List Mgmt. 2016 Potential Draft Picks

• Thread starter Thread starter wayb2912

If Marshall set the world on fire, sure draft him but he hasn't. Port needs quality young midfielders. That's where I would be looking at, rather than drafting a KPF just because he is a KPF
I've cooled on Marshall - the performances don't match the hype. Battle seems the more solid prospect. If we can get a second pick in the first round, we should pick Battle as a kpf and Drew as an inside mid.

Marshall physically looks a 4 year project. That's not a knock for a player who has just recently started playing the game and getting towards the end of the season is probably getting a little tired. Would not mind him but we need mids really badly. Would grab him if we can get more picks inside 20. Just a couple of more.

Marshall is the best key forward option in the draft. There is no doubt about that. Battle arguably too short. Kerr vanilla and one dimensional. Every other option is a late pick. Marshall has kicked 19 goals in 9 TAC Cup games. 8 goals in 4 Div1 champs games. The output has been there. It's also a complete moot point as to whether the performances match the hype or if he's set the world on fire. You aren't drafting off what they've done, you are drafting for their potential. His potential, with that contested marking and his pace off the mark is through the roof.

If we go down that path i'll be pretty happy. I honestly think, unless we pull some strange left field pick, that we'll be getting a very good player with our first pick.

Marshall is the best key forward option in the draft. There is no doubt about that. Battle arguably too short. Kerr vanilla and one dimensional. Every other option is a late pick. Marshall has kicked 19 goals in 9 TAC Cup games. 8 goals in 4 Div1 champs games. The output has been there. It's also a complete moot point as to whether the performances match the hype or if he's set the world on fire. You aren't drafting off what they've done, you are drafting for their potential. His potential, with that contested marking and his pace off the mark is through the roof.

If we go down that path i'll be pretty happy. I honestly think, unless we pull some strange left field pick, that we'll be getting a very good player with our first pick.
Macca who do you think are the 5 players supposedely on the trade table (Hartlett aside). If all are traded what selections do we go to the draft with then in your opinion who do we draft. Apologise for the depth of question but it appears to me the club should have you as part of list management team

The 5 players I reckon would be Hartlett, Broadbent, AhChee, Lobbe & Jonas. If they all got traded I'd say you are looking at a first round, 2 x 2nd rounds, a 3rd round and a 4th round pick.

If all those trades were done, my ultimate draft would be:

1st Round - Andrew Mcgrath
1st Round - Todd Marshall
2nd Round - Josh Rotham
2nd Round - Sam Powell-Pepper
3rd Round - Jo Atley
3rd Round - Max Lynch
4th Round - Tye Bedford
4th Round - Oscar Junker
5th Round - Lewis Young

If you are a podcast listener, myself and Portia will be profiling a heap of players leading into the draft, as well as doing the usual phantom with missionpossible as well

The 5 players I reckon would be Hartlett, Broadbent, AhChee, Lobbe & Jonas. If they all got traded I'd say you are looking at a first round, 2 x 2nd rounds, a 3rd round and a 4th round pick.

2nd Round - Josh Rotham
3rd Round - Jo Atley
3rd Round - Max Lynch
4th Round - Tye Bedford
4th Round - Oscar Junker
5th Round - Lewis Young

If you are a podcast listener, myself and Portia will be profiling a heap of players leading into the draft, as well as doing the usual phantom with missionpossible as well
Am a listner and like Portia's direct 'speak'..very alberton like...lol. When as in day/date do you plan that podcast.

2nd Round - Josh Rotham
3rd Round - Jo Atley
3rd Round - Max Lynch
4th Round - Tye Bedford
4th Round - Oscar Junker
5th Round - Lewis Young

Would love Mcgrath

• Co-Captian-leadership
  • Defensive abilllity- shut down ainsworth
  • agillity and speed- another linebreaker would be great. Matt white never plays a full season it seems . we lack speed.
  • good skills

That's way too simplified. Taking talls just cos we need talls, regardless of talent level is insane.

This year's draft is deep in midfielders, so to pass on those midfielders for talls in a draft where the talls aren't particularly rated is silly, especially when next year's draft looks great for depth of talls. It's just one year difference. Taking a tall this year and one next year - how is that worse than taking two talls this year? The one year difference is that huge?

We take best available, as simple as that. If Todd Marshall is there at our pick, sure, but it's painfully obvious we need midfielders. Robbie and Trav are fast approaching 30. In terms of young star midfielders, only Wines (inside) and Polec (outside) seem to be chances of that on our list. The rest are flankers or unknowns. We haven't picked a mid in the first round since Ollie, and this a deep midfielder draft.

