List Mgmt. 2016 Potential Draft Picks

• Thread starter Thread starter wayb2912

It's funny, Fyfe is who I thought of when I saw Hayward's 9 goals game highlights. And whether Parker would be having flashbacks. ;)

I get what you're saying that it isn't always the case, though I didn't say it was the easiest thing. I just think it's one of the easier things - there is only one ball and a lot of game planning will go into getting it to specific players. I think Venables' outstanding ability to win his own contested ball will stand him in good stead. He's also split half his time on the ball and half in the forward line which would obviously affect his numbers - but he has tended to go missing for periods, which can obviously go either way.

He definitely won't be there at 30, and every player has a possibility of being a bust. I guess I just don't see Venables as having a higher possibility - especially with his ability to play forward.

Definitely the possibility he is being preferred forward for impact rather than midfield minutes is something that could be assessed. People who have watched him week in week out would be far better at assessing him than me based on some highlights and numbers.

The real question for those that have seen a bit of him would be when he does go in to the midfield how does he move , position , run and spread?

Definitely the possibility he is being preferred forward for impact rather than midfield minutes is something that could be assessed. People who have watched him week in week out would be far better at assessing him than me based on some highlights and numbers.

The real question for those that have seen a bit of him would be when he does go in to the midfield how does he move , position , run and spread?

Venables is a bit of an unknown for the average punter as he only played the 3 TAC Cup games this year before playing a stack of school footy.

I think he can spectate a bit as a spectator sometimes. There are parts of his game that make me go 'wow', then there are others that don't impress at all.

I think knightmare hit the nail on the head; weve said from the get go we would target the best avaliable players who GENERALLY have an "impact/give us a a boost first season" not always do; that implies its not always a big bodied player. added to that cripps saying whoever we were going to pick at 9 would be avaliable at 14 which can only point to an absoloute unknown or an injured player and with our drafting history it is most likely to be the latter rather than the former. In that regard simpkin gets a tick from me, hayward best avaliable tick.

Villis Is skinny outside mid who has a good kick which we so desperatly need tick

Pohlkoe big bodied utility. that pick will really come down to draft night we could literally land anyone clearly it would be a mid to balance though; graham, clarke, atley,drew, scharenberg if still there etc etc take your pick. If we pick up eddy and barrett then were pretty much set id take those picks and rookie a tall

PS ... Sam Powell-Pepper:

PS Richmond must like him! They have a highlights package of him on the website. It mostly features highlights from his games for East Perth. Really worth looking at!
http://www.richmondfc.com.au/video/2016-10-26/draft-prospect-sam-powellpepper-jrz

I was worried that Richmond had an earlier pick than us and would likely take SPP however then I noted that it's not until pick 27 so good news. Looks like they are adding players vids for those who may be around the mark at their pick 27. They have SPP, Cox and Kerr on there website currently. Best we use one of our first two if we are keen as he won't be there by 30.

From Knightmares phantom draft.

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/17897568/knightmare-first-2017-afl-phantom-draft

Pick 14: Port Adelaide
Who they'll pick: Jy Simpkin
Why he goes here: Missing the season with a broken leg, Simpkin, 181cm, 71kg when healthy can provide Port Adelaide with much needed skill and x-factor up forward or pushing up through the midfield. He is one of the best kicks into the forward 50m in this draft and displays composure with ball in hand and excellent vision. He has good acceleration and also is a good finisher around goal who can hit the scoreboard.

Pick 17: Port Adelaide
Who they'll pick: Will Hayward
Why he goes here: Hayward, a leadup forward at 186cm, 76kg felt unstoppable during SANFL Under-18 finals with 13 goals in his final two games. A smart, strong-marking forward, Hayward is at his best inside the forward 50m. He creates separation on the lead, takes marks at the highest point, is an aerial and one-on-one marking threat. Hayward is also clean at ground level and provides heavy scoreboard impact.

Pick 30: Port Adelaide
Who they'll pick: Alex Villis
Why he goes here: Villis, a 182cm, 70kg outside player, is one of the more reliable ball users in this year's draft. He uses it well on both sides of the body, makes good decisions with ball in hand and would be a suitable list fit for Port Adelaide on a wing or coming out of defence.

