List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Needs...

Thankfully club recruiters don't use a 2 minute video posted by an an indiscriminate video editor on Youtube to assess a draftees talents like some of the Big Footy fans that have never seen the lads play live do. The recruiters would have been tracking Hunter Clark and all the top end talent for 3 or 4 years in all of the School/TAC/SANFL/WAFL/NEAFL/TFL systems as well as all U18 Championships games and will have 100's of hours of footage at their disposal to make their final decision on player rankings. I've seen Hunter Clarke play live twice this year and both times he's been in the best 2 or 3 players on the ground, the last game clearly B.O.G. and played a far superior game to teammate LDU. I've seen nearly all the top end players live at least once this year, most twice and the only two inside/outside midfielders I'd take before Hunter Clarke would be Paddy Dow and Luke Davies-Unakie, the only pure midfielder I'd take before him would be Adam Cerra.
:eek: Well Richmond used to do this?

A few big movers in the AFL's Draft Expert Cal Twomey's top 25 Board, and a few new faces. Andrew Brayshaw up from 11 to 6, Hunter Clark up from 13 to 9, Aiden Bonar up to 19 from outside the top 25, Zac Bailey a new face at 25. Our boy Darcy Fogarty steady at 7 in this update.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-10-30/cal-twomeys-phantom-form-guide-october-edition

WjEuAH.png

b8oAIm.png

6CaR8c.png

2FN0iD.png

Watched an interview, and some more footage, with Bonar... geez its hard not to feel for the young bloke.

He seems like a very level headed lad who hasn’t spent his life being spoilt or taking things for granted. There’s no doubt he’s got tons of talent it’s just his knee that is the worry. He mentions that it first occurred when another player fell across his leg and the second time when turning.

He’s a bit of a risk but if Fogarty is already gone by pick 12... the reward in taking bonar if his knee holds up would be huge and worth the risk.

Watched an interview, and some more footage, with Bonar... geez its hard not to feel for the young bloke.

He seems like a very level headed lad who hasn’t spent his life being spoilt or taking things for granted. There’s no doubt he’s got tons of talent it’s just his knee that is the worry. He mentions that it first occurred when another player fell across his leg and the second time when turning.

He’s a bit of a risk but if Fogarty is already gone by pick 12... the reward in taking bonar if his knee holds up would be huge and worth the risk.
Of the players still available at 12 in Twomey's mock, I think I'd want Bonar.

Maybe Constable? Or ... Hayes??

Bugger the positives. Let's look at the negatives (via Knightmare) of some who have been mentioned here:

6. Darcy Fogarty (SA)
Weaknesses:
Endurance
Unclear best position
Inconsistent 2017 performances and production
Poor Under-18 Championships

[The last 2 are clearly injury related... endurance is a worry given the way the game is going.]

7. Jarrod Brander (VIC)
Weaknesses:
Sometimes drops marks he would be expected to take
Conversion in front of goal
Can struggle down back to contain key forwards
Inconsistent from game to game
Improvement not as strong as expected given his standard of play in 2016

[So he's a Key position player who drops marks, isn't great in front of goal and is inconsistent? Please No!]

13. Callum Coleman-Jones (SA)
Weaknesses:
Poor leap
Lacks explosiveness
Awkward kicking style

17. Hunter Clark (VIC)
Weaknesses:
Often turns over the ball by foot when pressured
Hurt factor with ball in hand

[Feel like these two can be overcome with good development]

Bugger the positives. Let's look at the negatives (via Knightmare) of some who have been mentioned here:

6. Darcy Fogarty (SA)
Weaknesses:

Endurance
Unclear best position
Inconsistent 2017 performances and production
Poor Under-18 Championships

[The last 2 are clearly injury related... endurance is a worry given the way the game is going.]
Just on endurance - we're a club that very much focuses on developing it. Whether it comes off or not is another question, but I'm absolutely sure that if Fogarty has the work ethic (which he seems to have), he'll be more than a 12-14 disposal-per-game player

17. Hunter Clark (VIC)
Weaknesses:

Often turns over the ball by foot when pressured
Hurt factor with ball in hand

[Feel like these two can be overcome with good development]
Isnt this a Matt Crouch bio from when he was starting out?

Plus I notice no Balta weakness ;)

I reckon we should reach for Bonar.

Listening to him speak and looking at how he's overcome adversity shows great character for me and I have no doubt that he's going to be a success at whichever club he goes to.

He's combine testing shows that he's an athletic specimen.

This kids wants it bad and we should give him that opportunity.

Listening to him speak and looking at how he's overcome adversity shows great character for me and I have no doubt that he's going to be a success at whichever club he goes to.

He would be the only bonar I'd ever want to see besides my own.

Getting Bonar at 12 would not be a reach anymore. He's even rumoured to go as early as the Saints' picks at the moment

He's a gun. I reckon he has arguably the biggest upside in the draft, but obvious risk with the knees. I'm sure the club that takes him would have done their due diligence

I'm totally keen on us drafting him. ACLs don't seem to bother us either which is positive. One sticking point for me is he could in all seriousness play next year and make an impact. There doesn't seem to be to many on this board who don't want him at 12.

Only one and I can't see Callum Coleman-Jones being on our radar with Pick 12, with Pick 39 almost certainly if still there which is very doubtful.

Nope, sorry bicks, you’ve got me sold on Warpel.. if he’s still there at 39 we have to take him even if ccj is there!. We’ll find a replacement for sauce in due time!..

Interesting to also see that the crows have come out and said today they are hoping to get Edwards in the rookie draft??... Surely this is a massive risk?... be terrible to see Port grab him... or anyone else for that matter.

Nope, sorry bicks, you’ve got me sold on Warpel.. if he’s still there at 39 we have to take him even if ccj is there!. We’ll find a replacement for sauce in due time!..

Interesting to also see that the crows have come out and said today they are hoping to get Edwards in the rookie draft??... Surely this is a massive risk?... be terrible to see Port grab him... or anyone else for that matter.

We can still take him as a matched bid in the national draft but we committed to him and his family to definitely take him in the rookie. I'd say if someone bids at like 80 in the national we would nab him then.

Only one and I can't see Callum Coleman-Jones being on our radar with Pick 12, with Pick 39 almost certainly if still there which is very doubtful.
That tells me if we wanted him we would of traded for a twenty something draft pick. We must feel content with our ruck stocks?

So Bonar has had 2 knees? We are going to take a risk on a Vic boy and we didn’t with Burton? I can’t see us getting him
Burton's leg injury was far more severe than just reconstruction. Bonar was only the ACL on the same knee twice. The only reason for 2nd knee reco is that they didn't do a good job the first time around.

Burton's injury was a lot more comparable to Trent Hentschel's than it is to a regular ACL injury.

In today's game players with poor disposal will fall down the list and those with elite disposal will hold their value

In today's game turnovers are coach killers

Disposal is something that can be worked on and improved. Anyone remember Sloane's kicking when he was drafted :eek:

Now days he is a pretty good kick.

Disposal is something that can be worked on and improved. Anyone remember Sloane's kicking when he was drafted :eek:

Now days he is a pretty good kick.

Sloane isnt an elite kick and never will be, Gibbs is and always has been, howver not sure its their kick all the time or their vision, same could be said about Dusty he just finds long targets that cause damage

Sloane not an elite kick?... geez, he’s a great kick for goal... doesn’t miss many..

And his field passes are unreal... I recall a few 50m passes this year that were bullet like and lace out on a team mate’s chest..

List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Needs...