There are so many more factors than just we need key forwards so let's draft a bunch. Especially with how our team seems to approach developing them anyway.

Isnt Marshall a top ten pick?

2nd Round - Josh Rotham
3rd Round - Jo Atley
3rd Round - Max Lynch
4th Round - Tye Bedford
4th Round - Oscar Junker
5th Round - Lewis Young

Macca is there a link to player info?

Am a listner and like Portia's direct 'speak'..very alberton like...lol. When as in day/date do you plan that podcast.

It's gonna be spread over about 8 different pods as its a lot of info and a lot of players to get through

Macca is there a link to player info?

There's a fair bit of info spread all over the place. But as a quick guide:

Andrew McGrath - 179cm Out/In mid or HBF. Can play anywhere. Fast. Takes the game on. Had huge numbers in teh TAC cup all year. Had a 44 disposal, 19 tackle, 15 clearance game during the year. Would suit our game plan perfectly.

Todd Marshall - 198cm KPF. Good contested marker. Good at ground level. Quick off the mark.

Josh Rotham - 192cm 3rd tall Defender. Can play as either a play making backman but also has midfield scope. Big numbers in the WAFL all year. Reads the play. Great kick.

Sam Powell-Pepper - 186cm Mid. Aggressive and can play inside or out. Lightning quick and hard as nails. Think a mix between Chris Judd and Michael Wilson. Just needs to get more of the ball. Again, a perfect fit for how we want to play.

Jo Atley - 186cm inside mid. Tough, ready to play. Think of a Nathan Jones or Levi Greenwood type. Wins the ball, decent pace, good skills.

Max Lynch - 200cm Ruck/KPP. GWS Academy player. Could play year 1, great agility and good pace for his size. Can play down back as well.

Tye Bedford - 186cm Out Mid. Wingman that picks up a lot of the ball, good pace and skills. Good linkman.

Oscar Junker - 193cm Utility. Plays as an inside mid, or a shutdown defender, or a 3rd tall forward. Think of someone like Adam Hunter or Patrick Cripps. Can play anywhere.

Lewis Young - 198cm KPF. CHF with good mobility. Strong mark, good on the lead. Only makes the draft by 10 days.

AFL Draft Central and Footy Prophet have some good info on players and there's heaps of footage on youtube, not just player highlights but looking at TAC clubs youtube pages is a gold mine of footage sometimes as well.

Sam Powell-Pepper - 186cm Mid. Aggressive and can play inside or out. Lightning quick and hard as nails. Think a mix between Chris Judd and Michael Wilson. Just needs to get more of the ball. Again, a perfect fit for how we want to play.

Holy shit I want based solely on this sentence!

Was he made in a lab?!

Hartlett will be traded, this whole 'he's got a contract' won't matter. Has an open mind from what I can tell but hasn't said as much. So we'll have at least 2 first rounders.

It's gonna be spread over about 8 different pods as its a lot of info and a lot of players to get through
Which one will be the drinking one or saving that for after the draft?

I just to know what Ken is thinking midfielder or kpp.

Just going off reports Battle seems to be really standing up in the TAC finals with a massive game last week whereas Marshall struggled to get into the game. It's pretty clear that Marshall has some pretty awesome scope for improvement (and history is littered with the lankier prospects having quiet games in finals before gaining full coordination and mass), but I wouldn't be unhappy if we went the less riskier option with our pick. I would take a Membrey like return.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/tac-cup-2016-season.1126391/page-6#post-46517658

Ken really wants marshall. Dont know if mentioned already but in one of his youtube highlight videos he takes a pretty good mark ken grabs the binoculars straight away and writes presumebly his name down the commentstors make note of it aswell
Hahaha, this post is kind of cute in its naivety. I'd say every club wants Marshall. Just because that footage showed Ken in the box at the same time that Marshall took the mark doesn't mean he's our number 1 target. Every coach would be well aware of who Marshall is, so I doubt Ken would be scribbling his name down when he takes a mark. I'm sure if you looked at Ken's page after the game there'd be half a dozen comments at least about every player on ground. He know we have to nail this draft.

With Schulz and Butcher gone they must surely be looking at a KPF.

I seriously think we need some young midfield talent coming through though.

I know Marshall has the extra height and scope for improvement, but Battle seems like a more natural footballer who knows how to find the goals. I reckon he would be ready to play much sooner than Marshall too. I reckon after his recent form he might be a draft bolter as well.

I would love to somehow land Galluci - maybe if we trade into the second round.

I still think our optimal outcome is trade for ready to go KPF and draft mid ready to go R1, but that plan A requires the "cash in hand" early in trade week so to speak. As for plan B...