List Mgmt. 2016 Trade Thread

Is there any point trading him out for such a lowly pick?
Pretty handy depth to have I'd say and a good presence to have around. Considering the coin toss it would be to get anything decent for that pick and the youth of the list, I'd think it would almost be worth keeping a proven servant around to keep the young blokes in the first side accountable if nothing else.
The big shift in the club has been the new found depth and the pressure that puts on young guys to turn up and perform each week.
I seem to be one out thinking Dunn actually still is in our best 22. I know he said he 'didn't adapt to the zone' or some BS but he seemed to play that exact role for Casey pretty well all year. Looked like Scarlett half the time. All the while most of the coaching staff woukd bemoan how young a side they themselves selected after every loss, when we had a perfectly fine stalwart lining up for Casey.

No idea why we'd trade him for pick 765. Seems like a shit way to treat someone who played every position in the side at one point or another, through the darkest years the club has ever been through and did it all with a smile (and a moustache) on his face. Up there with Jones for commitment to the club. I thought we were done with treating players like that.

How bout we keep him and pick him if he's best 22? If some team wants to offer us something ludicrously good, then sure go for it but otherwise I reckon we should be trying to keep players like him at the club

I've got a master plan, Dunn + Dawes to Brissy for Cutler and a secret handshake that will see us send delisted players such Matt Jones and Jack Grimes up to Brisbane for the next 5 years to further extend their rebuild. :rainbow:

That'd make us a generous club?

I seem to be one out thinking Dunn actually still is in our best 22. I know he said he 'didn't adapt to the zone' or some BS but he seemed to play that exact role for Casey pretty well all year. Looked like Scarlett half the time. All the while most of the coaching staff woukd bemoan how young a side they themselves selected after every loss, when we had a perfectly fine stalwart lining up for Casey.

No idea why we'd trade him for pick 765. Seems like a shit way to treat someone who played every position in the side at one point or another, through the darkest years the club has ever been through and did it all with a smile (and a moustache) on his face. Up there with Jones for commitment to the club. I thought we were done with treating players like that.

How bout we keep him and pick him if he's best 22? If some team wants to offer us something ludicrously good, then sure go for it but otherwise I reckon we should be trying to keep players like him at the club

I think the point is that we'd like to keep him for depth but will facilitate a move if he wants one.

And there's the rub. We seemingly don't want to play Pedersen so why would Vickery get a game?

Might be wrong but Vickery seems to kick more goals than Pedersen though.

Just compared across their careers. Vickery 1.3 goals a game vs Pedersen 0.8.
Don't know if the URL will work but here it is
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...2=12&type=A&pid1=3114&pid2=3552&fid1=C&fid2=C
Vickery has a knack of kicking a few cheap over the back goals in junk time to pad his stats up a little bit.

The bloke has had 4 games where he has gotten more than 12 possession over the last 2 years, twice has kicked more than 3 goals and twice has double digit hit outs. He is an ordinary forward and an even worse ruckman.

Definite no to Vickery for me. I think we let one of Dunn/Garland go. With Melksham and possibly Hibberd down back, Garland is more surplus and probably holds slightly higher trade value.

I have a dream. I dream of a Goldstein and Gawn ruck/forward double act where no team is created equal. Where 8 goals and 80 hitouts to advantage between per game is the minimum expectation. Yes, I have dream.

No idea how we'd make it happen without a first rounder his year though.

Mahoney on trade radio:

▪Dunns management have said he wants more senior opportunities and club will respect his decision if right deal comes up.

▪Dawes has NOT been offered a contract and one of couple players that the club will wait on after trade period. (Gone)

▪ Club focus was more on signing up all our young players then go out and chase players.

▪Will be quite during the trade period but a 3rd tall back (Cutler?) and a ruckman/forward are two position the club would like to fill.

▪Club has already started talks with Sam Weideman and Christian Salems management about contract extensions.

Mahoney on trade radio:

▪Dunns management have said he wants more senior opportunities and club will respect his decision if right deal comes up.

▪Dawes has NOT been offered a contract and one of couple players that the club will wait on after trade period. (Gone)

▪ Club focus was more on signing up all our young players then go out and chase players.

▪Will be quite during the trade period but a 3rd tall back (Cutler?) and a ruckman/forward are two position the club would like to fill.

▪Club has already started talks with Sam Weideman and Christian Salems management about contract extensions.

Thanks mate, good wrap. I assume that Michie/Pedo/Mitch White/Dawes are all in the same boat then?

Mahoney on trade radio:

Was just on SEN as well and said much the same thing. On Dunn there was more of an attitude that the club are happy to facilitate him in a move if something comes up, but failing that they'll hold onto him because he was good for Casey. Confirms that he's on the outer.

Mahoney on trade radio:

Love this!! If we sign Salem (edit: and Weid) there wont be anyone of importance out of contract at the end of 2017 will there???

Must be some $$$ this year or next if we don't renew Dawes biggish deal?
The feeling i got out of Mahoney is that either way Dawes is gone. Hogan signing is the final nail in the coffin for him as Mahoney on SEN also mentioned that Weideman and Hogan will set up our forward line for years.

Nothing has really been mentioned about Garland. I'd be shocked if he accepted playing next 2 years of his contract out in the VFL, especially at 28.

I'm positive another club could use him - either as experience to bolster them while in the finals/premiership window, or another young team who needs more experience down back.

Nothing has really been mentioned about Garland. I'd be shocked if he accepted playing next 2 years of his contract out in the VFL, especially at 28.

I'm positive another club could use him - either as experience to bolster them while in the finals/premiership window, or another young team who needs more experience down back.

Good call and I agree with you. I'd be more happy to lose Garland than Dunn, as we have a stack of HB flankers next year, but Dunn is our only solid KPD back-up.

If we keep Garland, could he possibly play forward as a third tall in the Chris Mayne mould? Just put him up there to compete in the air and ground and base his game around tackling, pressure etc.

Good call and I agree with you. I'd be more happy to lose Garland than Dunn, as we have a stack of HB flankers next year, but Dunn is our only solid KPD back-up.

If we keep Garland, could he possibly play forward as a third tall in the Chris Mayne mould? Just put him up there to compete in the air and ground and base his game around tackling, pressure etc.

Ive been saying this for years. He is capable of being extremely dangerous as a forward.

Who does he replace? Hogan, watts, petracca, Kent, Garlett, Pedersen, Vandenberg even Weideman and maybe Hullet

Michael Apeness anyone? Wouldn't come cheap but highly rated forward/ruck at Freo, still very young, Victorian boy and would leave Fremantle absolutely frothing.

Don't rate him from what I've seen!

Michael Apeness anyone? Wouldn't come cheap but highly rated forward/ruck at Freo, still very young, Victorian boy and would leave Fremantle absolutely frothing.
Deny Hoges and pinch their KPF? Me likie just for the sandgroper rage

Topkent suspended, guessing he got into it with the morons on the main board. Dont post on the main board people.
Unfortunately they will have deleted whatever it was that he did - but if it was that eat a dick freo flogs post then I am outraged because that was POTY worthy.

EDIT: Holy shitballs! I was kidding but that post has been deleted. Seriously the level of over-reaction sometimes to suspend someone is crazy.