List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Needs...

Jeffcrowe do you reckon D Fogarty will be outside the top 5 come draft time?

I'm starting to get that feeling
Nope

Reckon he can underperform and still be top 5 , there just isn't much competition and he could stop now and still be top 5 IMO

1 or 2 good sanfl league games at back end will keep him in mix for #1. Mick Ablett has already backed him in for #1 pick and I see Davies-Uniake and Rayner as the only others likely to be

Ps where is Lochie O'Brien at ? I thought he'd be a shot for #1 as well

SA always builds up their great white hope for the championships, whether it's Trengove or Wingard or Toumpas or Scharenberg or Aish or Fogarty. Puts too much pressure on them. Typically they underperform, or perhaps weren't quite that good in the first place.
Looking forward to what Bamford can produce , they need an overhaul especially when it comes to key position players

Would like to see them set up a >194cm academy for the talls and get some top level specialist key position coaches from around Australia to help

But they won't ..... need some creative thinking in my mind

Nope

Reckon he can underperform and still be top 5 , there just isn't much competition and he could stop now and still be top 5 IMO

1 or 2 good sanfl league games at back end will keep him in mix for #1. Mick Ablett has already backed him in for #1 pick and I see Davies-Uniake and Rayner as the only others likely to be

Ps where is Lochie O'Brien at ? I thought he'd be a shot for #1 as well
Hmm not sure, reckon LDU is the clear No 1 at this stage, with Rayner just behind. Both have more runs on the board this year. That's not to say Fogarty will slide massively, I just think he could end up going 5 or 6.

LOB's apparently been successfully tagged out of school games, which has seen him slide a bit.

He does, played well last year at the Championships as well but looking likely to be off the table at our picks now, has such a well rounded game.

Guys like Coffield, Wooller, Worpel etc might be but I honestly believe we won't be taking our 2017 1st to the draft this year so I'm more looking to the diamonds in the rough types this year.
Depends if Cameron/Gov leaves. Reckon we'll get Gibbs, but I have this gut feeling there's substance to the CC rumblings

Rozee is one of the best players I have ever seen at this level. Lets try and engineer this boy to the Crows. Just what Dr Ogilvie would love to order.
My personal favourite out of the three is Rankine, but if we could work some magic to get one of them to the AFC in 2019 I'd be delighted.

Meant to and delivering on that looking a lot less likely now, at least while the Dogs midfield is so stacked.
The brutal leg break didn't help in converting to a midfielder. He still walks with a slight limp.

SA always builds up their great white hope for the championships, whether it's Trengove or Wingard or Toumpas or Scharenberg or Aish or Fogarty. Puts too much pressure on them. Typically they underperform, or perhaps weren't quite that good in the first place.

Looking forward to what Bamford can produce , they need an overhaul especially when it comes to key position players

Would like to see them set up a >194cm academy for the talls and get some top level specialist key position coaches from around Australia to help

But they won't ..... need some creative thinking in my mind

I know I'm not pointing out anything new but when you look at that 'State of Origin' team the AFL website did it's obvious how small the SA talent pool is in the AFL

afl.com.au said:
B: Rory Laird, Phil Davis, Tom Jonas
HB: Shannon Hurn, Heath Grundy, Shaun Burgoyne
C: Jared Polec, Bryce Gibbs, Bernie Vince
HF: Paul Puopolo, Justin Westhoff, Shane Edwards
F: Orazio Fantasia, Daniel Menzel, Brodie Grundy
R: Sam Jacobs, Brad Ebert, Lachie Neale
INT: Caleb Daniel, Brodie Smith, Ryan Burton, Trent Dumont
UNLUCKY: Hamish Hartlett, Andrew Mackie, Jack Hombsch

Like you said about Key Position players Jeffcrowe , in the last 10 years the SA junior pathway has only produced 2 top quality Key Position players, Phil Davis & Jack Hombsch and what's more the problem is it took until only 4 SA players overall were drafted for it to publicly gain any traction of how poor the system was/is working.

I still blame Brenton Phillips for a lot of this and could never believe the influence he's had over the whole system in the 10 years as coach of the under 18s. He's always been a big part of the problem he went straight into the job with qualifications of SANFL champion player & Sturt premiership coach and had never had any real involvement with the junior system prior to being appointed. His only form of coaching experience was in a results based league system and through the years he just turned the U/18s into his own personal junior SANFL teams who were full of undersized slow man-child's with the sole goal of just winning the under 18s carnival with little to no eye on development. Now he's finishing up as coach this year and will become the head of the entire talent pathways program, basically he's just delegating the coaching duties while still implementing his ideologies, team selection and talent identification policies.

I know I'm not pointing out anything new but when you look at that 'State of Origin' team the AFL website did it's obvious how small the SA talent pool is in the AFL

Like you said about Key Position players Jeffcrowe , in the last 10 years the SA junior pathway has only produced 2 top quality Key Position players, Phil Davis & Jack Hombsch and what's more the problem is it took until only 4 SA players overall were drafted for it to publicly gain any traction of how poor the system was/is working.

I still blame Brenton Phillips for a lot of this and could never believe the influence he's had over the whole system in the 10 years as coach of the under 18s. He's always been a big part of the problem he went straight into the job with qualifications of SANFL champion player & Sturt premiership coach and had never had any real involvement with the junior system prior to being appointed. His only form of coaching experience was in a results based league system and through the years he just turned the U/18s into his own personal junior SANFL teams who were full of undersized slow man-child's with the sole goal of just winning the under 18s carnival with little to no eye on development. Now he's finishing up as coach this year and will become the head of the entire talent pathways program, basically he's just delegating the coaching duties while still implementing his ideologies, team selection and talent identification policies.
COULD NOT AGREE MORE !!!!

