List Mgmt. 2016 Potential Draft Picks

• Thread starter Thread starter wayb2912

Looks like Mackie / sam Gilbert to me. I think he is gone before our pick anyway. Heard some official looking footy types drooling about him.

I want a real mid who can kick goals. I'm dreaming of sps.

I really want Dylan Clarke at Port. I'm thinking Luke Parker. I really don't want drew.

Scharenberg can't kick. Massive Shame.

I want Hayward on our list. He's got x factor and upside.

Sps isnt a goalkicking mid, unfortunately

I would have thought there was a lot of big bodied midfielders in this draft.

No more than normal:

Joe Atley Inside Midfielder (Bendigo Pioneers/Vic Country) 04/08/1998 | 185cm | 80kg
Hamish Brayshaw Inside Midfielder (Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro) 09/02/1998 | 183cm | 85kg
Will Brodie Inside Midfielder (Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country) 23/08/1998 | 189cm | 82kg
Dylan Clarke Inside Midfielder (Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro) 06/09/1998 | 187cm | 85kg
Daniel Venables Inside Midfielder (Western Jets/Vic Metro) 19/11/1998 | 185cm | 76kg
Jack Graham Inside Midfielder (North Adelaide/South Australia) 25/02/1998 | 183cm | 83kg
Sam Powell-Pepper Inside Midfielder (East Perth/Western Australia) 08/01/1998 | 188cm | 83kg
Jonty Scharenberg Inside Midfielder (Glenelg/South Australia) 28/08/1998 | 185cm | 78kg

FATHER-son prospect Ben Jarman is the early standout at the NAB AFL Draft Combine, finishing in the top-10 for all of the skills testing.

The South Australian midfielder, who can join Adelaide and Hawthorn as a father-son pick given his dad Darren's career at both clubs, was one of three joint winners in the clean hands test on Friday night at Etihad Stadium.

Alongside classy midfielder Oliver Florent and defender Ryan Garthwaite, Jarman scored 28 of a possible 30 points in the clean hands exercise, which sees prospects having to gather the ball at ground level before shooting off handballs at different distances.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-08/jarman-shows-allround-potential-at-combine
Ben Jarman will be a gun for whoever picks him up. Underrated because of his height, but has amazing footy smarts.

No more than normal:

Joe Atley Inside Midfielder (Bendigo Pioneers/Vic Country) 04/08/1998 | 185cm | 80kg
Hamish Brayshaw Inside Midfielder (Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro) 09/02/1998 | 183cm | 85kg
Will Brodie Inside Midfielder (Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country) 23/08/1998 | 189cm | 82kg
Dylan Clarke Inside Midfielder (Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro) 06/09/1998 | 187cm | 85kg
Daniel Venables Inside Midfielder (Western Jets/Vic Metro) 19/11/1998 | 185cm | 76kg
Jack Graham Inside Midfielder (North Adelaide/South Australia) 25/02/1998 | 183cm | 83kg
Sam Powell-Pepper Inside Midfielder (East Perth/Western Australia) 08/01/1998 | 188cm | 83kg
Jonty Scharenberg Inside Midfielder (Glenelg/South Australia) 28/08/1998 | 185cm | 78kg
Drew. Berry. Mutch. Scheer

Bit late to join in but as well as not knowi g anything about the players in the draft, I'm also really struggling to think of a player type we need.

I've read a couple of Portia's posts that mention what we do not need and I 100% agree with them.

Its more of a case of say no type slogans rather than all the way with xxx.

No small mids.
No small forwards.
No small backs.
No third KPD types.

Not sure if we need KPDs at all unless there is a gun available.

We probably could do with a KPF but not one suited to be a third tall and he wouldn't get much fame time with Ryder, Westhoff and Dixon all available.

That leaves rucks. As they take time to develop and we already have at least one developing in the SANFL, then we would be best to get a couple with late picks and the rookie draft.

Thus the best I can think of is big bodied players with good skills plus a couple of rucks with late picks.

What we really need is to flog a simple but effective playbook from one of the clubs that plays as a team, but that won't be available through the draft.

Bit late to join in but as well as not knowi g anything about the players in the draft, I'm also really struggling to think of a player type we need.

I've read a couple of Portia's posts that mention what we do not need and I 100% agree with them.

Its more of a case of say no type slogans rather than all the way with xxx.

No small mids.
No small forwards.
No small backs.
No third KPD types.

Not sure if we need KPDs at all unless there is a gun available.

We probably could do with a KPF but not one suited to be a third tall and he wouldn't get much fame time with Ryder, Westhoff and Dixon all available.

That leaves rucks. As they take time to develop and we already have at least one developing in the SANFL, then we would be best to get a couple with late picks and the rookie draft.

