List Mgmt. 2016 Trade Thread

Kaiden Brand, 22 year old 198cm key defender from Hawthorn could be a good target for us.

He's been struggling with his contract negotiation and we have been mentioned as interested. Not sure what his trade value would be.

Zac Clark from Freo could be a good free agent for us as well. Would give us someone other the Spencer who could back up Gawn, whilst Mitch King recovers from injury and take a few years to develop.
That you Neeldy?

I'd pay a first for Cutler - if Tom Rockliff was thrown in as steak knives...

Dunn is contracted, which makes his value higher (see what I did there).

Realistically the Lions' 4th will probably get the job done, considering he's 29 and not best 22. But I'd be unhappy with that result, given he's been at the club longer than any other player and in different circumstances should have cleared 200 games with us.
Is there any point trading him out for such a lowly pick?
Pretty handy depth to have I'd say and a good presence to have around. Considering the coin toss it would be to get anything decent for that pick and the youth of the list, I'd think it would almost be worth keeping a proven servant around to keep the young blokes in the first side accountable if nothing else.
The big shift in the club has been the new found depth and the pressure that puts on young guys to turn up and perform each week.

Dawes' manager says he's unlikely to be at the club next year.
giphy.gif

A late second round draft pick from three years ago that has only just started to show glimpses of anything that is mildly AFL level is not worth a 1st round pick. The fact that most people you ask have never heard of him should suggest enough to say that he's miles from being worth a 1st.

As for Dunn, I've said multiple times that a player's value can vary from team to team, Dunn for us is depth, for Brisbane he's best 22 and the general your backline is screaming for. The trade I suggested has you coming out wel for minel, but if you don't like it, I suggest whinging about it on another team's board
Except, he's done it for two seasons in a row now. He's flourished under the worst defensive setup in the AFL. Could have easily fallen down the same trap as every single other running half back we have had in the past five years (bar Hanley), but has actually transformed his game by showing that he can also go forward and slot goals, too. Not that many young half backs in the AFL have shown that ability.

The fact that most people have not heard of him is more to do with them not watching Brisbane Lions games. Why would they want to?

Discussing trades options with opposition supporters on their board isn't whinging, but if you feel that way, I'll leave.

Except, he's done it for two seasons in a row now. He's flourished under the worst defensive setup in the AFL. Could have easily fallen down the same trap as every single other running half back we have had in the past five years (bar Hanley), but has actually transformed his game by showing that he can also go forward and slot goals, too. Not that many young half backs in the AFL have shown that ability.

The fact that most people have not heard of him is more to do with them not watching Brisbane Lions games. Why would they want to?

Discussing trades options with opposition supporters on their board isn't whinging, but if you feel that way, I'll leave.

Fair and reasonably discussion with opposition supporters is always welcome mate.

I personally feel you're overrating Cutler from what I've seen, but it doesn't mean I don't want to hear your opinion.

Is there any point trading him out for such a lowly pick?
Pretty handy depth to have I'd say and a good presence to have around. Considering the coin toss it would be to get anything decent for that pick and the youth of the list, I'd think it would almost be worth keeping a proven servant around to keep the young blokes in the first side accountable if nothing else.
The big shift in the club has been the new found depth and the pressure that puts on young guys to turn up and perform each week.

I agree with you but I think it'll come down to trying to treat Dunn with respect - if he wants to stay and fight for his place in the 22, he can stay. If he wants greater opportunities elsewhere, I reckon we'll help him find a new home.

Fair and reasonably discussion with opposition supporters is always welcome mate.

I personally feel you're overrating Cutler from what I've seen, but it doesn't mean I don't want to hear your opinion.
I thought I put forward a reasonable argument in regards to Cutler being a) a young, promising running half back B) Contracted (increases trade value)

I do want to clarify, by first round, I'm thinking late first round - not early first round.

I thought I put forward a reasonable argument in regards to Cutler being a) a young, promising running half back B) Contracted (increases trade value)

I do want to clarify, by first round, I'm thinking late first round - not early first round.
HBFers already lack values when compared to talls, especially when they're not exactly established after a few years in the game. I think Cutler had a good season, but you'd do well to get a sub 25 pick.

That generally comes down to which club is interested. Most likely in Melbourne's case, they would be reluctant to offer up a first-rounder given they have a few similar types in the side already.

Lions are desperate to add a genuine half back to their list and would easily cough up a first rounder for a young, talented player.

Would anyone be interested in Vickery? 26, will come for nothing through FA. Inconsistent and an idiot at times, but I'd back McCartney and Egan to get the most out of him. Would fill our ruck/forward role. I'd consider it. What do others think?

I actually would consider Vickery too. His best is probably better than Dawes (for example), and we've all been talking about how we need a backup ruck. Provided he costs nothing, I think we'd be stupid not to make a play for him.

Would anyone be interested in Vickery? 26, will come for nothing through FA. Inconsistent and an idiot at times, but I'd back McCartney and Egan to get the most out of him. Would fill our ruck/forward role. I'd consider it. What do others think?
Interesting

Nup.

And there's the rub. We seemingly don't want to play Pedersen so why would Vickery get a game?

Might be wrong but Vickery seems to kick more goals than Pedersen though.

Just compared across their careers. Vickery 1.3 goals a game vs Pedersen 0.8.
Don't know if the URL will work but here it is
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...2=12&type=A&pid1=3114&pid2=3552&fid1=C&fid2=C
Pedo spends more time minorly injured then people care to recall. When he doesn't play for Melbourne, he mostly doesn't play for Casey either.

So you're right in a way - Vickery would theoretically represent a sorta upgrade in games played. But my heart doesn't sing to this tune.

Put it this way, Hibberd - who is admittedly 27 - is a running HB who is better than Cutler defensively. He's worth a 2nd. I'd say they're comparable in value.