Competitions 2016 PHANTOM DRAFT #2 COMPLETE

• Thread starter Thread starter Jimmae

Pick 25 Geelong - Josh Battle

I'm glad i can stick to my A Plan here for the Cats because most of my B Plan just went before here and i was gonna reach a bit for a player i like if Battle went as well.

Geelong need a young tall forward. They have shipped out Mitch Clark and the guy who went to Freo whose name escapes me right now. That leaves them with the Hawk(28) and Wylie Buzza.

Battle and Marshall were the only forwards i wanted here, so Battle it is. I think he has a very good chance of being a good forward at AFL level. I like his all-round game, his forward instincts, his skill level, his tank, his set shot and through strong guidance from Matthew Lloyd he will already know how to be committed.

Pick 27 - Western Bulldogs - Brennan Cox

KPP Woodville-West Torrens/South Australia
13/08/98 194CM 90KG
Player Comparison: Michael Hurley

Profile:

Despite being a KPF throughout his junior career, Cox won AA honours as a KPD.

In the Under 18’s he showed dominance in the air as well as the ability to win a contest at ground level. At Reserves level, he was used as a KPF where he kicked 19 goals in nine games, averaging 14 disposals, four marks and a goal kicking accuracy of 73%. Despite low possession numbers his overall DE was in the 80’s across all forms of football this year

Cox is one of a few top quality KPP in this draft and has some traits that will see him on an AFL list for years to come. He’s versatile, has great marking ability and reads the play as well as any defender. His composure, would arguably be the best of any of the KPP in this draft, as well as holding his own in the last couple of drafts in this pick range

An elite athlete, representing SA, under 20’s basketball and a competitive rower

Strengths:

One on One contests
Composure
Intercept marking
Versatility
Contested marking

Weaknesses:

People have questioned his intensity, which surprises me a bit, given he rarely losses a contest. Perhaps what they are trying to say, is more aggression. Has a slightly higher ball drop than normal, but has adapted well, given his DE.

Rational

I know I rate him higher than others, but hard to find a real weakness in his game. Arguably, one of the best available KPP, also fills current and future needs. The Bulldogs have a strong midfield group, even with losing the likes of Hrovat and Stevens. With Cloke being a short term option, Redpath recovering from another knee injury and Hamling being traded, I can see Cox being a vital component at both ends of the ground, short term and in years to come.

Considerations:

Mutch, Fisher, Clarke

Old navy

Pick 27 - Western Bulldogs - Brennan Cox

KPP Woodville-West Torrens/South Australia
13/08/98 194CM 90KG
Player Comparison: Michael Hurley

Profile:

Despite being a KPF throughout his junior career, Cox won AA honours as a KPD.

In the Under 18’s he showed dominance in the air as well as the ability to win a contest at ground level. At Reserves level, he was used as a KPF where he kicked 19 goals in nine games, averaging 14 disposals, four marks and a goal kicking accuracy of 73%. Despite low possession numbers his overall DE was in the 80’s across all forms of football this year

Cox is one of a few top quality KPP in this draft and has some traits that will see him on an AFL list for years to come. He’s versatile, has great marking ability and reads the play as well as any defender. His composure, would arguably be the best of any of the KPP in this draft, as well as holding his own in the last couple of drafts in this pick range

An elite athlete, representing SA, under 20’s basketball and a competitive rower

Strengths:

One on One contests
Composure
Intercept marking
Versatility
Contested marking

Weaknesses:

People have questioned his intensity, which surprises me a bit, given he rarely losses a contest. Perhaps what they are trying to say, is more aggression. Has a slightly higher ball drop than normal, but has adapted well, given his DE.

Rational

I know I rate him higher than others, but hard to find a real weakness in his game. Arguably, one of the best available KPP, also fills current and future needs. The Bulldogs have a strong midfield group, even with losing the likes of Hrovat and Stevens. With Cloke being a short term option, Redpath recovering from another knee injury and Hamling being traded, I can see Cox being a vital component at both ends of the ground, short term and in years to come.

Considerations:

Mutch, Fisher, Clarke

Old navy

Would have picked him here for the Dogs too. Tigers and Pies would be dark i reckon.

Depending on who was left for our 2nd rounder, if SOS was considering a KPP, this is the kid I would hope he would consider.

I think a number of clubs, PA Dogs and Cats, could pick him early on

Hmmmm... I'm a little worried about how the timing of these picks is panning out with the time difference in mind. I don't exactly "catch the worm" on Saturday mornings.

Pick 28 Dylan Clarke Richmond
1st for contested ball in TAC cup footy, kid is an absolute beast on the inside.
Gets good clearance and tackle numbers, is a prolific ball winner and left boot is good for a player who's game involes so much contested ball.
Is also a running machine and looks to have all the tools to really thrive in a AFL environment.
Would be a great addition to the tigers midfield and has shown he can go forward and take a mark.
Was considering bidding on Sheers, this is around the range I would expect him to go, but Clarke offers a lot of similar attributes and is a local talent.

Morning everybody!
Here's a little snippet of a classic song to get everybody up and moving.

"I am not your blowing wind
I am the lightning
I am not your Autumn moon
I am the night, the night"

I think there is something in that for everyone.
Soapy V feel free to sleep in mate, take the better out for a big breakfast, maybe a romantic walk along the water.

Jimmae - have been called out for work. Not in position to take my next pick. Not sure when I'll see bed or rise thereafter. Don't want to hold up the process. Can you deputise for me please. I'll let you know when back in the game. Cheers, Sheephead.

Collingwood - Pick 29

Jordan Ridley

DOB: 20/10/1998
Height: 191.9cm | Weight: 79.7kg
Oakleigh Chargers / Vic Metro
Position: Tall utility

Review below from Phantom Drafts but when I see height, mobility, flexibility, composure and kicking efficiency all in one kid I wonder why he isn't being discussed earlier. I have watched his video's and in my opinion he is an extremely exciting prospect. Kid hardly makes a mistake and has clean hands. Does all the basics very well. I see him as anything from an Andrew Mackie HB to a big mobile midfielder. Be great to see him in the middle alongside Cripps.

Begrudgingly I pick him for the Pies although I was tempted to pick Drew Petrie. :p

Jordan Ridley is a unique utility prospect in this year’s draft. He is one of the few players who has the capability to play anywhere, without actually locking down a position.

In 2016, he played across half-back, up forward and even running through the midfield as a link man. While Ridley is yet to establish his best position, his solid 192cm frame is likely to attract plenty of suitors, probably in the second round.

Ridley is one of the better kicks in the draft, disposing of the football with composure and generally making the right decisions. His high football IQ enables him to pick out a target and more often that not hit it with a long range kick. His kicking efficiency in the U18 Champs was 85.7%, whilst it was 67.8% in the TAC Cup.

His versatility and ability to position himself well either behind or forward of the ball, as well as his ability to spread wide and win the football uncontested on the wing is another attractive aspect of his game.

While he does have the question mark hanging over him of what position he is exactly expected to play, Ridley does have the option to be moulded in the way that his future AFL club sees fit. A shoulder injury in the TAC Cup Finals also saw him miss the last few games of the season.

I see him best fitting in as a rebounding defender as he's very composed with ball in hand under pressure
and uses his good kick to effectiveness when rebounding the ball.

Well Essendon are up. Shall we use Knightmares phantom to take the next selection?

Maybe get someone not involved to come off the bench and select a name;)

Sure Jimmae has this set out in the Phantom Draft legislation act 2016 amendment