List Mgmt. 2016 Trade Thread

Just a general feel. All the media outlets are just about locking it in.

The last I heard we are still keen but Hawthorn wont let him leave even if he wants to

If done, it will be the last 10 mins on Thursday. The Hawks and Pickering will argue for days about how they're screwing Lewis. Fingers crossed the Hawks realise this is all damaging their brand and not a good look for attracting future players.

He is furious, just let him leave. Take our future third round pick and jog call it a day.

Completely different situation to Mitchell as he is 4 years older than Lewis so has more footy ahead of him potentially. Late 30s or early 40s pick is about right.

Lake was pretty unbiased in his assessment basically said he is almost cooked similar to Lakes last season at Bulldogs. Said a change will allow him to extend his career. Only had 1 year left at hawks but could get 2 at Melbourne potentially.
Only difference is the year remaining on Lewis' current contract. Mitchell and Lewis both have 2yrs of decent (but past their best) footy left. Mitchell's a better player and they gave him away for pick 88. Can't see Hawthorn refusing to trade if Lewis requests it to Melbourne. Might cost us cap space for a year but a useful pick shouldn't be required.

Im all for this trade, welcome home Lewwy.
The only thing im concerned about is at what cost? Who are we stuffing over by bringing in an older guy, the old melbourne would of hampered the development of a promising young guy.

But where not the Melbounre of old!

Just u wait, im conifident we will reach an agreement with Hawthorne, but i totally see Hawkthorne saying to Him on the last day of free agentcy that "Lewwy, we will give you the captaincy, all u have to do is stay?"

Only difference is the year remaining on Lewis' current contract. Mitchell and Lewis both have 2yrs of decent (but past their best) footy left. Mitchell's a better player and they gave him away for pick 88. Can't see Hawthorn refusing to trade if Lewis requests it to Melbourne. Might cost us cap space for a year but a useful pick shouldn't be required.

They both had 1 year contracts.

I'm seriously thrilled that (a) he has picked Melbourne as his Club of choice (#destination) and (b) we're going to get this over the line.

Takes the pressure of Brayshaw, Oliver, Petracca etc. for another couple of years, he takes a good opposition tagger (or can roam free with good foot skills) and may potentially take us from top 8 to top 4 in 2018. I'm 100% for it provided we're not giving up anything more than a genuine fringe player or pick under 45.

Couldn't care less how much he gets paid either, I have faith that the Club will get that right

Seems like every single person in the media has someone at Hawthorn giving them updates every three hours. Leaky ship down at Waverely

Yeah there is noway he is on 650k. Reckon 450k and club has prob came to him again asking for another pay cut. But like he said on 360 he would be keen if in coming players brought in and he wouldnt be keen if they were coming in being highest paid. Then reports Vickery on 500k and JOM wants 750k as well as Mitchell coming in on presumably more than what Lewis is on and i'd be pissed off and want out as well everything the club rattled on about buying in then a spud and an injured player who hasnt played in 2 ******* years come in earning more yeah i'd chase a payrise else where. He is 31 start of season so isnt worth a heap
On news in perth lastnight saying dees had it planned to unveil him yesterday as a dees player so must of been a big backflip by hawks

FYI - Vickery signed 2 years 450k and a 3rd year team option at $200k

Jordan is deluded if he believes his value is higher than Tom or JOM, it's sour grapes from an ageing champ.

FYI - Vickery signed 2 years 450k and a 3rd year team option at $200k

Jordan is deluded if he believes his value is higher than Tom or JOM, it's sour grapes from an ageing champ.
Took unders to keep the gang together, now the money that should be being back dated to him is going to mercs.

I can't see a way that Lewis is at Hawthorn next year, his position is untenable. To be fair, I also can't see a way he's not at Melbourne. I mean how would it look if he now turns up at say Brisbane and at the press conference roles rolls out the theteca great club, always respected them blah blah blah...

Took unders to keep the gang together, now the money that should be being back dated to him is going to mercs.

And I don't disagree with this mate.. players pushed for free trade, when it doesn't go their way they can't complain right?

I can't see a way that Lewis is at Hawthorn next year, his position is untenable. To be fair, I also can't see a way he's not at Melbourne. I mean how would it look if he now turns up at say Brisbane and at the press conference roles rolls out the theteca great club, always respected them blah blah blah...

110% he will be with Melbourne, we are good to deal with, the trade will happen early early next week.

And I don't disagree with this mate.. players pushed for free trade, when it doesn't go their way they can't complain right?
Absolutely right, but Lewis was apparently expecting to be offered the captaincy and was offered a trade instead. Can understand the anger.

Im all for this trade, welcome home Lewwy.
The only thing im concerned about is at what cost? Who are we stuffing over by bringing in an older guy, the old melbourne would of hampered the development of a promising young guy.

But where not the Melbounre of old!

Just u wait, im conifident we will reach an agreement with Hawthorne, but i totally see Hawkthorne saying to Him on the last day of free agentcy that "Lewwy, we will give you the captaincy, all u have to do is stay?"

Is the grammar in this ironic?

Really don't see the need for him at all, and whilst I'm in the minority I'm sticking to that until I'm proven wrong. All he is doing is reducing midfield time for Petracca/Brayshaw/Oliver. Leadership is overrated, he isn't a Hodge who single handedly inspires teammates.
He might not be a 'drag everyone along with him' type but his leadership will be more in terms of providing knowledge and experience when things are tense.
We lost several games this year because we seemingly didn't have the on-field capability to set up properly etc.

Massive coup for the Dee's if what looks likely does in fact come to fruition.
Shoots yous into almost a lock for top 8, in my eyes, with everything going well of course.
Id love him at collingwood, he's versatile too. I've seen what he can do as a forward being a collingwood supporter i recall him kicking bags of 4 or 5 against us possibly a couple of times about 3 or so years ago.
I could also see him being a great back flanker. Only 30 could still have 3-4 years left.
What role would be playing at melbourne do you think? Would he be predominantly a mid ? Or spending more time off a flank and your younger fellas get 1st choice mid time?
Not for nothing i reckon he'll look great in the navy and red. Mass Upgrade on the piss & shit colours.

He might not be a 'drag everyone along with him' type but his leadership will be more in terms of providing knowledge and experience when things are tense.
We lost several games this year because we seemingly didn't have the on-field capability to set up properly etc.
Roos talked about this a lot. Having players who can basically coach themselves and others is crucial.