List Mgmt. 2016 Potential Draft Picks

• Thread starter Thread starter wayb2912

And then we picked Matthew's inferior brother at 71. :mad:

That is a ridiculous call. Westhoff's is not the most consistent performer but he has produced plenty of good games among his 200 for us. We took him at 71 not at 7 so he has been good value for a late pick.

Oh come on is that really necessary? Justin's inconsistency is frustrating but he has been a very good player for the club. There's no need to run him down like that. Too much of this lately. Real wolf pack mentality going on.

Spot on.

And then we picked Matthew's inferior brother at 71. :mad:
Piss off mate, in our dark days he worked harder and more effective than any other player.

Oh come on is that really necessary? Justin's inconsistency is frustrating but he has been a very good player for the club. There's no need to run him down like that. Too much of this lately. Real wolf pack mentality going on.
Piss off mate, in our dark days he worked harder and more effective than any other player.
I was riffing off the statement "Robbie who? Well we officially ****ed this draft up" in the post I quoted.

I like Westhoff.

I was riffing off the statement "Robbie who? Well we officially ****ed this draft up" in the post I quoted.

I like Westhoff.

As you can see from some responses that wasn't all that clear but okay. Given the way some players are descended on lately it does open the door for more of that.

Fair enough. I would hate to read your post if you hated him. ;)

For the record I googled "bigfooty theduckfarmer westhoff" and this was the first hit.
Justin Westhoff is mobile and athletic, with freakish skills for a tall, and an outstanding footy brain. He is not a gorilla power forward in the Tredrea/Brown tradition and will never be one. However, if we can't find an appropriate role in our gameplan for someone with Justin's ability there is something seriously wrong.

Keep up the good work ILTH.

What ever happened to I:hearts:TH?

I like Westhoff.
I thought this was very clear, couldn't believe so many were having a crack...it's following the quoted post of "error's"that were actually very good picks!!!

Glad many stuck up for Westy, but wake up folks!!

To me the class genuine midfielders are all gone before our first pick. Then there a variety of types for the next 15 or so picks. Then there is depth in genuine mids to choose from at about 30. I like Florent, Spp and Berry as players for our early picks but I don't think any of them are meant to be genuine mids. I'm keen on Marshall, English, Bolton and maybe Hayward as players to fit our list. There should be tonnes of genuine mids for pick 30. Clarke is the one I want us to get, but it could be Poholke, Mutch, Scharenberg, Graham, Drew or Atley. (if Clarke is there and we don't pick him I will be a sad panda). There should be players like B. Cox, Berry, Sproule, Kerr if we want another tall.

We should be able to pick up someone like Barrett as a dfa and someone like Parfitt as pick 100 or whatever our fifth pick is. Then pick up best ruck in the rookie draft. (Olango, ladhams, darcy) We just need to move on Stewart and O'shea first.

I really like the sounds of Clarke too. Any chance we take him with 17 you think?

I really like Joe Atley at pick 30 inside mid unlike his brother and has leadership captain of Bendigo Pioneers
I know much less about these kids than most posting here, but I like the look of Atley.
A haul of:
1. strong inside mid with leadership potential (Atley, maybe Berry)
2. Explosive, powerful mid (SPP)
3. Classy mid with great disposal (? Witherden)
4. Battle or Kerr

would do us nicely.

Mids mids mids and a big key forward, don't care what order, just want players that'll help us get to & win finals

Is Brennan Cox worth considering at 30 or 31? I know he is a defender but I have read some good things without seeing him play.
Pretty versatile player. Tagged as a defender but plays forward as well. At 194cm tall and not a skinny kid, he's built for AFL and has a basketball background which always seems to be a positive for footballers. There's just so many to look at from our POV, so I'm not sure we'll draft him. If the club has a sense about Clurey's future then we may well go after him. He will get drafted though.

I know much less about these kids than most posting here, but I like the look of Atley.
A haul of:
1. strong inside mid with leadership potential (Atley, maybe Berry)
2. Explosive, powerful mid (SPP)
3. Classy mid with great disposal (? Witherden)
4. Battle or Kerr

would do us nicely.
SPP could go around 8 and as far as 31. His u18 all star game was really good. Would love him in Port colours.
I'd be disappointed if we don't draft Scharenberg, particularly if available at our second rounder.
I reckon Battle suits today's game plans better than Kerr but Kerr is definitely growing on me. His Grandfather was a Carlton great I understand.
I really, really like Shai Bolton, but he's 177cm. We don't need more small players but we do need really good players. Personally I'd grab him.
Then there is Hayward, who is one of those lads who has x factor to be a match winner or could be a complete dud. Can't deny his goal kicking ability though.

The more I look at the options the more I complement the club for getting 4 early picks.

Strong disagree but no the place for it.
Well you are wrong and the facts and stats prove it, there's nothing to discuss.

How would people feel about Drew at 30 or 31?

Had an outstanding year for North Ballarat (in the best players in 14 of 15 games), but was decidedly average for VC at the champs.

Knightmare lists his strengths and weaknesses as:
Strengths:
- Stoppage specialist
- Wins first possession at stoppages
- Contested-ball winning
- Aggressive tackler
- Clean below knees
- Courage to win 50/50 ball without fear of getting hurt
- Strength
- Capable mark overhead
- Scoreboard impact
- Acceleration
- Versatility to play forward or back as required
- Reads flight well and takes intercept marks
- Late season has started to run to better spots on the outside to become a more frequent and useful link player
- Strength of TAC Cup performances
Weaknesses:
- Limited opportunities through midfield during the under-18 championships and end-of-season Under-18 All Stars match leaves him slightly unproven against best competition in the country
- Limited outside hurt factor as an infrequent linebreaker with an only average kick
- Endurance
- From stoppages he rushes kicks, too often bombing long to a general area near one of his teammates rather than taking time to find an open target by foot

From the clips below, he looks to be pretty clean by hand. Iffy kicking, but was =10th in the kicking test at the combine.

'

Screen Shot 2016-10-25 at 10.58.38.png

Drew is a strange one because he played in a back pocket in all televised games so far, so we haven't seen the best of him. I'm eagerly awaiting the AFL to release some footage as trying to find footage of his midfield work has been tough.

How would people feel about Drew at 30 or 31?

I'm all for him. He showed flashes in the champs of what he could do, but they played him as a flanker rather than a midfielder so he didn't get to show what he's capable of.

Edit: Look at those tackle numbers, pwoar.

Well you are wrong and the facts and stats prove it, there's nothing to discuss.

I'd have it firmly on Schulz. Even in 2012 I remember being here, all of us bemoaning Hoff going behind the ball late to pad those stats.

One of our best across that timeline? Yes. The undisputed best? Not quite.