List Mgmt. 2016 Potential Draft Picks

• Thread starter Thread starter wayb2912

Does user who posted battle have any legitimacy behind him? I wouldnt mind battle at 17 if hayward and marshall are gone even if its a reach
Don't know mate. I reckon we could land Battle with one of our later picks if that's who we want. His combine testing was pretty rubbish.

Marshall is a weird feeling. Not what we went into the draft for, I was thinking it's all about the midfield but we couldn't let him slip by if he happened to be there. Maybe costs us a really nice midfield player though that could add value sooner.
Maybe it is. Weren't we quoted as saying we believed the guy we wanted at 9 would most likely still be there at 14?

Knightmare's list analysis for Port Adelaide.

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/17958126/knightmares-afl-list-analysis-does-your-club-need

Port Adelaide

List needs

1. Young star key forward - (With Jay Schulz retired, Justin Westhoff 30 and Charlie Dixon 26 but injury-prone, a young star key forward long-term is needed)

2. Ruckman who can succeed Patrick Ryder and Matthew Lobbe - (with Ryder 28, having missed the 2016 season and Lobbe 27 performing below expectation -- the developing Billy Frampton is the club's only other ruckman -- someone who can provide immediate depth and potentially be there long-term is advised)

3. Young star midfielders - (Ollie Wines is a gun but with Travis Boak and Robbie Gray both 28, Port Adelaide need to find some star midfielders for the future)

4. Running outside midfielders who find enough of the ball and use it efficiently - (the injury-prone Hamish Hartlett needs more help and an eventual successor)

5. Crumbing small forward who can kick 30+ goals in a season and heap on the forward pressure - (Angus Monfries will be welcomed back in 2017 but a longer-term star crumbing forward is another missing element)

Draft picks: 14, 17, 30, 31, 85, 103, 121, 139

Who should they draft?

Todd Marshall, if there at 14, may be the young key forward needed. Failing Marshall being there, Brett Eddy as a rookie could be an appropriate stop-gap who is good enough to step up and play at AFL level as required.

At 14 or 17, Jy Simpkin as a ball-using outside player could be a fit.

As developable midfielders with some star qualities, Daniel Venables and Sam Powell-Pepper may be two worth consideration at 14 or 17.

Port Adelaide in the rookie draft would also be advised to take one of Rowan Marshall, Darcy Cameron or Oscar McInerney to add to the club's ruck stocks.

As small forwards, late draft or as rookies, Tyson Stengle, Kym LeBois, Sam Fowler, Dan Allsop, Kyle Kirby and Willie Rioli are some names who may be considered.
I would like Stengle as a rookie.

Don't know mate. I reckon we could land Battle with one of our later picks if that's who we want. His combine testing was pretty rubbish.
Maybe it is. Weren't we quoted as saying we believed the guy we wanted at 9 would most likely still be there at 14?

Think battle will get snapped up by 30/31. He still came top 10 in the 3ker but havent seen his other results to comment. I think the guy they were refferring to is a bit more definitive; marshalls draft rankings have been all over the place; higher than 14

Does user who posted battle have any legitimacy behind him? I wouldnt mind battle at 17 if hayward and marshall are gone even if its a reach

We are definitely into Battle. Not sure with what pick though

Given some of his poor testing results would you expect him to slide to our 30s picks?

Battle's a big powerful kid, looks like he can play and could be ready to go right away. But some of the combine results Macca posted give you pause for thought.

Body size he is Darling-like but wouldn't have Jack's speed and agility.

Battle's a big powerful kid, looks like he can play and could be ready to go right away. But some of the combine results Macca posted give you pause for thought.

Some of those combine stats coupled with the fact he didn't seem to dominate kids (as far as I know from the limited reports or vision I've seen of his games) smaller and lighter than him with his endurance base worry me

In the afl that size and endurance advantage he had over kids now will be non existent.

For me a draft of berry , Simpkin , rotham and Clarke is what I want

2 ballwinners 2 good users of the footy.

Rookie eddy and one of young rucks sweet or Darcy and take a flyer on a young rookie tall like young or someone else.

Apparently Venables and Marshall not invited to draft night. Not in contention for top ten.
I read on the draft thread that Venables is not nominating for the draft.
I would have thought they would have already of done that before going to the combine.

And that's why I'm surprised about us being keen on him. There's a lot of very good midfield talent that will be available at our first 2 picks. It seems odd to go Battle at one of these picks. Could be BS but we'll see.

I read on the draft thread that Venables is not nominating for the draft.
I would have thought they would have already of done that before going to the combine.

They clarified and said he had not been invited to draft night rather than than not nominating for the draft. Chinese whispers.