Pretty damning stuff there. I've highlighted before as well the potential conflict of interest that exists with SANFL clubs tasked with the majority of the development of our elite young talent. IIRC the clubs get some level of reimbursement when a player gets drafted, but then they lose that player, potentially forever and in a climate where there's a fair bit of animosity at SANFL level towards the AFL, are they really worrying too much about elite level development, or would they prefer substandard development, so these guys don't get drafted and end up becoming good SANFL level players only?

That All-Australian team is pretty damning really, sure there's some decent players, but is anyone making an AFL top 20 players list? Many in a top 50? Lairds likely to make AA, Gibbs and Neale might push it, Jacobs and Grundy will contend for the ruck spot, but beyond that. There's no elite midfields, no elite KPP's...

Pretty damning stuff there. I've highlighted before as well the potential conflict of interest that exists with SANFL clubs tasked with the majority of the development of our elite young talent. IIRC the clubs get some level of reimbursement when a player gets drafted, but then they lose that player, potentially forever and in a climate where there's a fair bit of animosity at SANFL level towards the AFL, are they really worrying too much about elite level development, or would they prefer substandard development, so these guys don't get drafted and end up becoming good SANFL level players only?

That All-Australian team is pretty damning really, sure there's some decent players, but is anyone making an AFL top 20 players list? Many in a top 50? Lairds likely to make AA, Gibbs and Neale might push it, Jacobs and Grundy will contend for the ruck spot, but beyond that. There's no elite midfields, no elite KPP's...

Last year I got into a battle with the SANFL nuffies on here about it and have also discussed it with a couple of people involved with junior football at SANFL level and local level, the current system doesn't work and hasn't worked for a while. The flimsy arguments made to keep the current model with the SANFL clubs is they have facilities, community engagement, team environment, they get to play against men, it's always been like this ect. Those reason don't fly with me as they only want the junior programs for the funding that comes with it, as you said the SANFL clubs don't get much out of junior footballers but the clubs do have to negotiate their debt repayments.

Don't want to turn this into a anti-SANFL rant but now that I've started why not, they would of and should of shipped the elite talent pathway system over to the AFL years ago if they wanted to produce top quality talent but their delusional want to be still classed as a relevant entity coupled with having 8 parasites sucking off their teat compels them to want to keep it as it is.

If the AFL had some balls they'd take control of the elite junior pathways in both SA and WA but the only reason they wouldn't forcibly do so is their outdated want to keep the SANFL & WAFC alive so they don't have to administer the game in each state.

The AFL would prefer to run the elite junior pathway and grassroots pathway in South Australia. The SANFL fights against relinquishing control for the reasons you have outlined above.

I believe one of the reasons that SA football gets minimal funding from the AFL compared to QLD/NSW (apart from the population) is due to the SANFL's stance. The AFL is basically saying: Well, if you want to do it your way - fine. But don't expect us to throw heaps of $$$ at a system we don't 100% agree with.

Because SA is a small state in the grand scheme of things the AFL sees it as a massive shit fight not worth having. A let sleeping dogs lie approach.

The WAFL were (are?) less financially secure so the AFL basically does run everything over there exactly as they want it. The WAFL needed the AFL, the SANFL did not. Or not as much anyway.

South Australian football has largely retained its autonomy but at what cost?

The AFL would prefer to run the elite junior pathway and grassroots pathway in South Australia. The SANFL fights against relinquishing control for the reasons you have outlined above.

I believe one of the reasons that SA football gets minimal funding from the AFL compared to QLD/NSW (apart from the population) is due to the SANFL's stance. The AFL is basically saying: Well, if you want to do it your way - fine. But don't expect us to throw heaps of $$$ at a system we don't 100% agree with.

Because SA is a small state in the grand scheme of things the AFL sees it as a massive shit fight not worth having. A let sleeping dogs lie approach.

The WAFL were (are?) less financially secure so the AFL basically does run everything over there exactly as they want it. The WAFL needed the AFL, the SANFL did not. Or not as much anyway.

South Australian football has largely retained its autonomy but at what cost?

Are you joking I spoke with Davies when he was in charge of the SANFL about this very issue, along with my own club, the clubs were considering dropping Reserves football to reduce costs, thay are retaining juniors at the expense of other things in the club, the Funding given to NEAFL is astronomical, the AFL know fully well they cant run SA footy on a shoe string budget like the SANFL can, as when the AFL is involved in anything every man and their dog has their hand out. The SANFL has the ability to draw on Volunteers and the AFL are fully aware of the cost to run comps themselves.

If the Juniors were adminsitered by the AFL it wouldnt be just an elite league it would be all Junior leaugues as it is now and at what cost?

Its not the SANFL not wanting them to do it, the AFL cant afford to do it, they dont have an unlimited source of funds

They are investing in the AFLW, NEAFL, TAC recently had a large chunnk of their income swallowed up by the playesr and how many of the 18 clubs arent pulling a profit, is it 13, funds are limitless and its not all rosie in income land

Maybe both the SANFL and AFL want the AFL to take control , which is what I was told to believe by both my club and the SANFL but they cant afford to and whilst they are using the SANFL and its Volunteers sense of community they will take advantage of it

how does fantasia make it over wingard though?

COULD NOT AGREE MORE !!!!

I also agree - SA go great as a team but they are full of good/average players who play a team game. But we have fewer elite/x factor players than other teams. We also have fewer big strong key position players that make take longer to develop but need to be in the under 18 system. Even NSW have those in their academies.

List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Needs...