Thus the best I can think of is big bodied players with good skills plus a couple of rucks with late picks.

What we really need is to flog a simple but effective playbook from one of the clubs that plays as a team, but that won't be available through the draft.

They're 18 year olds " big bodied" can be taken with a grain of salt.
dca8237b9aa0567efece733efdb24965.jpg

Was Andrew Moore big bodied at the time? I forget.

No more than normal:

Joe Atley Inside Midfielder (Bendigo Pioneers/Vic Country) 04/08/1998 | 185cm | 80kg = pick 25-40
Hamish Brayshaw Inside Midfielder (Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro) 09/02/1998 | 183cm | 85kg = pick 25-40
Will Brodie Inside Midfielder (Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country) 23/08/1998 | 189cm | 82kg = pick 2-5
Dylan Clarke Inside Midfielder (Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro) 06/09/1998 | 187cm | 85kg = pick 20-25
Daniel Venables Inside Midfielder (Western Jets/Vic Metro) 19/11/1998 | 185cm | 76kg = pick 12-15
Jack Graham Inside Midfielder (North Adelaide/South Australia) 25/02/1998 | 183cm | 83kg = pick 35-40
Sam Powell-Pepper Inside Midfielder (East Perth/Western Australia) 08/01/1998 | 188cm | 83kg = pick 20-30
Jonty Scharenberg Inside Midfielder (Glenelg/South Australia) 28/08/1998 | 185cm | 78kg = pick 25-30

No chance with Brodie but all others available with our first pick.Some may be still there at our 3rd round pick of 46.

They're 18 year olds " big bodied" can be taken with a grain of salt.
dca8237b9aa0567efece733efdb24965.jpg

Was Andrew Moore big bodied at the time? I forget.
He was HFF that we tried to turn into a big bodied midfielder.

I would have thought there was a lot of big bodied midfielders in this draft.

Yeah seems like a good draft for the speculative big bodied maybe slowish maybe not a great kick ball winners that you have some doubts to how well they transfer that over to afl level. At least one of the bunch of them will turn out to be a gun and everyone will say why didn't we see it.

Midfielders who can win it inside but hurt outside as well is what we need , and what is very shallow and hard to find in this draft I reckon (although you could say in any draft). Mcluggage would be perfect for us. Probably why we should take flyers on Drew and Powell pepper as they could be somewhat close to that if everything came together in regards to inside ability and hurt factor by ball use. Even gallucci as much as everyone rightly has doubts about his inconsistent ability has some chance to becoming an elite mid in the style we might want. Pity we don't have more picks in the 20's early 30's to go after Powell-pepper , Drew and gallucci.

Andrew mcgrath 3.02 20m sprint was a surprise
This is the guy I want, won't fall to us though. Would be almost ready to go as well!

Yeah seems like a good draft for the speculative big bodied maybe slowish maybe not a great kick ball winners that you have some doubts to how well they transfer that over to afl level. At least one of the bunch of them will turn out to be a gun and everyone will say why didn't we see it.

Midfielders who can win it inside but hurt outside as well is what we need , and what is very shallow and hard to find in this draft I reckon (although you could say in any draft). Mcluggage would be perfect for us. Probably why we should take flyers on Drew and Powell pepper as they could be somewhat close to that if everything came together in regards to inside ability and hurt factor by ball use. Even gallucci as much as everyone rightly has doubts about his inconsistent ability has some chance to becoming an elite mid in the style we might want. Pity we don't have more picks in the 20's early 30's to go after Powell-pepper , Drew and gallucci.

We should trade down 9 to to pick around top 20/25

Im starting to get firmer for florent

I want our first draft pick to be used on someone who played well in both their state league final and in the all stars game. We could use more players with that kind of temperament.

Florent, SPS or Taranto and I'd be over the moon.

Special mentions to Pepper-Powell and Sproule who both fit that category but aren't quite top 10 picks.

I want our first draft pick to be used on someone who played well in both their state league final and in the all stars game. We could use more players with that kind of temperament.

Florent, SPS or Taranto and I'd be over the moon.

Special mentions to Pepper-Powell and Sproule who both fit that category but aren't quite top 10 picks.

Florent was very good at directing players. Not in a Chaplin way, but he could see the future man. He knew what he was doing out there. I can't see him being a bomb. Id be happy with Florent, Taranto and SPS is a incredible. We need more picks. :) Want PP and Sproule, Want Clarke. Want Hayward. Want a ruck man. Big trade period coming up...maybe.

Ben Jarman will be a gun for whoever picks him up. Underrated because of his height, but has amazing footy smarts.
The crows would be mad to let hawthorn get Ben its bound to bite them on the arse big time and he kicks a bag on them in a prelim final or equivalent. It would be even better if he somehow slid to us.