Analysis 2017 Collingwood fixture

Yeah I understand all that, and I couldn't wish for anything more than a successful season. But it looks increasingly likely 2017 could be a ghoulish year for us.

Bright side for mine is that we'll have a new coach in 2018, without doubt.
I see it as a win/win. If something finally clicks and we start to play good, consistent footy, great.

If we have a bad year and we boot Buckley and get a real coach in, great!

His and Hodges second halves of last year were less than convincing. Proof will be in the pudding, but age is starting to catch up with both of them noticeably.
Agree on Hodge not so sure on Burgoyne - he dragged them across the line on several occasions including Rd 23. Just does the right thing every time. But I'm with you they won't make the 8. remind me of Geelong a couple of years back when they won about 8 games by a kick then finished 10th or 11th the next year.

I don't give a toss about the draw. From my POV every team will be hard to beat with the exception of Brisbane and every team is beatable with the possible exception of GWS. The competition is getting more even every year. 13 games might get a place in the top 4 12 might see you miss the 8. It will be tight. I'm actually quite ecited. Everyone's writing us off. the knives are being sharpened for Bucks. Backs against the wall. let's play

Everything points to a BIG 2018 in terms of free agents available, where we will finish on the ladder (our first pick) and probably a footy department shake up.

I wont give up yet on 2017 but gee we would want a lot of things to go right!

While it is true that a good side doesn't worry about the fixture, it is also true that a good draw can have a huge influence.

In such an even competition in the top 7 last year, Geelong made top 4 when it was able to play the crap teams twice. The Cats were ultimately shown up in the preliminary final, but they still made it there largely because of the assistance they got with the fixture.

I don't think a premiership will ever be determined because of a fixture. But I do think that a fixture can assist a team make the finals or top 4. I suppose you have to be in it to win it, and Geelong were basically gifted top 4 last year.
Yeah but they still couldn't beat us. How was that first quarter! And the 2 or 3 goals we missed. How can you forget the tap and run of Treloar! How can you forget the slow motion loping goal of box Cox! And how can you forget the look on Chris Scott! Let them suffer in their jocks! Go pies come hail rain shine or roof!

So we play the Cats 5 days after Anzac day and the Cats get 7.

At least the Bombers play an opponent after AD that has only 6 days.

I don't give a toss about the draw. From my POV every team will be hard to beat with the exception of Brisbane and every team is beatable with the possible exception of GWS. The competition is getting more even every year. 13 games might get a place in the top 4 12 might see you miss the 8. It will be tight. I'm actually quite ecited. Everyone's writing us off. the knives are being sharpened for Bucks. Backs against the wall. let's play
Reckon GWS is being overrated for next year. With so many players going out and only 1 coming in their depth chart has surely suffered. A couple of injuries to key talls and they look a bit thin to me. Very reliant on the spread from the AAA grade midfield, running backs and high forwards.

Wonder if they could survive the injuries of the dogs in 2016. Take Shaw, Davis, Ward, Shiel and Patton out and they will be tested, in 2015 the younger team folded after our game at the G when 4 went down in one game.

The draw will clearly have a negative impact on our overall revenue. Once again not a level playing field for the PIES who are being punished for being successful. Lets see how that works for the AFL.

Secondly I'm not fussed about the draw of who and where we play. If we are good enough, consistently enough then we will win our fair share and make the eight.

But I highly doubt we will be either, and so farewell to Bucks for his service to the club me thinks!

I did genuinely laugh at your use of the word successful!

So we play the Cats 5 days after Anzac day and the Cats get 7.

At least the Bombers play an opponent after AD that has only 6 days.
Then play Carlton who'll have a 7 day break and we get 6 day break. There the main concern as far as fixture goes. We've copped the raw end of the pineapple when comes to days break compared to our opponent.

Pert's response:
"This year’s theme is all about families. We’ve listened to the feedback from our supporters … we’ve worked with the AFL and 16 of our games are either during the day or twilight to give everyone the opportunity to come along and share the match-day experience," said CEO Gary Pert.
Who is he kidding and who are those that gave that feedback?

Because we missed Finals 3 years.Less people watch us

No one knows what the fixture will actually be like. Freo last year was somewhat of a daunting prospect and they only won a hand full of games.. Adelaide looked easier and ended up being one of the hardest. Hawks could be rubbish next year and I expect the cats to go backwards as well.

