Competitions 2016 PHANTOM DRAFT #2 COMPLETE

Hey guys. Back on deck for 5 minutes before I hit the sack. If no-one has taken my spot yet for Pick 30, I'll take Willem DREW. Write up to come.
Chuck me a message next time with a preference list; happy to help with that! If you're unsure of how that works, just go to Inbox and start a conversation.

FYI I was about to pick someone else!

Sin, want to select for Essendon? Sheephead is out for the day.
I can't help out today at all sorry mate, just about to start a very long shift at work.
Sin City what do you think of Jordan Ridley? Don't see much love for him but I reckon he could be a class afl player
Not my sort of player personally but you've gotta respect the effort he puts in. Would need to go to a really good development club like Sydney or Adelaide to make it IMO. I'm happy to answer any questions but we'd be better off leaving this thread for the phantom draft, just tag me in the draft thread instead.

Pick 8: Fremantle

I'm supposed to pick Tim English here. All the phantom drafts and experts seem to agree that Tim might as well be training with Freo as we speak. But can I just say that in this draft I hate it. I just don't like it at all. I've stated in the past that you should never select a ruckman in the top 10 and I stand by that. They're just way too unpredictable in their development. Sure you can make an exception for Elite talents like Nick Nat sometimes but even then I'd be very cautious. The thing that make Nic Nat such a great prospect was his amazing leap and athletism. English doesnt have that. The thing that makes him a good prospect is that he's a good midfielder for a guy his size . And there's the problem, he's not going to be Elite at AFL level as a midfielder. He's not a big goal kicker so he isn't going forward to be the next Tippett. He's going to make or break it as a ruckman pure and simple. Right now he's a terrible ruckman who needs a lot of development. He cant even complete at WAFL level as a ruck let alone AFL. Even assuming he learns how to ruck against the monsters at AFL level he still needs to put on plenty of muscle and strengthen his body. Here are the unknowns: Can he put on body strength? Will his body handle the extra weight and pressure without suffering constant injuries? Will he retain speed and athleticism once he builds up his body strength?

Too many unknowns. Too many question marks for me to waste a top 10 draft pick in this draft with so much talent available. Plus I don't see why Perth side would pick WA talent anyway. Better to pick Vic or SA talent and convince them to stay, and then hope that the lure of home nabs you the WA talent too.

Will Brodie

Murray Bushrangers
Height: 189 Weight: 82
DOB: 23/8/98

Not a two way runner? I dont give a ****. The best players in the game never would've got drafted if we started marking kids in the u18s down for that. The whole point of the TAC is to put your skills on display and play free running footy.

Contested bull. Physically ready to play from day dot. Highly competitive with a touch of arrogance that comes with being the best. In the absence of a high quality KPF Brodie is exactly the kind of guy a rebuilding team would want early the the draft. He just knows where to go to win the footy and farms it out to teammate on a platter.
Turns out he's a Fremantle supporter too

NORTH MELBOURNE

Pick #33 = Brandan Parfitt

I'll save us having to bid on anyone, but there was one I would have liked here.
Thought I had Fischer who I really rate....but not to be....anyway....

I feel that there is a lot to work with here, with Brandan.
Can work inside and out, although he may have to tidy up his disposal a little under pressure, but it's not too bad.
Parfitt should give North some much need run on the outside and he's not shy of getting his own ball either.

NORTH MELBOURNE

Pick #34 - Patrick Kerr

Not completely convinced here, but North have to side with needs.
Petrie is gone, Waite is never more than a niggle away from being cooked and neither Brown or Daw are KPF's
I find Patrick a very straight forward player but nevertheless he seems to understand his patterns reasonably well, can take a reasonable grab and isn't too bad a kick for goal.

Not fussed for putting a bid in for Sproule, although maybe we should have.

Jimmae is up.

Fremantle bids on Zach Sproule
Blugazi

If that's accepted Fremantle bids on Brad Scheer
FlowersByIrene

*Bid matched*

Pick 36 (GWS) - Zach Sproule
Height: 197cm Weight: 84kg
Club: Murray Bushrangers

With Macreadie going earlier than we had anticipated, we've decided to pick-up Zach to help bolster our KPP stocks. Zach has played a lot of his football as a tall forward, however we think he has the potential to become a really good KPD. He's had some stints down back this year and looks to be in his element when playing there, using his athleticism and marking prowess to provide a strong aerial presence.

FlowersByIrene

GWS had used 54, 55, 56, 57 and 58 for Macreadie at 14 and only have pick 70 to match pick 36.

They'll go into deficit for 266 pts in the second round for 2017.

Up to Gold Coast to match a bid at pick 37 (286pts) with picks 51 & 66 (339pts) moving pick 66 to 69

FlowersByIrene
GWS passed on Macreadie didnt they? WCE have him

I'll bid on Kobe Mutch

*Bid matched*

Pick 39 (GWS) - Kobe Mutch
Height: 182cm Weight: 79kg
Club: Bendigo Pioneers

Looks to be a bargain at this stage in the draft. Kobe is a really well rounded midfielder who can rack up possessions, hit targets using either foot and plays inside & out. Could become a real weapon in years to come.

Competitions 2016 PHANTOM DRAFT #2 COMPLETE