field can just wait until we're up to speed Which is great if you can afford it. Less so if you cant afford it. And we cant afford to drop either. So screw it, why sell memberships at all in the preason - we can just send a photo of the team giving members the finger or something - except that requires effort from the club which they've heretofore proven they cbf'd doing for normal operations. Then we can have closed door training and ****ing forfeit games - because after all its the preseason and they dont matter.

I wonder what im doing here sometimes. We dont want to be run by billionaires, i see all the time. This is how we stay run by billionaires.

I think you are putting too much importance on one pre-season game.

I dont think enough importance was placed on it to begin with. But screw it, Im just a video guy.

I'm not having a dig at you, really respect what you do with the vids :-/

I think our difference in perspective is one of glass half empty/glass half full.

As said, little steps. The club actually made an effort to get a game at PP.... And we do have record club membership.... As long as things keep moving forward that's positive isn't it?

NBB, twice now you've mentioned club-record membership. Didn't we reach 51k or thereabouts a couple of seasons ago? So we'll likely beat it shortly, but we're not quite there yet.
I keep reading about a record membership this year.... Very possible I have the wrong end of the stick :$

I think you are putting too much importance on one pre-season game. Pretty sure the club has already come out and said that the PP preseason game will be repeated next year, given that this specific preseason was all about (or should've been all about) BB getting the players into the mind set he wanted for the season proper I think we should wait and see what happens next year.

This poster gets it. One practice game should not be the determinant of whether you are going to buy a membership or not.

It was very clear throughout the pre-season that Bolton was travelling to the beat of his own drum. Every training session, every match simulation, every practice match planned to the nth degree. He wasn't planning towards February or March 2016. He was planning towards the back end of our rebuild when we will hopefully be ready to challenge for premierships.

Carlton supporters who can should strap themselves in for the journey. Be there all the way.

This poster gets it. One practice game should not be the determinant of whether you are going to buy a membership or not.

It was very clear throughout the pre-season that Bolton was travelling to the beat of his own drum. Every training session, every match simulation, every practice match planned to the nth degree. He wasn't planning towards February or March 2016. He was planning towards the back end of our rebuild when we will hopefully be ready to challenge for premierships.

Carlton supporters who can should strap themselves in for the journey. Be there all the way.

Exactly, anyone who argues our team selection for the PP practice game cost us in any way whatsoever has no idea how a footy club should operate.

The marketing team should do marketing. The coaching staff should coach. Never shall the two meet. Ever.

Exactly, anyone who argues our team selection for the PP practice game cost us in any way whatsoever has no idea how a footy club should operate.

right. No idea at all. And it was never the entire argument at all - its a part of it - but not the entire picture. Its about having a sense of occasion, and the club failed to capitalise on the game, against an old rival, at our ancient home ground, in front our own supporters, not just in team selection and acting like we give a damn about our members - i say again, theres no justifiable reason these players couldnt have missed the game in launceston instead - but in general presence around the ground. Theres a reason we dont have the membership numbers of collingwood, richmond, and even Essendon - and crap like this is a big part of it.

But again, what the **** would I know right - because id have no idea.

The marketing team should do marketing. The coaching staff should coach. Never shall the two meet. Ever.

Thats nice. Its also not reality when a club is begging for money from benefactors and the league just to keep operating.

The preseason game at princes park was a gift we looked at and went, nah screw the opportunity Its got everything to do with a half baked business practice at a time we cant afford it. It was a failure to maximise the opportunity presented and is typical of the half assed approach to our members that ive come to expect from the club.

It might be enough now. It didnt help any to be incompetent in the preseason in a game where there was literally no reason to be. We could have tanked any other game of the other two we played that didnt matter either. Instead we rested pretty much every player the supporters wanted to see, and got flogged by a half geriatric Essendon side.

But screw it, this has fallen on deaf ears here before, its not going to change anything now. So ill continue on my way knowing that you know ******* everything.

Agree that the non-converted need to buy the memberships, but reckon the reason we're winning games now is because we used the pre-season to refine a game plan that so far is heading the club north. May have cost the club memberships at the season's start, but could very well mean more memberships in the future, and more importantly renewing memberships. That's what successful businesses do, build a long term product and not one for short term gain.

In fact, focusing on winning pre-season games rather than looking at the "big picture" is the Carlton of old, which wasn't great. Training a good jedi knight takes time Wookie, taking short cuts leads to the dark side.

2016 Memberships