Yeah I read that, who's feedback is the bloke talking about? Saturday arvo games are great, but don't lump twilight matches into that "feedback".

Do you realise we don't have a single twilight game in Melbourne?

In Melbourne we have:

1 Thursday night
1 Friday night
4 Saturday arvo
2 Sat Night
1 Sunday early
5 Sunday 3.20pm
2 Public Holiday arvos

1 to be determined

So of the 16 games in Melbourne that we know the times of we have 12 in the afternoon and 4 at night. Not too bad for families, even if I would prefer that the Sunday games start at 2.10pm rather than 3.20pm.

No one knows what the fixture will actually be like. Freo last year was somewhat of a daunting prospect and they only won a hand full of games.. Adelaide looked easier and ended up being one of the hardest. Hawks could be rubbish next year and I expect the cats to go backwards as well.
For me, it's more about trying to have equality across day breaks and double up teams.

We have the same top 6, middle 6 & bottom 6, double up games that WBD and Crows have. When we won the comp we played the other 3 top 4 teams twice. The only top 5 team to not play 3 top 6 teams twice is WBD and they get Brisbane as a double up game instead. Percentage showed this year how important it was with it deciding 8th spot and many of the finalists ranking. Having one extra soft game like that is a massive advantage.

I was hoping to get Port, Melb and/or St.Kilda as I see them vying for a similar spot to us. Hawthorn and Geelong are at least, IMO, the weakest of the top 6 teams heading into next year.

Because we missed Finals 3 years.Less people watch us
No Dave, not the point. He is saying that the timeslots will suit families because that is what feedback they have received.
Nothing to do with missing the finals.

This draw is almost as bad as our trade period.

Honestly, their list isn't all that great. They've had a core group of players who have taken them to success over the past 8 years, but there were a lot of games this year where they barely made it over the line, and that was thanks to guys like Mitchell, Lewis and co. who just have the ability to drag their team over the line. The bulk of that team are role players and their youth is pretty average to say the least.

They're now missing Mitchell and Lewis, Hodge and Burgoyne are cooked, and Roughead might never play again. If you're expecting Mitchell, O'Meara and Vickery to replace what those guys bring to the table you're in for a surprise.

His and Hodges second halves of last year were less than convincing. Proof will be in the pudding, but age is starting to catch up with both of them noticeably.

Agree on Hodge not so sure on Burgoyne - he dragged them across the line on several occasions including Rd 23. Just does the right thing every time. But I'm with you they won't make the 8. remind me of Geelong a couple of years back when they won about 8 games by a kick then finished 10th or 11th the next year.

The fortunes of Roughead & O'Meara could well determine Hawks fate next year. Those two play most games and they have the potential to replace 1&2 finish of their lost Mitchell & Lewis. Given where Roughy & JOM are coming from I would think it unlikely.

As for Hodge & Burgoyne the stats seem to agree with Countrypie's view. Hodge 2016 not as good as 2015 in nearly every stat. Burgs improved.
Hodge 2016 v 2015
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...=A&pid1=469&pid2=469&fid1=S&fid2=P&fopt2=2015
Burgs 2016 v 2015
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...=A&pid1=119&pid2=119&fid1=S&fid2=P&fopt2=2015

Add Bradley Hill to Hawks losses department too - affects their run.

T Mitch a good replacement for Lewis statistically but is obviously a drop off in leadership
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...2=12&type=A&pid1=3659&pid2=1490&fid1=S&fid2=S

JOM 2014 vs S Mitchell - massive shoes to fill statistically & leadership wise & would have to do it after 2 years out. Will he have mental demons to overcome to trust in his body?
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...A&pid1=3632&pid2=266&fid1=P&fopt1=2014&fid2=S

For fun I was going to compare Vickery to Hill but for some reason footywire don't have him on Hawks list yet.

Countrypie good call re Cats, 2014 won 5 by 6 or less, 3 more by 12 or less, went out straight sets. Finished 10th in 2015.
2016 Hawks won 5 by 6 or less (S Mitch most disposals for Hawks in all 5), only 1 other by 12 or less, out in straight sets.