2017 AFC Champions League Thread

Remove this Banner Ad

Last time we finished bottom of the league we made the final of this competition.

Can't see history repeating.

It's a shame we don't do a better job of promoting and marketing the ACL. It's a shame that we don't really take it seriously.

That Adelaide made a final and WSW won the thing without making a dent in the level of interest probably suggests 2 things - the first is that club allegiances are so strong that we don't care about Australian teams doing well (which I guess is good in an A-League context), the second is that we're such an inward looking culture in Australia that what happens across Asia is irrelevant. I find this 2nd point an especially strange one though, cos when it comes to football we are, by virtue of the sport we follow, compelled to have interest in what happens beyond our own borders.

Communications and public relations is what I'm an expert in... but given these points, I still can't begin to imagine how we could/should make people care about the ACL. Even last season when Victory fans were quite bullish about progressing beyond the first round, we only cared enough to attend when it was Archie Thompson's last game.

Isaias out for Wednesdays game. Huge loss for us and a great deal now rests on the 18yo shoulders of Riley McGree and the newbie Kim Jae Sung.

It's a shame we don't do a better job of promoting and marketing the ACL. It's a shame that we don't really take it seriously.