Given some of his poor testing results would you expect him to slide to our 30s picks?

Geelong 24, Richmond 27 and Essendon 29 would be keen on him I reckon. I think i'd be alright with us using 30 or 31 to pick him, but I'm really not sure about 14 or 17.

He does have that great endurance, but didnt show it at all this year and his really poor repeat sprinting makes his good endurance basically redundant.

But, there is a lot to like about him. He's a real boom or bust type imo.

Geelong 24, Richmond 27 and Essendon 29 would be keen on him I reckon. I think i'd be alright with us using 30 or 31 to pick him, but I'm really not sure about 14 or 17.

He does have that great endurance, but didnt show it at all this year and his really poor repeat sprinting makes his good endurance basically redundant.

But, there is a lot to like about him. He's a real boom or bust type imo.

Hmm reminds me of Mitch fat boy Harvey.

Knightmare's list analysis for Port Adelaide.

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/17958126/knightmares-afl-list-analysis-does-your-club-need

Port Adelaide

List needs

1. Young star key forward - (With Jay Schulz retired, Justin Westhoff 30 and Charlie Dixon 26 but injury-prone, a young star key forward long-term is needed)

2. Ruckman who can succeed Patrick Ryder and Matthew Lobbe - (with Ryder 28, having missed the 2016 season and Lobbe 27 performing below expectation -- the developing Billy Frampton is the club's only other ruckman -- someone who can provide immediate depth and potentially be there long-term is advised)

3. Young star midfielders - (Ollie Wines is a gun but with Travis Boak and Robbie Gray both 28, Port Adelaide need to find some star midfielders for the future)

4. Running outside midfielders who find enough of the ball and use it efficiently - (the injury-prone Hamish Hartlett needs more help and an eventual successor)

5. Crumbing small forward who can kick 30+ goals in a season and heap on the forward pressure - (Angus Monfries will be welcomed back in 2017 but a longer-term star crumbing forward is another missing element)

Draft picks: 14, 17, 30, 31, 85, 103, 121, 139

Who should they draft?

Todd Marshall, if there at 14, may be the young key forward needed. Failing Marshall being there, Brett Eddy as a rookie could be an appropriate stop-gap who is good enough to step up and play at AFL level as required.

At 14 or 17, Jy Simpkin as a ball-using outside player could be a fit.

As developable midfielders with some star qualities, Daniel Venables and Sam Powell-Pepper may be two worth consideration at 14 or 17.

Port Adelaide in the rookie draft would also be advised to take one of Rowan Marshall, Darcy Cameron or Oscar McInerney to add to the club's ruck stocks.

As small forwards, late draft or as rookies, Tyson Stengle, Kym LeBois, Sam Fowler, Dan Allsop, Kyle Kirby and Willie Rioli are some names who may be considered.
He's missed the mark there.

We need:

1. Inside ball winner. Having only Wines in this category leaves us horribly exposed when he is injured. This will release Ebert, Boak, Hartlett, etc to the outside where they should be.

2. Multiple Ball winning/contest winning mids. We're extremely shallow here. Beyond our top line 5 there is a huge drop off. Our backup midfield talent is poor and importantly our top end talent isn't good enough to take us all the way. So we need to inject more into this area to compensate for our lacking top end if we are to have a shot at a flag.

3. Key forward depth. After the above 2 are satisfied, we need to recruit our next wave of key forwards. The injury to Howard leaves us in a risky position short term, but at the same stage with Dixon and Westhoff we have capable keys and as such the main issues in this area will continue to be, the ability of the team to move the ball fluently and the midfield to generate some clean I50s, rather than the key forwards being the problem themselves. Some depth here that is ready to go along with Howard by 2019-2020, as Westhoff drops away, would be the aim.

4. Key position defender/utility. If available, another kpd would fill a hole in our depth and long term development strategy given the removal of O'Shea.

5. With a rookie selection we would benefit from the recruitment of a kid with long term potential to be a ruckman, but there is no short term need with Lobbe providing outstanding depth and Frampton nearing being ready.

Avoid:
#1 - Flankers and outside players that aren't ball winners.

Dream scenario is
14 - Inside Mid
17 - Ball winning mid
30 - Tall Fwd
31 - Ball winning mid
85 - Tall Def
103 - Pass
121 - Krak Upgrade.

Rookie draft:
Pick 1 - Brett Eddy
Pick 2 - Ruckman

Hayward on channel 9 saying him and his family are diehard Crer fans but doesn't give a preference as to who he'd like to play for.

Every time I hear a young gun speak out pre draft saying they love that mob I feel a little uneasy about picking them up but remember we managed to get that Crer love out of 2 sets of Cornes', Hartlett & Wingard not long after they play their first game against them.