Pick 31: Port Adelaide
Who they'll pick: Myles Poholke
Why he goes here: Poholke at 184cm, 84kg is a strong-bodied utility who can play through the midfield or at either end. He is a strong contested-ball winner who tackles with intensity and is a strong mark overhead.
Knightmare has got it wrong on 3 out of 4 imo. Hayward at 30 is about right.

I was watching some you tubes of some of the draftees last night. The footage I saw of SPP - he has pace and goes hard at it, but I didn't see him hit a target and some bad turnovers. Josh Battle is a beautiful kick at goal - a natural. Is well built too so would be ready to go early in his career. Marshall looks good, but I reckon needs a few preseasons to put on a some muscle. Florent is a smooth mover and a neat kick, and seems to be able to get out of trouble.

I haven't seen any of Hayward yet but he reads like a match winner - something we need more of. After Wingard who would you rely on to kick a clutch goal at Port??

I was watching some you tubes of some of the draftees last night. The footage I saw of SPP - he has pace and goes hard at it, but I didn't see him hit a target and some bad turnovers. Josh Battle is a beautiful kick at goal - a natural. Is well built too so would be ready to go early in his career. Marshall looks good, but I reckon needs a few preseasons to put on a some muscle. Florent is a smooth mover and a neat kick, and seems to be able to get out of trouble.

I haven't seen any of Hayward yet but he reads like a match winner - something we need more of. After Wingard who would you rely on to kick a clutch goal at Port??

Have a look three posts up for a link to Hayward's 9 goal prelim final.

It's funny, Fyfe is who I thought of when I saw Hayward's 9 goals game highlights. And whether Parker would be having flashbacks. ;)
Is there a link Ford can't find it on google
Thanks for that Nice kick for goal. would have no problems picking him up as our project forward. How tall is he?

Reminds me of a short Butch

Is there a link Ford can't find it on google

Thanks for that Nice kick for goal. would have no problems picking him up as our project forward. How tall is he?

From Knightmare

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/17598612/knightmare-afl-draft-wrap-hayward-fires-sanfl-final

Player focus
North Adelaide forward Will Hayward is quickly making a name for himself after a big performance in this year's SANFL Under-18 grand final. While Hayward was on the losing side, he again figured prominently up forward for North Adelaide with 13 disposals, 11 contested possessions, six marks (five contested), four goals and one score assist. It follows a 22-disposal (12 contested), 10 mark (four contested), nine goal, one score assist game in a convincing win against Woodville West-Torrens.
Hayward, a 186cm, 76kg forward does his best work close to goal and looms as an ideal medium forward for clubs to target in this year's AFL draft.

I want to like Jarod Berry more, especially because athletically he absolutely stands out with size, strength and speed.

But I think I figured out what has been nagging at me as to why I'm not overly keen. He sort of seems like the Shaun Atley, Elliot Kavanagh of this draft. At the start of their draft year, talked up as a top 5 pick, then by the end of it, absolutely not. It's far from the best way to judge someone, but I think that's what's making me not be very high on him.

My first impressions of Hayward are that he looks and plays like Mayes. Tallish high half forward. Am I missing something?

The Fyfe reference is that our recruiters were present (watching someone else) the day Fyfe announced himself by kicking 9 in a colts game. He was seen as a third tall then. The label back then was a "tweener"- not tall enough to be a key forward in the AFL, not quick enough to be a midfielder.

Now everyone is looking for the next Fyfe. But the chances are, if Hayward is the next Fyfe, he'd be playing midfield by now. Back then 188-190cm was seen as too tall for a midfielder. Now, if you're that height and can run, they love putting you in the midfield.

The next Fyfe will be playing midfield at colt level, not a third tall.

Have heard from a reliable source* that we are heavily into Sam Powell-Pepper.

*some random pm'd me out of the blue to tell me this. Has not replied when pressed for more detail.

#stillmoreaccuratethanthetradewhisperer
Old mate finally got back to me. No new info, just the ever enigmatic:

"You can bank on it mate"

Locked in at 14 by the looks of it!

Old mate finally got back to me. No new info, just the ever enigmatic:

"You can bank on it mate"

Locked in at 14 by the looks of it!
And not to forget a link that eventually took me to the highlights vid on richmond's website. I think my work pc picked up elecro-AIDS on route however.

Imma ask him about Drew.